We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual dining and lots of variety” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ohlala

Ohlala
Ranked #33 of 120 Restaurants in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: French, European, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Ohlala Restaurant: one of the best and most original restaurants in Kamala with real traditional Thaï food, pizzas, pasta, European food and take away service. We also have our own bakery. Friendly atmosphere, very good food for reasonable prices.
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Casual dining and lots of variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We visited Ohlala on our last trip in 2009 and decided to go back for old times sake. The menu has lots of variety, not just Thai dishes. Our 12yr old son ordered a Tam Tam (food cooked in terracotta pot and covered with a pizza base as the lid, he had potato, bacon and white wine - yummo!) Staff are friendly and they have free wi-fi that they will log you into if you ask.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AlHarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    85
    36
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent low-cost restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Good food at a reasonable price. To expect to be amazed by the food but the price it's good value. The location is not spectacular either (next to the main road) but that's probably how they keep the prices low.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinjarra, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Ohlala indeed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had 3 visits here; for an afternoon tea of coffee and cake; an evening meal and a breakfast. Because it was not high season yet, the bouloungerie selection was limited. Evening meal we had 2 Angus steaks and 1 Australian steak which were fine and for breakfast I had a vegetable omelette which consisted of raw tomato and ½ a sliced raw onion sitting on top of a plain omelette. That was disappointing. I guess I was expecting a few mushrooms, a bit of tomato and a tiny bit of grated onion cooked into the mix. I didn’t fancy walking around the rest of the day with my breath stinking of onion! They do make a good fruit shake.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob-Carol-Pinjarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great value great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Right in the heart of kamala Village this restaurant caters for everyone...open all day..indoor or outdoor sitting...great range on menu at very reasonable prices,highly recommended for families due to the cost factor and variety of foods available...we had the clay pot pies which are their specialty and we were not disappointed...would go back again just for the pies.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ronncar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All in one place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We went to ohlala day 11 out of 14 on our trip. Some of the people traveling with us were reasy for a change in food so we decided pasta and ohlala gave us exactly what we were looking for. Nice staff, good pasta dishes, bad cocktails(our fault), and a good price. The booze was watered down and the wine was grape juice so stick with the beer always cold.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fantasma123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohlala also viewed

 

Been to Ohlala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing