We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, funky decor, a good place to hang out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ohlala

Ohlala
Ranked #32 of 120 Restaurants in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: French, European, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Ohlala Restaurant: one of the best and most original restaurants in Kamala with real traditional Thaï food, pizzas, pasta, European food and take away service. We also have our own bakery. Friendly atmosphere, very good food for reasonable prices.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, funky decor, a good place to hang out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

On the corner across from the main road 7/11, tasty food and a laid back environment. The menu is extensive and both the Thai food and the European dishes are great. Good vegetarian dishes available and they are willing to adjust dishes for dietary requirements. The staff can be a bit short and unfriendly but I think that is because their customers are not friendly to them and it wears them down. Be nice and smile at them and they will smile back and give you pleasant service. This is a great place to check out when you want to take a walk away from the beachfront places and hangout for awhile.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    85
    36
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but not Oh la la”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Ohlala is a decent enough place. The staff are friendly enough and the atmosphere is OK. We ordered a pizza and whilst it was well made and tasted good it did not make us cry out “Oh la la!!” Prices are decent also.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brunodickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

I have been here 3 times. Twice for lunch & once for dinner. I would recommend anything on the menu except the thai food as crazy as that seems. The one time we ordered only thai dishes it was terrible. However all the western food we have ordered in previous times has been FANTASTIC. Prices are very reasonable & service is pretty good. I will be returning again but not for thai food.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oh La La!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great food, good price, nice staff. Worth going back. We had ceaser salad, pizza, panini, chicken and basil, other dishes as fillers and not one was just average, all excellent. the staff were a little slow, but hey, this is Thailand so that's expected anyway.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm welcome and wonderful cook”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

fresh and great quality of the food (Thai and western )
A professional team. Stable quality of the service and the products.
Warm welcome. A friendly atmosphere.
A very good ratio quality / price.

A place to be.

Les 3 petits suisses

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arianerochat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ohlala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing