We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great restaurant the best in Kamala” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kokosnuss

Kokosnuss
Ranked #12 of 120 Restaurants in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“What a great restaurant the best in Kamala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

This would be a restaurant that you want to revisit, On Mondays they have a Schnitzel Buffett it was chicken or pork, salads and hot vegetables go for the eggplant hot dish it was the best I have had anywhere.
There was 6 in our party and 4 decided to go for the pork hocks instead, they were cooked to perfection with crackling if you paid an extra 60 baht when you had the hock you could enjoy there salads as well. The beer was cold and so was the French red wine, I settle for an Long Island tea
which was good. The host Thomas was very helpful in assisting us with a nice red wine though chilled which seems to be the thing in Thailand. There was cheesecake on offer but after eating the gorgeous Buffett I could not fit it in so maybe on my return visit.
They have a bakery,meat and cheese you can buy this as well to take away.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bonesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    47
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food. Lovely service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We found this place on the web and decided to give it a go and what a pleasant surprise it was. Thomas, the owner, was very nice to let us bring our own wine ( with a small corkage fee) and we were very happy to discover there was a buffet when we arrived. Best deal in town. Delicious German food and lots of lovely side dishes to accompany the mains. Warm atmosphere and attentive service. We liked it so much, we went twice. Highly recommended when you need a break from Thai food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SydneyDibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ban Patong, Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
239 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good German food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had lunch there the other day. This is definitely a German restaurant. They even had a German radio station on! The food was good; the portions were large. The staff was very, very attentive and pleasant. Every evening they have a different buffet. It is located on a street parallel to the main road through Kamala and when it rains the road gets flooded. Although I live in Thailand, it was a bit difficult to find: the sign is very small, and I passed it several times before I found it. Would recommend for families.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patong, Phuket
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food at great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had one of my best meals ever in Phuket at this restaurant, the staff were helpful and friendly, and the owner Thomas came over to ensure we were well treated - will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gollum_HKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
239 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Good German food in a relaxed and friendly location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Thomas and his wife Bum over the years worked hard and deservedly earned a good reputation for good quality food & service at very reasonable prices.

The restaurant is located at a lane parallel to the main road ..not easy to find initially but once you are there ..the advantages of this location are immediately appreciated ..no dust, no noisy cars and motorcycles. You can sit in- and outdoors and thoroughly enjoy a good meal in a very relaxed setting.

Food selection and portions are up to expections, you will not be disappointed. There are food theme nights for different days of the week. They have Weihenstephan beer, the oldest brewery in the world in Bavaria.

The restaurant also has a small shop section, selling first class German meat and sausages, as well as Bavarian bread choices. Do pay attention to the various sausage meat selections in glass containers, all made by a German master butcher in Phuket.

The Kokosnuss has its regular following, and during the main tourist seasons, ..it is full !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kokosnuss also viewed

 

Been to Kokosnuss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing