We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Cafe

Red Cafe
Ranked #44 of 120 Restaurants in Kamala
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Red Café - Bar & Lounge with Håkan Hallin, known as "Färjan-Håkan" on Swedish television reality shows. Here you can eat Swedish Hot dog in bread, and drink excellent cocktails. A relaxed atmosphere will make your stay perfect. Just relax and take a drink. opens from 3pm to late. Nice seating outside and inside.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

What can i say great place . Staff . Food. A costa away from home and better. Had a great chat with the owner. Think a few more coffees and few more days. We could of sorted the worlds troubles out

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    17
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kamala, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great coffee in Kamala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Dare I say better than Starbucks? This "Latte snob" wasn't disappointed with the product or the friendly (at times sassy funny) service

Helpful?
1 Thank RAKRagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala, Thailand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

A very nice café with, by far I have to say, the best coffe in Kamala. Their Skagen is too die for and DON´T miss their crumble pies.
Very nice staff, and a big thanks to the very nice owner Pierre.
I will be back!!!
/Frederic

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

After searching on Trip Advisor for a decent café to go have coffee, I came across Red café and the reviews did not let us down.
My partner and I were regular visitors of Red Café upon our 2 week stay in Kamala.
Coffee was great, and better than some I've had back home In Australia!!
Breakfast was very nice and also well priced. most morning we had the Big breakfast or the Ham, cheese and salad croissant!
Apple was the lady serving us every morning, she was so friendly and very attentive
highly recommend and will defiantly go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Dissappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We came to Red Café for lunch & it was extremely disappointing, I just don't get where the high rating comes from.

Three of the meals we ordered came reasonably quickly & were fine. My husband & son's meal took so long we almost gave up on them. Eventually the last two meals arrived & my son's meal was fries with hot dog & the fries were burned to a crisp, they were inedible.

This place is pretty cheap but the service here was poor & not what I'd expect from a place rated so highly on tripadvisor.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre_Hammar, Ägare at Red Cafe, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hello. I am sorry that you got this service and that the fries was too crispy.
On monday 13:th january we are going to have a dedicated chef for that kind of food. We are also going to extend the menu one or two step further. I wish you come back another time, the lead time will for sure be quicker then.


Pierre Hammar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing