We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing after so many years as the best! Now its quality is "Hit and Miss"”

SILK Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #4 of 121 Restaurants in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Indulge in some of the finest Thai cuisine in Phuket at Andara’s renowned Silk Restaurant and Bar.The finest traditional Thai ingredients are prepared with a focus on authenticity of taste and texture with a dash of contemporary flair ensuring each meal is an unforgettable experience. The delicious creations are carefully concocted using local flavours, time-honoured techniques and the freshest ingredients.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Disappointing after so many years as the best! Now its quality is "Hit and Miss"”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was about the 15th time we had eaten in Silk over the seven years we have been visiting Phuket. We have raved about this restaurant to our friends from Los Angeles as being the best Thai food there is and decided to book here on their last night.

The dramatic entrance through the Andara resort had its "Whow" factor but we noticed the lobby staff did not show us to the lift, so we thought the service had dropped from the start.

One of the great things about our previous visits was the fantastic presentation of the food which guests always took photographs of. The food this time just did not come up to the mark. Other restaurants in the area present it better now!

The starters arrived and we immediately stated that "the place has changed" - this was not the Silk we knew. We were just very disappointed by the whole experience. Even the usual fantastic service seemed to be reduced. Perhaps it was the recession as the place was quite empty even at peak season so perhaps they are not getting the business now to sustain themselves, I do not know the cause!

We asked if the chef had changed and was advised that it was the same one from the start but he was off this Saturday night!

Well I am sorry Silk but you should still be able to produce the quality of food you always do if the head chef is on duty or not!

The other current rave reviews obviously got the head chef but it should be consistent quality all the time.

At these very expensive (for Thailand) prices they need to do much better than this or they will lose their top rating. They have a TripAdvisor 4.5 Star rating sign at the restaurant reception which is usually another sign of real quality!

Although we have not been back since this meal we would hope that if the head chef is on duty the food will come back up to its usual quality. Our tip would be to check by phone who is cooking the night you go and if the head chef is not cooking book somewhere else!

Below are two photographs of the same dish, the first taken in February 2012 of a very well presented full basket of shrimp vermicelli. The second was taken this visit and you will notice the basket is half empty with only 4 shrimp. This dish costs about 380 Thb plus 10% service plus 7'% tax so all in all it costs about 450Thb. We do not mind this price if it is fantastic but this time it was not!

I actually doubt we will be back, as at these prices it cannot be "hit and miss" on what you get!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Demented999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaKrap, Manager at SILK Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Demented999,

With deep grief I have read your review on TA and I would like to apologize sincerely for not keeping up our, normally much praised high level of quality, as you know from past visits. I thank you very much for your review and it shall help to wash all our heads again to get back to where we belong. It cannot be that after so many years of top quality we fall into a "hit or miss" mode. Our team knows very well how to perform a perfect service also when the Chef is on holiday.
We will tighten the screws again on training and performance and I hope sincerely on your next visit to Phuket you will come back to your old renewed Silk in Kamala!

Pascal Frei - Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    81
    31
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Yes, it's a little more pricy than the restaurants down at the beach, but it's worth it! The service, setting and food are all excellent. We ate here on Valentine's night and were not disappointed. We started with cocktails and then ordered from the à la carte menu. I wasn't feeling well all day, but when I saw and smelled the food here, my appetite was reignited! As a lovely touch at the end of the meal, the waitress gave my husband a red rose to give to me! We thought this was very nice. We would have returned again, if we had been staying longer. Great cocktails, wine list and food in a lovely setting. Definitely recommend a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Gorettikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaKrap, Manager at SILK Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Gorettikid,

Thank you very much for your review and compliments. Of course the rose was prearranged by your husband to give to you for Valentine’s! 
It is a pleasure to read that you had a great experience at this special day and especially complimented our food that much. I hope you and your husband can make it next time again when you visit Phuket. Maybe you should consider staying at Andara Resort & Villas and enjoying Silk at a daily basis. Many thanks again.

Pascal Frei - Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We have eaten at Silk Restaurant each time we have been to Phuket and each meal has been memorable. The food is excellent. Service attentive. The location is beautiful. And nice to be given a complimentary transfer back to our Hotel. We will definitely eat at Silk again on our next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HannahMistral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaKrap, Manager at SILK Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear HannahMistral,

Thank you very much for your nice review and your compliments. We look much forward to your next visit and remain to keep up the service.

Pascal Frei - Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Thai food on our trip”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Silk was hands down the best Thai we had on our trip. The dining room and hotel is lovely and service staff very professional and explained the dishes and made suggestions on what to order. Standout dishes were the pork neck appetiser and the crab red curry - amazing. We found the pricing reasonable for the quality of the food and the setting, would happily recommend anyone going to Phuket. The even provided us a car to get back to our hotel in Surin complimentary.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeeBP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaKrap, Manager at SILK Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear BeeBP99,

Thank you very much for your review and your praise about our Thai food. I will definitely pass your compliments to Chef Ooy and her team. Satisfied guests are our highest priority and it is much appreciated to read such a nice feedback like yours.

Pascal Frei - Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Delightful fine dining in Thai atmosphere”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is a lovely Thai restaurant within Andara Hotel. Great service, pleasant staff, and a well priced menu and wine list. Thoroughly enjoyed dinner overlooking the beautiful pool and sea area. Definitely return here. Would highly recommend!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaKrap, Manager at SILK Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear IrisAnne,

Thank you very much for your high recommendations! It is much appreciated and we thank you for your review. We are much looking forward to welcome you again in the future and remain, at your service!

Pascal Frei - Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SILK Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to SILK Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing