We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunwing Kamala Beach
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Spent 5 nights at Sunwing Kamala Beach. Was a great resort for kids with rooms big enough for a family of four, 4 pools to play out - 2 with water slides that our kids loved, and kids eat free. Beachfront massage was great and very reasonablly priced. Beach was OK - very dirty both on beach and in water so we stuck to the pool. Great to be able to shop and eat at Kamala which was a 5 min walk from hotel. Things we did not like were the noisy rooms - when you shut the door it echo's around the hotel particularly at night and will wake you up! Beds not made up for kids when we arrived - we had to do it ourselves and the kids beds did not have the additional sleep pad so were very hard. Lack of information on activities both in the resort and tours from the resort - it was a help yourself set up. I never was able to get an understanding of what some of the kids activities where and when I did want the 5 and 7 yo to do an activity I was told I had to be with them which was not what we wanted. Also beach front restuarant was closed at night so you had to eat in main resort and miss the sea breeze. Kids cartoons during dinner was fabulous but kids evening activities started too late. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kidsonholiday_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 865 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent 14 nights at beautiful Kamala Beach and can't wait to return next year. Traveling with our children (aged 9 and 7) we stayed in a Family Suite in room 1322 - lovely big suite and we all slept very well as the beds were SO comfortable! Housekeeping was fantastic and it was lovely to walk back into our clean, freshly scented room! We were more than happy to leave a daily tip for our beautiful maid Mai. Although we only had one lunch and one dinner at the restaurant downstairs, both meals were great and very reasonably priced, I also ordered room service for the kids one night and it arrived quickly and packaged very well (ie hot!). All of the staff were wonderful, very friendly and helpful, we needed a light changed and it was done straight away. Having extra linen supplies in the room was also very handy when our youngest was sick during the night and the dirty linen was picked up the next morning as soon as I called through to reception. Reception staff would greet us with a big smile every time we left or arrived back to the resort. The only downside we had was the family of elephants living upstairs ( as mentioned in another review) but I figure this isnt the resorts fault - more the inconsiderate parents allowing their young children to jump all over the beds and run around late at night/early morning! Next time we will ask for a room move but the ear plugs worked quite well!

Breakfast good but just needs a couple more things like raisin bread, fruit Danish (waistline is probably happy though!).

Pools are fantastic and so many to choose from, resorts supplies beach towels and you can exchange these for fresh ones each day near the pool bar, good quality ones as well.

Kamala is a beautiful area, heaps of great little restaurants around and the usual shops, the beach is lovely and we spent a lot of time there - much nicer than Patong. We would highly recommend going to the Phuket Town night market (Saturday and Sunday nights) its where the locals shop, mostly set price and fantastic food. The Friday night market outside the Sunwing entrance is also great - we ate our way through it! We met some wonderful local Thai people in Kamala and we can't wait to go back and see them......

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at 3 resorts during this visit to Phuket. Sunwing Kamala Beach, Dusit Thani Laguna and Phi Phi Island Village Resort. A review has been written for each one for comparison purposes. All are beach front resorts however you do not get a view of the ocean from the main accommodation area at Sunwing. Our visit at the end of June was during the wet/rough ocean season. We found the beach in front of the resort was open for swimming. The Dusit on the other hand had red flags on display every day. Phi Island Resort was best with beautiful calm ocean every day. All have good breakfasts but the Dusit breakfast is excellent.
Being low season we found the Kids Clubs for children over 10 years were not operational in the resorts we visited.
The La Tasca restaurant at Sunwing was good value for a resort hotel. You will pay about 30 baht more for a thai main dish and get a better quality meal with the added benefit that children under 12 yrs eat free from the kids menu. We paid 750 baht for a thai dish plus drinks for 3 adults and 1 child. Allow considerably more if you wish to eat steak or fish (350-750 baht per dish) in Phuket. Most resorts offer free breakfast so we would allow 500 - 900 baht per person per day to cover food and drink costs.
You will find other eating places along the beach front. Turn right and you will find Smile eatery.
The average Thai dish was 100 baht and they make a good coconut shake. Also do a reasonable spaghetti. Turn left on the beach and you will reach Beach Rd on your left. You will find other restaurants and shops along this road. We tried the Beer House restaurant which was quite good. Continue along beach road and you will reach the main road. Turn right and you will Big C supermarket which has very cheap prices. There are 3 banks a little further on.
On Friday nights there is a local market that sets up near the front entrance of the resort. Across the road from the markets you will find Fantasea.
We found the accommodation comfortable and spacious. We were on the third floor which was good because mosquitoes don't fly this high from the outside. We found the swimming pools surprisingly warm.
The resort also offers a shuttle bus to Phuket Town and Patong at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent 10 days at the resort in one of their 2 bedroom rooms and were satisfied that we got value for money. Very pleasant staff and such a child friendly atmosphere. Our room (2114) had direct access to one of the large pools which our 6 and 8 year old children made great use of. 2 in pool slippery slides, plus a swim up bar meant that all needs were catered for. Kamala is 9 km away from hectic Patong, which was perfect for us. We did our shopping in Patong, and then retired to the relative calm of Kamala. The hotel's breakfast buffet delivered enough variety for the whole family, and as long as we stuck to the Thai food on the dinner menu, we were happy with the fare. The children loved the movies (Tom & Gerry cartoons) that were on each night, and my daughter was very pleased with the magic / acrobatic and singing shows that were put on each night.
The hotel caters for 1000 people, but as it was the low season, it was less than 50% full, so there was plenty of sun lounges to be had.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 'royal family' wing are quieter, though the hallway floors are increibly sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maikaefer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

First off, let me say that when we travel (two adults and a 6yr old) we like to do it well and enjoy a bit of luxury on our one holiday for the year. When looking for accommodation in Phuket we originally wanted the Moevenpick but it was booked out and we were assured that the Sunwing, while not in the same class would be very good. Good it was, but definitely nothing to rave about.
We booked a two bedroom family unit, which doesn't even come with doors on the bedrooms so you may as well all be in together, very dark with poor lighting. The master bedroom didn't even have ceiling lights just low wattage lamps (we bought new globes so we could at least see what we were putting on). The room while very clean smelt stale and musty when we arrived and that didn't really improve the whole time we were there (2 weeks) we got in the habbit of opening the windows while we were having a swim just to air it out a bit. As I said, the room was very clean when we arrived, but the standard of the daily cleans left a lot to be desired, floor irregularly swept, dirty glasses in the bathroom never cleaned or replaced, beds irregularly fitted with new sheets and don't leave any coins lying around or they think its a tip!
Our room was number 2115 - this was at the end of a block on the ground floor. The pool was 2 metres from our door which the 6yr old thought was great, and we could watch him play while we lay on our bed which was pretty good. BUT we had stairs going up to the 2nd floor next to our bedroom and you could hear the thump thump thump at all times of the day and night (definitely no nanna naps!) and the ceiling pad is wafer thin - hope no-one has tummy trouble in the room above you or neither they or you will get any sleep! (hint: take earplugs)
All the flooring at the resort apart from the paving around the pool consists of slick tiles - which are extremely dangerous when wet - which is rediculous when everything gets wet when it rains, and also from wet feet from the pool. I had been negotiating these hazards for 2 weeks when I finally fell over on our last day. I limped off to breakfast with a rapidly bruising foot, my husband managed to get some ice and a towel and the impression that it was a regular occurance - so be careful, because even when the floors aren't flooded from the rain there are always wet patches to catch you unawares from people coming back from the pools.
The pools were lovely, plenty to choose from, and all the kids really enjoyed the two slides. The pool bar made some great cocktails, and not too pricey considering you are at a resort - try the siam sunray, one won't be enough!
The restaurant served good food, plenty of Thai and western choices, again the prices were reasonable, and the takeaway option was regularly utilised at lunch time where you could get meals delivered to your room or by the pool. The TV that they had at the restaurant in the evenings showing old looney tunes cartoons was a great idea, you would get kids of every nationality all piled on the couch together laughing at the antics
We were here in the off season, and thank god for that. We were told that out of 330 rooms only 76 were occupied and you wouldn't want it any fuller or it would be pandemonium. I would never recommend this place during the peak season if you are going for a relaxing break. If however, you don't mind being overrun with children please disregard. The main reason we booked the Sunwing was because we were told the kids club was fantastic. The only other kids club we had experience with was in Bali where you could drop the kids of for a while and as long as you provided your location within the resort the kids could stay there and mingle - this isn't the case at the Sunwing. If your child is under 8 years old parents are required to stay for 95% of the activities which completely defeats the purpose of sending them to kids club in my opinion - we never even sent him, which was disappointing considering where we could have stayed if we weren't looking for a place with a kids club!
If you are looking for a relatively inexpensive resort and don't mind sharing it with everyone elses bowel movements and lazer pointing children then this will be ok for you. As for us, we had a lovely relaxing break, but will never go back to the Sunwing. I never usually write reviews, as I find that they usually are of the same opinion as other reviews I have read on Trip Advisor, but in this case I think I had something very different to say. I don't know if we just expected too much, but compared to other places we have stayed this would only be 3 star.

Room Tip: Top floor may avoid noise you get on the bottom floor, but then you miss out on having the pool righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChanWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This was my 3rd visit to Thailand but I had never stayed in or visited Kamala before and I was wondering if I had made the right decision right up to the moment we arrived. Turns out it was a great choice. Kamala is quieter and far less seedy than many of the other beaches in Phuket. Sure you still get a few middle aged overweight men pulling up to the bars on their scooters at sunset but generally it has a much nicer feel to it than Patong, Karon or Kata. From the main road it doesn't look much but the beach is very nice. Yes it has it's fair share of rubbish, sun beds for rent and everything else that you would expect to find on a Thai beach but it's not too big, has a nice atmosphere and is pretty.
If you want to get around the Island I would recommend hiring a car. We hired a 4x4 for 1,000 baht per day (Insured with an excess of 5,000 baht). You can get cheaper cars but we wanted something a little bigger. Taxi's can be pretty expensive in comparison to the rest of Thailand so a hire car is good value for money. Driving in Phuket looks a little crazy but it was a lot of fun. Keep an eye on your mirrors for the motorbikes that appear from nowhere and take your turn at intersections. You soon get used to it.
A selection of restaurants, tailors, bars, a mini mart and a few other tourist shops are just a short walk down the beach from the Sunwing. There's also a small night market out front of the hotel every Friday night but by far the best shopping is found at the weekend markets on the outskirts of Phuket town. Don't be put off by the online comments that it's hard to find. Follow the signs to Phuket town. When you see the mall on your left turn right at the lights then take a left at the next lights and look for the sheds on your right. The markets are open from 4-10pm Sat & Sun.
The Sunwing was also a great choice for us as a family of 5. Our Children who are 8, 6 and 4 loved it. This hotel isn't perfect but it is exceptional value for money and is very clean. The staff are friendly and helpful, the pools are awesome, the gardens are well kept and it's obvious by the painting and maintenance that was going on that the management want to keep this hotel in great condition (don't worry there was no noise and no inconvenience). I agree with other comments on this forum that I wouldn't want to stay during high season as I think it could be a little manic with all the kids.
We had originally booked 2 of the beachfront units but changed to a family suite to keep our young family together in 1 room. I'm so glad that we did as the beach front rooms are close to the beach but do not have a very clear view of the sea due to vegetation and the massage huts on the beach. They are also a little removed from the pool area. When we arrived we were shown to a family suite with pool access and no safety gate. We asked to be changed as not all of our Children can swim. The reception staff soon came up with an alternative room in the main building which we loved. Sadly our love didn't last long as we soon realised that what sounded like a small heard of elephants was staying in the room above us and was stampeding around until the early hours of the morning. That combined with the gentleman next door who made a late night phone call to Sweden and was convinced that the only way his friend could hear him was if he yelled. Thankfully the call only lasted 45 minutes!!!!!!!!!
The next morning I visited reception again and requested that we move to the fourth floor to escape the noise. The entire floor was undergoing a low season spring clean but the staff very kindly made a room available but advised that it would only be available the next day. That night the elephants were very quiet and our neighbour must have lost his mobile phone so I was feeling that I had over reacted until a couple of families checked in late at night and spent the next few hours running between their rooms talking non stop at maximum volume.
To sum up the hard clean surfaces of the hotel rooms and hallways which make it look so clean and modern also echo every little sound. The poor sound proofing in the main building is the only complaint I have of this hotel and once we had shifted rooms peace was restored and we were very happy.
The Sunwing is totally set up for families. The cartoons projected onto the wall at night, the entertainment, the rooms and the pools made this our Kid's favourite Thai hotel. Children eat free with adults at night which made it just as cheap to eat in as it was to eat in Kamala. The breakfasts had a good selection and you certainly wouldn't go hungry but again it was targeted to satisfy Children. It just looked a little budget when compared with the other hotels we had stayed at in Thailand.
We had a great time at the Sunwing despite the noisy start and if we ever return to Phuket I don't think that our Kid's would let us stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Tim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed at Sunwing Resort Kamala Beach for 12 nights in June 2012. Two adults, a three year old and a baby. It's a large app 300 room hotel but due to the low season not many guests were there at first but at the end of June quite a few showed up. My guesstimate would be that only 10 to 20 per cent of the rooms were occupied at first. Good thing though, as many of the facilities such as fitness center and number of sun beds by the main pools seemed to be made for low season.

We enjoyed our stay very much and are likely to go back, but we would never go there in high season.

Generally the staff was very very friendly, especially in the La Tasca restaurant which was surprisingly good and fairly priced. Kids meals were free of charge. The restaurants near the hotel were not cheaper. We stayed in the hotel mosts nights as they showed cartoons on a large screen in the restaurants which was excellent for our three year old. In addition, to get out of the resort you had to walk 50 meters in beach sand and up and down a few steps which was kind of an irritation with two strollers.

Room service was quick and only 50 bath extra charge. In high season it is available 24 hours.

Worst thing about the hotel is the rediculous internet offered. We booked through a Scandinavian tour operator in which case it was free of charge. If you book directly it can be pre purchased for I think 100 bath/day. On site rates are extortionate, 2,100 bath/week or 900 bath/9 hours. Hourly rates even higher. That however was not the worst thing about it. On a good day it worked maybe 10 per cent of the time, on bad days even less. We complained numerous times and were told they were fixing it. I highly doubt that! For the entire 12 night stay it did not work. Other quests had the same problems. Further you are only allowed one password per appartment. Internet in nearby bars worked fine... When it did work the speed was okay, tested it to 10/10 mbit. The free internet offered in the lobby and restaurant was not much better.

Do not go without kids. This is very much for families.

The MiniLand was great for kids and had extensive opening hours and very kind staff. Water slides in the pools were great.

We stayed in a happy baby studio with pool access and a little garden. Small but fine, especially our baby enjoyed playing in the garden. Had there been lots of rain the room would have been a bit too small for 4 people I guess. Clean rooms.

General Thailand baby info: Baby food and diapers were available on site but VERY expensive. Jungceylon in Patong is a ten minute (400 bath) taxi ride away and they had diapers but no pre made baby food, for that we went to Central Festival in Phuket Town where they had everything. Strollers can be bought at both sites as well.

Kamala is a tiny place and not much to do in low season. But there are massages, suits, a few bars, restaurants and a 7 Eleven close by. Especially the massage on the beach just outside the hotel was great (300 bath plus tip for an hour). The Big C supermarket is 15 mins walk (without stroller). No baby food but diapers at normal prices. Do not get the cheap ones though, baby might as well not wear any....

Generally we were very happy with our stay exept for the internet. If that doesn't improve we might find some place else next time.

Would have given five stars had the internet worked.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.1 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.7 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
#2 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
622 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwing Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Kamala Beach

Address: 96/66 Moo 3 | Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#4 Family Hotel in Kamala
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range: $87 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunwing Kamala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully contained family resort with its own restaurants, entertainment programs and a host of activities for all ages. The resort includes all the fun, adventure, and luxury that families want most, elevating the family vacation to world-class standards on the unspoiled Kamala beach of Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sunwing Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Sunwing Kamala Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing