We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the WORST!!! incredibly inconvenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Trees Club Resort
Ranked #19 of 42 Kamala B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely the WORST!!! incredibly inconvenient!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The location was nice, surrounded by mountain and trees but how could I have imagined such nightmare was waiting for me.
The room is very old, everything was not clean. Very different from the pictures they have on their website.The room and the bed sheets smelled like mold and I couldn't sleep well because of the smell.
There's no restaurant or cafe around the hotel, they have the restaurant in the hotel but it opens only until 6PM (last order is 5PM, that means no dinner), and they don't inform about it on their website.You have to get a shuttle bus that leaves only once an hour to go to the beach just to have dinner.No room service either.
The rooms are far from the reception and there are many steep hills but they don't let us use a buggy (Even though they have the one) except when checking in /out.
They got stairs and no elevator in the building so you have to carry heavy suitcase yourself when checking out.
They have the information on Agoda they have an airport transfer but it's just a taxi you have to pay yourself.
I tried to use the phone in the room but there are no connection, the reception said “We're not allowed to let our guests call outside” (what's that supposed to mean??)
I couldn't connect to the internet for 2 hours and had to call the reception many times.No apology.There's no wifi signal in the bedroom, only in the living room.
I booked 2 bedrooms with 2 bathroom,but they forgot to clean 1 bathroom.
There were so many mosquitoes like hell, I killed 15 of them and still there were couple of them in the room.They only brought spray when I complained. No apology.
I also found spider webs and a big spider hanging from the ceiling.
When I was finally about to fall asleep after wasting an hour fighting with mosquitoes, the reception called me and woke me up,and told me to come down to the reception (means you have to go over the hill) to pay for the mini bar before going to bed as there will be no reception when I check out(I had to take an early flight).
When I looked at the mini bar, I found out they already took all the snacks when I was out for dinner. I was hungry in the midnight but nothing to eat, no convenience store, nothing.
Really, how can one hotel be so bad??? I just wanted to chill out and have a good time after busy business trip, but it was such a mess!
I can't believe I spent nearly $200 for this hotel, I want my money back!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here please!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MayaDaNang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    20
    12
    3
    10
See reviews for
17
35
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We book this resort because we wanted a couple of relaxing Sleep-in days but whe we checked in we realized that the room we we've assigned had a very thin net curtains, allowing all the light to come in, preventing us from sleeping after 6 am.Also the couch was very dirty. We asked to be changed to another room. they told us they were going to look.... after we waited 40 min in that room( no news from them) we went to reception and finally they took us to another room, better layout and one bedroom but again without curtains.They told us all the rooms were like that..we told them we would take it cuz we were tired...Later to realized that the bed was full of ants,the wall had humidity all over and our bedroom was next to a road where every 5 min a car or motorcicle drove by.It turns out you could hear everything our up stairs neighbors were doing..Hence we could not Sleep all night and we checked out at 8am. No apology at all from their side.....

Room Tip: I would not recomend this place to anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank citywellness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kamala hotels

Moers, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Hotel is far away from all crowdy nightlife, Quiet as long there are not to many russians guests or a russian party at the poolside. Rooms are big and good furniture inside, but if you have any problem - nobody is responsible and it needs days to solve a problem. The staff at the reception answered always, yes we will do - but nothing happened.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klaus_kraft1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This resort looks like it has had better days. Our unit was 1 bedroom, but was rather spacious with lots of cupboards and storage space. The furniture was a bit dated, and the window shades would not prevent your neighbours from seeing your every move, and there was a lot of windows. The bedroom did have curtains, but did very little to keep the early morning light out! No 'black-out properties what so ever.

The resort pool was adequate, but the gym was small and equipment old, and some thing were broken!

You only get internet connection for two devices, and even then the connection was not brilliant.

Our apartment has a serious ant problem, and insecticide only had a temporary impact in stemming the trails of thousands who wished to share our unit!

We didn't try the bar / restaurant as the offering didn't appear too exciting.

As the resort is built on a very steep hill, our unit which was close to one of the roads up could be noisy with the sound of straining engines (motorbike/vans/lorries)!

There is an excellent (almost hourly) shuttle service in to Kamala & back, and runs from 9am to 11:30pm.

Room Tip: Try and get a unit with proper black-out curtains & away from the road up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzysoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Booked last minute studio apartment on Agoda, delighted to be upgraded to 1 bedroom on arrival. Large lounge,kitchen/dining area, large bedroom and shower room plus adequate sized balcony. Clean and light....maybe too light as no blackout curtains in bedroom and windows all around the living area. Blinds allow people to see in at all hours, however resort is on a hill and not many folk pass by. Parking for car just outside apt was handy for loading and unloading our luggage. Walk into Kamala takes about 20 minutes, return a little longer as very steep access road, but not a problem if you are able bodied. Very frequent free shuttle service available too.
Kitchen has hob, microwave and fridge freezer, we moved micro to top of fridge as door could not open on work surface due to lip of sink. Brilliant single tub washing machine , need a drying rack though, we had to hang clothes on balcony chairs to dry. Unbelievable amount of cupboard and wardrobe space probably a reflection on the fact that some units have long stay or permanent guests/owners.
Small pool but fine, cafe we did not use as so much available down in Kamala. Gym is tiny!
Very peaceful, would stay again if unit can get blackout curtains!
Staff very helpful especially Jeff and Ryan .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed at The Trees for two weeks and found it to be the most relaxing place to get away from it all. We had a one bedroom apartment high up the hill overlooking the valley and the view was the best!!! With glass doors all around you felt as though you were actually living in the jungle. The apartment was very spacious with every amenity. The service was exceptional and the staff went out of their way to help us with information. We used the free tuk tuk most days to get us into the village where there are very nice restaurants and shops. The café by the pool was very nice with excellent food and the staff there were lovely. The pool itself was very good and very quiet when we were there, sometimes having it all to ourselves. Would recommend this complex to anyone and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdmNewcastleUponTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Trees was a perfect place to stay for our 7 nights in Phuket. The service was exceptional, with nothing too much of a problem to arrange. They arranged day trips for us and gave us other helpful information. We had a wonderful modern room with pool, gym and a small cafe/restaurant on site. It is nestled in amongst the trees, therefore it is very quiet and there is a free shuttle service; which runs to Kamala Beach and back 12 times each day. We used this service most days and went into Kamala Beach for lunch or dinner or both. We also went to Kamala Beach & caught the local bus through to Phuket Town & went further afield from there. Many places to eat at very reasonable prices - will be putting reviews on the places we liked the most.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendykennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamala hotels
1.1 mi away
Keemala
Keemala
#9 of 36 in Kamala
225 reviews
1.3 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
1.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
0.5 mi away
The Bell Pool Villa Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trees Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trees Club Resort

Property: The Trees Club Resort
Address: 59/46 Moo 5, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trees Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the west coast and in the heart of Kamala, The Trees Club Resort is set into the hillside, surrounded by a stunning natural forest that delivers a purely natural and tranquil atmosphere under a canopy of trees. The location and calming sounds of nature provide a truly relaxing getaway. All units take on a simple but modern design which takes full advantage of the surrounding environment to capture the stunning views and natural breeze from the lush hillside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Trees Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trees Club Hotel Kamala
The Trees Club Resort Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing