We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning property Poor management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andara Resort and Villas
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Stunning property Poor management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

These villas are beautifully located on a hill overlooking a bay in Phuket. Our room is gorgeous but the light switches are so high tech it took us 15 minutes to figure out how to switch off the overhead bedroom light!
We booked 2 spa treatments upon our arrival . I explained to the spa manager that I need a special massage for my sinusitis and my husbands preference. When we had our massages it was as if I had talked to a wall. They gave us both standard massages, mine was good but my husband complained that his was below average. The staff is very pleasant but does not understand a word of English. This applies to the spa manager too.
We tried to get a buggy to return from dinner and ran into the same problem. No buggies at the restaurant, and when we tried to ask the staff who wer sitting in the buggies, for some unknown reason -Perhaps they did not understand us-they could not oblige.
If this resort can get its service in place it would get 5 stars, but for now the language barrier prevents them from understanding guest needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank East_Village_Apts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review of our resort. We appreciate there were areas that require tweaking, and we will certainly endeavour to address these as you have mentioned. We appreciate your feedback to enable us to continue improving our Andara for all our future guests. We do hope you will return, and we look forward to being the opportunity to welcome you again to our resort. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    53
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
213
181
16
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have only taken the time to write a review twice, even though I have stayed at many of the most opulent resorts across North America. Seldom does a place impress me enough to do so with my schedule.

Andara Resort is comprised of both hotel suites, as well as individual homes, to choose from depending on the number of people traveling with you. Yet, even the hotel suites are really condominium size and quality, having much larger square footage than a typical hotel suite. Indeed, many of these suites are privately owned (i.e. not just the homes). Even more impressive, the architecture, and interior design, are nothing short of stunning. And the quality of materials and finishes are clearly that of an expensive private home (really), not of hotel room quality. If you are looking for a real "jewel box" resort, then Andara would be your choice; it is truly an exquisite resort.

Yet, what "completes" Andara for me, is that its architectural and interior design class is TRULY matched by the service that goes with it. It competes in service with the legendary small-membership country clubs in the U.S. The staff clearly cares about the service they are providing, and it is consistent throughout from the front desk to the restaurant to the pool and beach and spa. You can readily see that the upper management vision was conceived by people with discerning taste, too. It's the details that separate Andara from other so-called luxury resorts and residential communities, from the curtains that open and close via a motorized infrared remote in your hand, to serving your cocktails at the pool bar on cloth (not paper) napkins, to remembering that you like extra ice by the second day, without you having to ask first.

Much of the physical beauty you can see from Andara's website; it's story book perfect, and I won't elaborate on that here. But it's the caliber of service (throughout) married with it that puts Andara in a class that is hard to find. I have been blessed with my family owning a large yacht with a full-time crew -- and that is the epitome. So, if Andara somehow doesn't end up impressing you, I mean in a way even distinguished from other so-called luxury resorts, then I might suggest your only salvation would be to charter a private yacht for your vacation. :) Coincidentally (but not entirely surprising), the owner of Andara also has two large yachts that you can charter (even for just a day trip while you're here if you want a taste).

One additional note worth mentioning, I am a conessueir of massages when I travel. In my estimation, nobody knows how to give a massage like they do here in Thailand. I mean nobody. And Andara provided among the best massages I have ever had. I don't know why other parts of the World can try hard to imitate, but can't duplicate, the art of massage that Thailand is known for perfecting. But it's worth a visit here just to experience the massages.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yachtsman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so very much fo ryour glowing review of our resort - we truly appreciate your attention to all our details, from architecture, interiors to our team; it's all what makes Andara, Andara. We do hope you will visit again ,and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Andara for 6 days for the first portion of our Thailand honeymoon. They put us in a 3 bedroom suite with private pool with an amazing view of Kamala bay. The service is excellent!! A driven golf cart would pick us up from our suite and take us down to the pool, restaurant, lobby area whenever we called. The beach is very easily accessible by driver who would also make stops for us to pick things up at 7/11. The Beach Lounge was amazing with great food and the service staff was top notch; Pod was exceptional and gave us great recommendations for things to do around the island and also when we went to Bangkok. Meals and room service from the onsite restaurant Silk were delicious! We didn't want to leave our suite and private pool when it was time to go sightseeing... and even considered canceling our other destinations to stay at Andara 6 more days. Amazing and money well spent!

Room Tip: We were in Suite 511 and couldn't have asked for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your most glowing review of our resort. We are so glad to hear that your honeymoon was all that you could hope for and my team took very good care of you. We do hope you will visit again and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We recently completed an 8 day stay at the Andara resort and had a great time. The room was very nicely furnished and had all the comforts we expected. The view over the bay from our room was spectacular.

Our room was very close to the reception so we did not need to use the electric cars to get around but the few times we did they arrived very quickly.

We ate breakfast in the Silk restaurant and approximately 50% of our evening meals there. The food quality and service was excellent. You could eat more cheaply down by the beach but considering this is a 5 star hotel we felt the prices were very reasonable.

My wife did a cooking lesson which was well run and instructive. She actually cooked our evening meal one evening which was subsequently served in the Silk restaurant .

Staff at reception and particularly in the restaurant were very polite and helpful and spoke very good English.

Our package included a private driver for 5 hours. We used this service just before we came home. Our drive spoke very good English and suggested alternatives to the locations we were intending to visit, all of which we accepted and they were excellent. He also suggest a resturant for lunch which again was simply idea.

Highly recommended and we will definitely return for a future visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to hear of your varying experiences, from the cooking class at SILK (which led to your wife cooking dinner directly 1 night), also the shuttle services, accomodation, and your island tour. We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Please, the title says it all. There is absolutely no reason to charge the outragious prices for the goods and services provided. If this were a private island perhaps but it is not. Not a good value I am afraid

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank simon09320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your review, albeit short. We appreciate that our resort may not suit all budgets, but we aim to offer promotional periods (usually during summer/low season), along with various options which our reservations team (if contacted directly) will always aim to advise of. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Andara was recommended by our travel agent. She said "you will like it." And we did.

We stayed a week at Andara in a three bedroom pool apartment. Reception is attentive, they took a photo of our family upon our arrival and I peeped to see that they took notes of our names, the languages we spoke and even the nanny's details. The walk up towards your apartment is very pleasant, candles, dim and not too dark lighting, beautiful statues and fixtures. The staff are not native English speaking but everyone gave their best on service, everyone knew our names! (hence the photo) Our apartment is large (about 1800 sq feet) beautifully designed; the living area has just enough Thai accented designs without being too "Thai", large comfortable sofa as well as Thai styled lounge chairs and fitted with all the modern amenities like TV, iPod speaker system,etc I am not very technically inclined. The kitchen is well equipped with ovens and stoves, a large fridge and I liked best of all the laundry room with its deep sinks, dryer and washer. We did cook a few days in the apartment. The three rooms are well sized, all with ensuite bathrooms, the master bedroom faces the sea view and comes with a lovely walk in sunken bath. Its very convenient to have a nice pool just beside you, its about 1.5m, little children may need floatation devices. The beds are comfortable not too soft and the resort is very quiet.

A good class resort like Andara will naturally have good gym and spa facilities, a great restaurant SILK and lovely hotel grounds. It is situated on a slope and is not easily accessible to the beach. Which may not be a bad idea for families with young children. There are some restaurants within walking distance but the rest of the non-hotel food is a taxi ride away.

If time and budget allows for it, I can seriously live at the Andara for a month, because it feels like a beautifully fitted apartment in a tranquil part of Phuket.

We viewed the other apartments 1 BR and 2 BR and 2BR penthouse and I still like our 3BR apartment best. Every unit at the Andara overlooks the sea and if you like it hard enough, Andara units are for sale because the best things in life are often not for free... expect the bill to be of international 5 star standard.

Still our family enjoyed ourselves and we will be back one day.

Room Tip: Look out for their specials during rainy seasons - but it will really rain ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrigL618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your review of our resort. It was pleasant to read of how your travel agent mentioned "you will like it" and you did. We would certainly appreciate all you comments from our rooms style, to the gym, spa and of course our SILK restaurant, and although we do not have direct access to the beach, we have a readily available shuttle service to get you there. We do look forward to welcoming you and family again. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Price is expensive but you realy get a great room with private pool situated on a very nice plot of well maintained land. Rooms have 2 bdrs, big living room, kitchen and private pool. You can stay with 4p in these rooms and if you calculate the price per person it is not that expensive.

Food in the Silk restaurant is very good as is breakfast, you can ask whatever you want and they will prepare it. It is much cheaper to eat outside but with 2 small kids we enjoyed staying at the resort.

We had days we had the mainpool for our own (probably all people stay in the rooms with private pools). They have some basic kids animation at the pool and the girsl are really great in dealing with young kids.

Hotel is 5stars, I travel for business around 180 days per year and see many hotels, Andara is 5 stars but the service should be tuned. Some staff emglish is not good, I can accept this for people who do not need to communicate with guests. Sometimes you get something else from the kitchen, they solve however the issue direct!

Some small items which makes the class of a 5star resort is to deiver everyday the same service, we stayed 8n and sometimes the turn down service was not done, some times you do receive some crackers with your drinks, sometimes you receive some breadsticks at dinner and sometimes not. This is small stuff and certainly not worth discounting this hotel, but if you want to play in the real gems you need to have a consistent service all days.

I will return to this hotel and can recommend it, I look forward that they to the small upgrades.

And buy the way, the manager is walking around ALL days and if you ask for something it is delivered directly, just ask him!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review of our resort. We wil strive to improve the areas you mentioned, but we are glad your stay was mostly enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you to our Andara family again soon. Best regards. Daniel Meury, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
2.0 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
10.3 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
14.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
4.4 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,161 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andara Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andara Resort and Villas

Property: Andara Resort and Villas
Address: 15 Moo 6 | Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#1 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#1 Family Hotel in Kamala
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andara Resort and Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andara is an ultra-deluxe villa and residences resort at Kamala Beach (Phuket) set on a hill rising gentle from the Andaman Sea offering stunning ocean views. Minutes away are Phuket’s best restaurants, boutiques, world-class golf resorts and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andara Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andara Resort And Villas Hotel Kamala
Andara Resort And Villas Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing