We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We spent our honeymoon at Cape Sienna hotel, Kamala, Phuket and our stay was above all expectations. Great service, a stunning view over the sea, a beautiful room with jacuzzi on the balcony!!! And the food........let's not forget the food, really first class!! The restaurant Plum Garden is recommended, their sunday brunch is excellent, not to talk about the Tapas evening!! But everthing we ate at Cape Sienna was good and looked good!!!
We also had spa treatments at the hotel spa, really relaxing and nice. When we wanted to go to Phi phi islands and on other trips the staff fixed that for us. There's only good things to say about Cape Sienna hotel, the staff took care of all our needs and we had a beautiful honeymoon!! We really recommend this hotel, and we will of course return there!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auroredelumiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeSiennaPhuket, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on behalf of the Cape Sienna team. We eagerly look forward to serving you again.

Thank you

Warm Regards

Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2009

Been to Cape Sienna for Honeymoon ! Terrific Hotel, amazing location
in phuket and great ambience.

From the start of our stay we were taken care of very nicely. The
manager even had a tailor made program which included some great
places to see around, and a half day tailor made Spa program followed
by a very healthy Spa lunch, which my wife loved. Also one of my personal favorites at the poolside was an interesting spaghetti bolognaise, with a touch of thai flavor to it, something refreshing and new.

When the manager knew about it being our honeymoon, we were recommended the seven course dinner, in the Plum restaurant, overlooking the sunset, one of
the most romantic meals we have had during the trip. You just can't miss that one, if
you are around. The Chef and attendants are not only very hospitable, but they also
tailor cooked food to suit our tastes.. Food was amazingly yumm!!

The staff were excellent, ever smiling , friendly and attentive, and
would even follow my plans to surprise my wife perfectly.
A wonderful start to our married life thanks to cape sienna. Will
surely return back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiddenwonderhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Very impressed with well trained and courteous staff who made our stay so enjoyable. Hotel recently built to a very high spec. with views across Kamala Bay. Our fifth trip to Thailand and we did our homework before choosing this one for a four night stay - well worth it. Good beach nearby within five minutes walking time. We hired a car to get around but this hotel has all you need if you prefer to stay put and chill.
Building is going on nearby so if booking, make sure that room is not on the affected side. Spa facilities and gym not quite finished at time of visit.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank themumblies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeSiennaPhuket, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on behalf of the Cape Sienna team. We eagerly look forward to serving you again.

Thank you

Warm Regards

Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Idyllic view facing Andaman Sea from bedroom and pool area. Staff were friendly and accomodating. Clean spacious room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romulus88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

My wife and I have been to Phuket over 10 times and decided to try Cape Sienna this time. It's our stay in Kamala beach. We had heard and read a lot about the area during our last few trips to Phuket. It's supposed to be an up and coming area.

The internet rates for the deluxe jacuzzi suite were great value for money but if I had known ahead of time that the cheap rates meant sacrficing good service and food, we would have stayed away. It's going to take some convincing (good reviews via TripAdvisor) before we stay there again.

I don't think there are many top hotels in the Kamala area. A few are even located inland, on the other side of Kamala town and far from the beach. We were a bit surprised to find that Cape Sienna was up on the side of a mountain but the sea views are beautiful (except for the power lines which will need to be erased using some imagination and photoshop :)). The hotel itself is very nice and the view alone would be worth staying there again. I hope they really sort out the staff service/attitude issues. This type of service is usually expected of resorts/hotels that are really busy and the staff overworked but not from a 'boutique' style hotel.

There is a lot of construction going on in the entire area surrounding the hotel. Some high end residential projects (Andara) are being built so do expect some noise during the day and views of construction sites. We also noticed LOTS of mosquitos and were bitten about 20 times throughout our 3 night stay. We tried to keep our balcony door closed at all times but they always seemed to find a way in. Just wondering if this is a result of all the construction going on in the area. It's something the hotel needs to address.

The hotel is stylish and very well designed. My favorite was the raw unpolished white marble (or granite?) pool. Occupancy was low and I think we saw no more than 10 couples during our stay. However, even with low occupancy, we had to 'fight' for a better located room. They originally put us in a room at the far corner of the property where construction was going on next door. We asked for another room and after about 30 minutes, the hostess arranged a much better one. Why they didn't just give us that room in the first place is beyond me.

Another thing we look for when staying in a hotel/resort is the breakfast.... and this one was terrible and for this class of hotel, the worst we've ever experienced. It wasn't just poor in variety but also quality. We guessed that the lack of variety was due to it being low season but in my opinion, you don't sacrifice things like this just to save a few dollars. If a hotel has to come to that, then they might as well not be in business at all. We have stayed in boutique resorts during low season where they would leave out a small salad/fruit bar and bread selection and have a small a la carte menu for guests to order from. By doing this, you preserve the classiness of your hotel as well as avoid wasting food. Afterall, impressions are everything and a little creativity can go a long way. When occupancy goes up again, just switch back to the full buffet.

If you can avoid it, don't eat at the Plum restaurant as it is very expensive and the quality of the ingredients not up to par with the prices they were charging (our meal with 2 drinks came to almost THB5000). The chef was a young guy from Holland and he was very nice to check on us after dinner (we were only 1 of 2 tables the whole night). I think he did a great job considering what he had to work with... There are much better restaurants in the surrounding areas (Surin and even Bangtao) and there is a seafood restaurant called Rockfish nearby which is also quite expensive but quality of food much better. It's only a 5 minute walk down the hill from the hotel. To be fair, Plum is a beautiful restaurant and we were given a nice table which is also the one posted on their website with the sunset in the background (although we arrived at 9pm and it was already pitch dark).

Pros
- good room rates
- beautiful sea views
- free wifi
- stylish hotel (the Swedish owners have great taste in design)
- nice pool

Cons
- average service, poor staff attitude
- expensive (overpriced) restaurant
- mosquitos
- terrible breakfast (poor selection, poor quality)

Overall, we were quite disappointed with this hotel but it has a lot of potential. Hardware wise they have done a great job and the area should be very nice in a year or so when all the neighboring construction is complete. However, it's the software that needs work but luckily those issues can be worked out relatively easily if the owners put their minds and hearts in it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tsthk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Cape Sienna is as of yet still under construction but is a beautiful hotel overlooking stunning views. The rooms are modern and clean and equipped with plasma tvs, balconies and room service is excellent.
This is a perfect romantic or honeymoon hotel and the swimming pool overlooking the beach is stunning.
This hotel is a little pricey but is well worth staying in, it is also a short drive from restaurants and bars.
The spa and massage service is excellent and this hotel pays great attention to detail.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueViewKohPhiPhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

I search the internet high and low before deciding on where to go for our anniversary. I was really happy with the value for money that I got with this hotel. The rooms were lovely, spacious and beautifully decorated. We stayed in the C - view with Jacuzzi. It was worth the extra that we paid for that room as the room had a really nice spacious feel.

Breakfast was good and their service was fantastic, not a huge selection but the quality was great and more than enough options for the meal. The room service and pool bar menu was delicious too and the pricing wasn't too bad.

Transport in Phuket is expensive, however we hired a scooter for 200THB a day and it was great to get around - but only ride if you are an experienced rider!!!! Roads are a bit scary. Kamala beach is not the greatest and we spent most of our time at Surin beach which was a 5min ride away.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tarryn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.8 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#64 of 390 in Kathu
803 reviews
1.9 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 35 in Kamala
681 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas

Address: 18/40 Moo 6, Nakalay Road | Tambon Kamala, A. Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#8 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range: $80 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Sienna is a new chic modern resort that brings sophisticated style of city living to the tropical beauty of Phuket. Designed as a retreat for the urbane cosmopolitan, the sleek accommodations and restaurants are all positioned to command stunning sea views from a dramatic west coast headland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Sienna Hotel And Villas
Cape Sienna Resort
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing