We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no kids under 12?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“no kids under 12?”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed 1/7/13 To 7/7/13 in a studio room. I booked this hotel because I thought it would be nice to stay somewhere for a change without yelling kids running around. Don't get me wrong, I've got kids of my own but when a property advertises this and then has tour groups with kids that's when I get my back up. Unfortunately we were staying in the block next to this group and it was so annoying at one stage I had to go up and tell them to "shut up"
One night the fire alarm went off about 3.30am. I got up, went outside the room ,but could not identify any problem, no staff turned up so we were fortunate that there wasn't a problem. I asked about it at reception the next day but no one knew about it.

Having got those issues off my chest the resort is everything that others mention in their reviews. I would like to go back but the kids issue would probably prevent that. I should have complained to the management about it at the time

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldmancockatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear oldmancockatoo,

thank you for your review and your patience with us, giving us a good 4 rating despite the issues you had.
As I already mentioned in an earlier review, we did take in a few Asian tour groups to of course fill in occupancy and offset the downwards trend from Europe.
Those groups however did not mention to us that they will have children in the beginning, only later. They also promised that their nature is mostly on tours and that you will only see them during check in/out and during breakfast, which I in all honesty can confirm. Those groups do not spend much time in the hotel and especially not around the pool during the day, still assuring peace and quiet.

We have those groups for this summer season, mostly finishing within September, but only few of those groups actually have kids with them.

Yet again, we will try out utmost that we accommodate our customers away from those rooms and can assure you that your peace around the hotel during the day is not effected in any way.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    491
    161
    84
    34
See reviews for
90
1,041
48
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Cape Sienna was a wonderful holiday destination. It is well positioned above the beach and has lovely sea views. The pools are both pleasant although not large. We particularly enjoyed Sienna rocks where the infinity pool extended into the sea.
The Vanilla Sky bar also offered higher views out over the sea and we enjoyed happy hour there one evening.
We went in low season so things were quiet and we had no problems with the hotel being too busy and they seemed to have some good specials. As with any hotel/resort in this part of the world, the food is much more expensive than if you choose to eat on the streets/local restaurants however we still chose to for a few meals
Breakfast was satisfying with a moderate range of options and a nice outlook.

It is a 10-15 minute walk to the beach which we didn't mind but depends how you feel about this
We loved being in Kamala and found it much more pleasant than staying somewhere like Patong. But it really depends on what type of holiday you are looking for.
The staff were friendly but were not overly attentive. However we did not have any complaints

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay. There were some nice touches like an oil burner in the room in the evening, and there was a sense of privacy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessNtomS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear JessNtomS,

thank you for your nice review, your time writing it is much appreciated.

Looking forward to Welcome you back to Cape Sienna in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is all about the view, it is truly magnificent. All rooms have a wonderful sea view as do both pools, bar and restaurants. The rooms are spacious and clean, however we felt we could have been in any hotel room anywhere, we just didnt get the Thai experience here. Having said that we did enjoy our stay very much, but if you want to walk out to restaurants or bars outside the hotel it is about a 10-15 minut walk down to the beach area. The staff are friendly and efficient, we really have no complaints other than the slight isolation of the hotel itself. We stayed for 5 nights but possibly 3 would have been enough.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room away from the road noise if possible. The high floors also have the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry_terry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Terry_terry2,

thank you for your nice review.
Indeed we are not a authentic Thai styled resort, we never advertised to be so. We are a modern, chic resort with fantastic sea views and Thai service to match. I would recommend to look at our website in order to get the "feel" of who we are and what we represent.
We appreciate however that you felt positive about our services and our views.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Cape Sienna must have some of the best views going, and its architecture really takes advantage of its position. The views from the lobby, the poolside bar and the cocktail bar are stunning. Some rooms will be better than others as certain blocks have the roofs of those in front in the foreground which, when those roofs need some maintenance, is a bit off putting. The whole property could do with a refurb as it is starting to look a little tired; same with the service. Our mini bar was only half stocked when we arrived which was a litle disconerting, although we weren't asked to pay for things we didin't consume. We arrived home one day at 4.00 pm to find the room not made up. On the positive side of service we inadvertantly arrived at the cocktail bar before opening for our complimentary cocktail. The staff were happy to accommodate us and made a great cocktail to boot.

Breakfast food could be improved; would fresh juice in a place with so much fruit be too much to ask? On the other hand the omelettes were great.

I have rated rooms as 'average'. That was our room in block 6. Other blocks and the villas may be different.

Room Tip: It's only a short walk down the hill to the Rockfish restaurant and bar - a delightful place for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iannico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Iannico,

thank you for your review.
We can assure you that we are taking maintenance very serious and every low season go thru all our rooms with paint touch ups, etc. We have done already over 60% in the summer season and the building you stayed in was the one next up on the maintenance calendar. Although still looking good there is always small wear and tear, which we are constantly looking at.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

10/7/2013 - I have just returned from a 10 day stay at the 'Cape Sienna Resort'.
Without question this resort is every bit 4+1/2 Star. Located on the west side of Phuket, it's a very well maintained large resort, spread over both sides of a quiet road, on a small cliff top at the edge of the Andaman sea. Highly recommended to adult couples or singles. Excellent food, great bars, welcoming staff and beautiful...... truly amazing... views.
Don't hesitate to book & "get ready to enjoy yourself". This is an extremely good valued place to stay.
Located within an easy, short walking distance from the relaxed and welcoming township of Kamala, approx 10k's from Patong.
Obviously well respected around Phuket as every one knows of it. The general comment from locals or visitors is " Oooo, very nice!" and they're right.
Enjoy!
Jeff Sear

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffSear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear JeffSear,

honey to my ears....this is all I can say. Your words and feedback is truly wonderful and greatly appreciated. Makes all the difference in the world to us to hear that we are doing something right.

Again, many thanks for your great review and hope to be able to Welcome you back to Cape Sienna in the near future.

With best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for several nights as a gift for my wifes birthday. Cape Sienna didn;t disappoint. Our driver was ready at the airport and easy to spot amonsgt all the taxi drivers. We got dropped at the door and got to choose a scent for our room which was such a nice touch. Our bags were delivered to our room very quickly and efficiently.

The breakfasts are amazing! Everything you could think of and extremely nice. no bland flavours or cold meals.

Our room was spotless, comfortable and a view second to none. the sound of the waves crashing was priceless. The glass wall in the shower meant a wonderful view to the ocean which was spectacular.

Each day our rooms were cleaned and a lovely note and burning essence for every night. Even the Cape Sienna things in the cocktails make it extra special.

the bed is extremely comfortable and the pillows were perfect! the pool was fantastic. Only downside is that the drinks and food can be pricey, expecially compared to the rest of Thailand.

We had no problems at all with the WiFI however Australian internet is pathatic in comparison so anything is better.

The staff are lovely and very helpful.

We made the most of the free shuttle bus to Patong and back. Very prompt. Nobody is ever late in Thailand it seems!

In summary my wife had an extremely wonderful experience and will most definately be back. Sure it's a bit of a walk to the beach but it's a nice walk and great to take a dip once you get there.

Thank you Cape Sienna.

Room Tip: we stayed in a jacuzzi wuite in building 2 and it had the best views of any hotel room i have ever s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReDDvL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear ReDDvL,

my heartfelt thanks to you for this fantastic review and the time you took to write it.
Reviews and feedback like yours are what drives us to continue to strive to provide Best services and constantly look at our product and motivates us as a team to achieve the highest customer satisfaction.

Greatly appreciated.

Looking forward to Welcome you back to Cape Sienna in the near future.

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore/Hongkong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

2 days earlier, I wrote about Cape Sienna being a disappointment as they had children from a tour group from China staying at the hotel. This morning, the manager personally came to explain to us that this was a one off as it was truly a miscommunication with the china tour agency. They hv 5 groups who will be around during July/aug as it has already been confirmed. The hotel manager apologized and mentioned that there was also another complain and they are listening to their guests. I told them, its their selling point of a kids free environment and if they were going to change their policy they should announce it on their website and not do false advertising as then they would just be like any other tourist hotel. She understood and assured us that after this 5 groups are done during these 2 months, no more kids below 12 will be allowed. They made up by offering us a free upgrade.
I truly hope that they will stick to their policy as it would be a real pity to see such a lovely hotel lose their selling point of being a place of zen n noted for couples wanting to getaway from the hustle n bustle - go down the road of being a tourist class hotel. Cape Sienna-counting on u to keep your word n live up to your excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leengs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Leengs,

thank you for your positive review of our resort.
We understand your concern and I can only confirm that during this low season we indeed had to take on some tour groups from Asia, which unfortunately could not manage to let us know if they will have children with them. We only found out later that they do. Those groups usually stay very short periods 1 or 2 nights and you normally only see them on check in/out and at breakfast. it is not their nature to stay around the pool or the restaurants during other times and therefore the disturbance we hope is very limited.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.9 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas

Property: Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Address: 18/40 Moo 6, Nakalay Road | Tambon Kamala, A. Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#6 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#10 Family Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Sienna is a new chic modern resort that brings sophisticated style of city living to the tropical beauty of Phuket. Designed as a retreat for the urbane cosmopolitan, the sleek accommodations and restaurants are all positioned to command stunning sea views from a dramatic west coast headland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Sienna Hotel And Villas
Cape Sienna Resort
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing