We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to unwind!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Lismore, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic place to unwind!!!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from an 8 night stay from 15-23 April. We absolutely loved the time we spent at Cape Sienna staying in the Penthouse which was beautifully decorated and spacious. Made a one day trip to Patong but did not like the hussle and bussle compared to that of Kamala. Found taxi service ok, if you want cheaper taxi's just had to walk down the hill and you'll save 100bht. Most days we spent mornings at the beach which is only a short walk and checking out the local shops. We had most meals down along the beach where the food was great and cheap. Then spent the afternoons on our balcony chilling out on our sun beds and in the plunge pool enjoying the fantastic views. Found the staff all very happy, helpful and friendly. The only thing about the whole stay we didn't like was the Monday night seafood bbq as it wasn't to our liking. WiFi was as good as in Australia. Would definately come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Jason B,

thank you so very much for your fantastic review of our resort.
We are excited that you enjoyed yourself greatly and hope that you will be back soon.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    511
    167
    84
    34
See reviews for
97
1,071
50
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had chosen cape sienna for a simple reason - the website pictures show that it is so clean and modern that I will not have fear of having uninvited guests at the balcony or along the corridor. I'm referring to lizards! I read many mixed reviews on cape sienna and eventually decided to give it a shot upon some ongoing room promo and it is too hard to resist their 1-for-1 spa promo for any 90mins massage!

As usual, I would like to share on the positive works of cape sienna.

1. Friendly concierge who helped with the bags. Though it came late to the room but the service staff was apologetic about the delay.

2. The magnificent sea view upon exiting the lift lobby was awesome! It was just WOW!

3. Room facing the sea - relaxing at the balcony catching the sunset everyday was just sweet!

4. Room service - try their sea bass, red snapper, vegetarian pizza, Thai noodles, chicken wrapper, sienna club - pricey but acceptable standard. I would rate their food 7/10, though I felt the selection could be further improved and waiting time as well.

5. Breakfast buffet - egg white omelette upon request was nicely done. Scrambled eggs, mashed potato, porridge, all tasty and ya, someone reviewed about their frozen yogurt - please ask the staff for it as it wasn't displayed as it will probably melt at room temp. Try it and add more cornflakes! Heavenly. Lucky if you get to try the mango flavour.

6. BBQ mon night at 790baht nett per pax was also about 7/10. Lack of selection and prawns took a long time to be cooked because most of us were waiting for it hence, the supply wasnt enough to meet our needs. Chef wasn't exactly friendly either. Likewise the guy who prepared the eggs wasn't friendly too but showed his friendliness towards a caucasian elderly. That's bad.

7. Balance spa massage was good but I think they did not fulfil 90mins of massage, the session ended probably ten mins earlier. The therapists and overall ambience was good - worth a try.

Ok things to improve on...

1. The basin! Bad move! It just wets the entire area with the design or the water pressure?

2. The tv channels Limited and MTV channel frequency was awful. DVD selection was disappointing too! I'm sure you can do better.

3. Distance to kamala beach was about 15mins walk - not suited for those that do not like to walk.

4. Receptionist was not friendly - sometimes they appear restless and lack of energy.

5. Long walk to the room block 5, didn't know there was a shortcut via block 3.

6. Not sure what was the scent selection during check in was about as we didn't get any scent refilled in our room?

Nothing major but hope you can improve on the above mentioned.

Meanwhile, thank you for having the no children in your premise policy.

Thank you.

Room Tip: Sea view for sunset and suntan if you don't mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taitaijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Taitaijane,

thank you for your recent review. We are most happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do appreciate your candid criticism and will definitely take your comments to our head department meetings to improve further.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Large hotel located on cliffs above the Andamman sea. Spectacular location. Rooms, restaurants, skybar (wonderful at sunset!) pools and other facilities are all very nice and well maintained. The staff is young but very polite and accomodating.

We stayed for 4 nights and will be very happy to come back - on one condition: the hotel myst upgrade the wifi/internet quality. All the time we struggled a lot to send and receive mails (yahoo, gmail). Friends abroad asked why we not answered their mails, which we did of course but never received in the other end. Really frustrating and potentially damaging to business relations etc for important, nontramferred, mails.
Had to log into the wifi repeatedly, at least 25 times. Nobody at reception had any explanation. Our friends (we were a party of 7 people) experienced similar situations. Completely unacceptable. This is the reason I have graded "services" with the low grade of 2.
Other services are excellent so I am sorry to have to downgrade the oberall impression!
Fix it - we are not living in the stoneage any longer!
Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sture442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Sture442,

thank you very much for your review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
At the time of your stay we indeed were in the progress of upgrading our wifi/internet connection, this however has caused some slow periods, yet now we all fully up and all seems well.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
www.capesienna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed 9 nights in March 2013. Big rooms decorated very well, beds are large and comfortable. Views from all over hotel are amazing, looking over Andaman sea and Kamala. Housekeeping very good. Vanila sky bar lovely place to watch sunsets. Really good choice of food for breakfasts. Reception staff speak good English and are helpful. Chilled music in background and designer lighting help to make this hotel a great place to stay. Near enough to town of Kamala about 15 minute walk to beach and bars etc. We would stay again if we go back to Kamala.

Room Tip: Higher floors less road noise and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliesmum480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Elliesmum480,

Thank you so much for your very nice review.
We are most happy you enjoyed yourself with us.

Looking forward to Welcome you back to Cape Sienna soon.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a second trip to Cape Sienna. We loved it the first time and rebooked straight away for the following year. I put in a special request to stay in the same room and we were really pleased that Cape Sienna were able to accommodate this.

It's always interesting to read these reviews and I would say that we certainly concur with all the positive comments. From the room, view, check in experience, pools, cocktails and food...all were superb.

This time we hired a motorbike from Kamala which made a big difference popping down to the beach and back.

Thank you Cape Sienna for another great holiday and hope to see you next year.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank StevePColes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear StevePColes,

thank you very much for your great review of our resort and much obliged that you concur with the many positives guests write about us.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Cape Sienna soon,

Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This place has grown on me - at first I was a little perturbed that it wasn't ON the beach, and that my balcony has too much road noise, but all in all, it's been a great place for the 6 days I've been here. Lovely pools, four restaurants with good food, excellent massages and great location - close enough to Kamala Beach, Patong, the jungle and all the other stuff, yet set apart enough to provide some space. I liked that it isn't a big corporate hotel - I stay at enough of those when I travel for work. The staff is super friendly. Okay - they never replenish the mini-bar but hey, there is free wi-fi throughout the hotel. Great experience overall.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgrrl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear travelgrrl12,

thank you so much for your positive review of our resort.
We are very happy you enjoyed yourself with us.

looking forward to Welcome you back to Cape Sienna soon,

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

There were 4 of us going on a 1 week sports trip. We stayed at Cape Sienna, which was a really good choice made. My friend and I went for a Jacuzzi deluxe room, which was worth the AUD20 more per night. Unrestricted ocean views from a large balcony. The room was huge and comfy. The complimentary fruit basket upon arrival is a bit of a joke - a plate with an apple and an orange - but that's not to be judged. The only negative I'd say is the non existing privacy of the bathroom: it has no door and shower and toilet are behind frosted glass. The sink looks stylish, but is built in a very unfortunate angle, so that the water splashes on you when opening the tap. The drains are blocking very quickly as well in the sink and the shower. I had a look at the normal rooms which are ok too. Every evening a room attendant will light a light with aromatic oil (they will ask you at check-in which aroma you like) in the room, which is very lovely. Breakfast is included in the room rate and the selection is great. Breakfast is served at the pool restaurant facing the pool and sundeck and as well the ocean. The restaurant also serves lunch and we never had a dish which was disappointing. The Thai selection is amazing and really good food. The room rate included free internet, however this was annoyingly slow to non existent. Also included is a 45min free Thai massage at the Spa, which is just above the pool. The relaxing music goes very well with the wide ocean. The treatment is very professional and we went back for some more massages, and they were all worth the money. If you prefer to get a cheap basic massage Kamala Beach is just 10 minutes walk and they offer massages at the beach for just under 300THB. Cape Siennas own restaurant Plum serves good Italian food. Every day there is another offer for dinner either at Plum or the Pool Restaurant. We ust did teh Thai Night which was very lovely with traditional music and dancer. Vanilla Sky is the Cocktail Bar on the roof top of the main building and serves damn good cocktails (try burnt pineapple & ginger!) in a relaxing atmosphere we enjoyed very much. The staff up there are really looking after you..and there is the view again. Sienna Rocks is a Terrace across the road where the villas are. 2 Infinity Pools open up over the rocks to the ocean. The bar serves teh same drinks and food as the Pool Bar in the main complex. Here you will find it's a bit quieter than up there. Happy hour starts here at 3PM, which is 2for1 for all drinks except champagne. If you want to go for a non-alcohol drink the mixed juices are amazing!
Pool towels are provided by the hotel.
The place also has a well equipped gym and a tennis court on the roof of building 4, which we used a couple of times for a hit at sunset.
The hotel offers a free shuttle down to Kamala Beach, but it's a 10 minutes walk to the little village and the beach, just be careful with the roads as there are no side walks. Just next door is Silk restaurant and Rockfish, if you are keen for a change. They are both very nice.
Whilst there is so much positive to say about the place, we were utterly disappointed by the service at Reception. Check in was very slow and the guy didn't understand our questions and didn't really explain anything well. During the time of our stay every time we asked for something to be done/delivered it seemed hard work to get the message through and took forever to get what we asked for and we weren't the only guests with this problem. The language barrier was one issue as the staff seemed to struggle with English. But on the other side they seemed not really interested in us but rather themselves. Unfortunately they only jumped into action when we became angry with them, which shouldn't be the case.
House keeping didn't seem to understand their own rules changing the towels - even though we didn't put ours on they took them away...and forgot to provide us with new ones. So we would find our room without towels after a day on sweating in the humidity and dying for a shower. This never happened again after we got a bit angry at reception though.
Last but not least: it's not a family place. Children are not really welcome here and the hotel doesn't provide any facilities for them. Hence it is a very relaxing and quiet place, ideal for a couple holiday or just for friends, who want to escape the real world for a bit. We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: go for the Jacuzzi deluxe room. It is on the top floor with unrestricted views and the room is doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dittmara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Dittmara,

thank you so much for your very detailed review of our resort.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate your candid criticism on the points you raised. We shall definitely look at them and make them points in our ongoing staff training.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Cape Sienna.

With Best Regards,
frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.9 mi away
Keemala
Keemala
#9 of 36 in Kamala
234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
14.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas

Property: Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Address: 18/40 Moo 6, Nakalay Road | Tambon Kamala, A. Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#7 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#10 Family Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Sienna is a new chic modern resort that brings sophisticated style of city living to the tropical beauty of Phuket. Designed as a retreat for the urbane cosmopolitan, the sleek accommodations and restaurants are all positioned to command stunning sea views from a dramatic west coast headland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Sienna Hotel And Villas
Cape Sienna Resort
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing