We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location, great staff and excellent dining facilities…”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Stunning location, great staff and excellent dining facilities…”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Cape Sienna is located on the hill above the sea and offers from almost all locations a unparalleled view over the Kamala bay. We spent 7 nights there and enjoyed it very much. The hotel is lively and still offers enough space to have a relaxing day at the pool (with different options). But it is recommendable to rent a car, in order to be able to get around quickly and see a bit of the island.

What impressed us most, is the outstandingly well trained staff. We met wonderful people that really enjoy to work in hospitality business. We especially would like to mention Yut, the guest relation manager that was always around and besides helping with information, still enjoyed to share a personal word with many people. And also Sorn, the host at Vanilla Sky Bar and Restaurant Plum, impressed us with his knowledge, humor and off very attentive service. The food and beverage at the Cape Sienna is much better than in many other hotels with similar rating in Phuket.

Only point, that should be maybe looked at, is the air-conditioning system – quite noisy and difficult the adjust right. Further there are some small maintenance details that should maybe looked at with a bit more attentiveness.

But nevertheless, this is a really recommendable place to enjoy holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZrhWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear ZrhWorldtraveller,

thank you so very much for your extensive review and your kind comments. Your time writing it is greatly appreciated.
Very glad you had a good time here and that you felt that our staff did a great job, especially Yut and Sorn, who are truly ambassadors of our resort.

We surely are always trying to keep maintenance under control and continue our effort to always keep the resort fresh.

Once again thank you for your review and hope we can welcome you back at Cape Sienna rather sooner than later.

With Best Regards,
frank Dreist - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    492
    161
    84
    34
See reviews for
90
1,042
48
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Staying at Cape Sienna was the best choice we could have made for our first visit to Phuket. It is away from the hussle and bussle of Patong but still has some great options for dining, shopping etc in Kamala. The resort caters well for those guests looking for a quiet place to relax, enjoy a cocktail etc. Our favorite place in the resort was the Rocks. The pool is amazing and was deserted most of the time we were there. The staff were always friendly and helpful. We stayed in a C View Delux Room with the spa bath but did not use the bath at all so probably would not get it again.

Room Tip: Higher floors would be better so you don't see the room top or power lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bex06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Bex06,

thank you very much for your time to review our resort.

We are delighted that you felt Cape Sienna was the Best choice you could have made and that you enjoyed yourself and your first time in Phuket greatly.

We do hope to be able to Welcome you back as one of our many returning customers.

With Best Regards,
Frank Dreist - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

stay here for 4 nights, this is a fantastic hotel with fantastic seaview, the staff services is magnificent, 6 star i would say. price is reasonable and worth paying. buffett dinner can be a little bit better. but it is still very good, rent a bike and ride around the town, this is the best way to travel and explore the island. just pay a little bit more and get a bigger bike, it will help.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jameschoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Jameschoo,

thank you very much for your kind review, it is much appreciated.
I was very happy to read that you have greatly enjoyed your stay here.

We definitely try our Best to 'Cape' it up....

Best Regards,
Frank Dreist - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late at night to cape Siena and felt a little underwhelmed, to start with we had asked for room in building 2 and also mentioned that it was our honeymoon, which hadn't been acknowledged. We'd booked many months in advance and so assumed we would get a room where requested.

However upon waking the next morning. to the beautiful view and subsequently seeing the beautiful sunset from our balcony each night thereafter we decided that we'd been done a favor being given a room in building 6.

The matching fragranced toiletries is a nice touch and we enjoyed this.

Each morning we enjoyed the view, the good food and the relaxed atmosphere of the breakfast buffet, which had a great range and was well prepared,

We also made it a habit to attend Vanilla Sky bar each night for happy hour cocktails, the cocktails are great, the staff excellent and the view great.

We did have room service a few times (not something we usually indulge in as we usually prefer to get out of the hotel and explore the surrounds), it was just so nice being in our room, sitting on the balcony and relaxing, we found it hard to get out of the room at times. The room service was quick and delicious.

Siena Rocks is a great place to while away the hours either by the pool watching the view of the ocean over the infinity pool or in the pool.

The location of Cape Siena is good, depending on what you are after, don't expect the crowds, bars and restaurants of patong, Kamala is much quieter (especially in off season) and the options are more limited. However, it's only a short walk to the beach where there are some great (and low key) dining options.

the local taxis do have a monopoly, the rule is that taxi drivers are designated certain areas (from what we could make out) and you can only take taxi's designated to operate from the areas ( there have also been reports of drivers from other areas being beaten up or terrorized for picking up fares not in their designated areas). What concerned us the most about the taxi's in the area was that they just looked like cars rather than official taxis so it was hard to know if they were legit. Don't pay more than 400baht to get from Kamala to patong (or back), we caught our own taxi from the airport to cape Siena and paid 500baht, but were quoted 800-1000baht to get to the airport or 1300 baht by the hotel. Which seemed a bit rich in comparison.

Overall, I would definitely recommend cape Siena, we loved the relaxing atmosphere, the fact that there were no children running around, our beautiful room. We had a basic room, all the rooms face the ocean and should have a view, I would recommend a high room though so that there is less chance of the view being obstructed by trees or power lines. You can upgrade the room to a jacuzzi, however w felt that sine we never use the jacuzzi at home there was really no point in doing so.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wabeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Wabeachbum,

thank you very much for your detailed review of our resort, it is much appreciated.
We indeed try to always grant the requests for rooms if possible and can only apologize for not being able to do so in your case as we had very high occupancy during that time. Happy to notice that you liked building 6 all the same.
Hope to be able to welcome you again here in Cape Sienna in the near future.
Best Regards,
Frank Dreist - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I will try and remain constructive on this review as I do seek a certain standard of hotel and understand that every hotel can make unfortunate service issues during your stay.

The rooms were the worst part of our stay, ok we had just come from the Shore (which will be reviewed later, but amazing) the rooms were worn out with rust on balcony,cracks all down walls the furniture scratch after scratch, it was like a room that I used to stay in when in Greece in my teens, even the rooms are in blocks, it just isn't 5 star and so many better hotels in Phuket!

I really would like to get the management to explain where the 5 star was given, I just don't see it? I only stay in 5 star hotels and this isn't one maybe 3 star plus! We stayed at W hotel that's 5 star in Bangkok, if this is classed the same then my dads Barack Obama!!

The service I will not comment on as we had a run of issues with them and this may have been just bad luck, even though we requested laundry to be picked up 2 times it wasn't, even though cleaner even wrote it down and no turn down service done on 1st night.

On a more positive note Vanilla sky is nice and plum restaurant gorgeous, service by staff is spot on as you would expect, the pool in main area is ok, food in main area nice, beers are overpriced we even saw two old people pouring alcohol into their drinks, never see this when stay at trendy 5 star hotels in London or New York???

kids do stay here and are not over 12, mainly groups stay here and we have stayed in around 10 hotels in Thailand this hotel for some reason is full of retired people which I have no problem with but it was like staying at a retirement home? This just isn't a boutique hotel it's trying to be even though great restaurant and bar are but the rooms and crowd and pools aren't, Sienna rocks isn't what people say, god they need to get out more...it's a nice little area that gets no sun and needs a good tidy as away from main hotel and not looked after.

We checked out early after New Year's Eve party (food and show good and rest ok...Indigo pearl the best for this see my review.

To summarise not 5 star, not trendy (apart from bar and restaurant) needs a good lick of paint and stop advertising no kids and maybe add over 50s? Terrible place just expected the website to be more accurate as its just not what is says itbis, its same same like 5 star but very different to coin a phrase!!

Good but could and should be better!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here look at better hotels which are in better shape ! Rooms let the place down!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ben010177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Ben 010177,

thank you for your constructive review.
We are of course saddened that we could not live up to your expectations and I will definitely look into your comments about the rooms, as we are touching our rooms up every year and it is a continuous task.

However, I would like to mention in all fairness that we do not advertise our hotel as 5 star, but rather 4 1/2 (you can look at the rating at Expedia), however I do understand that they are website which put 5 stars as they don't have 1/2 star systems.
I would agree with you that the range of hotels you can find with 5 star rating is huge, actually too huge. The hotels you mentioned and you compare us with: The Shore (an all villa property) and even the new W Bangkok are certainly more than 5 star, as you have Hiltons and regular Sheratons in the 5 star category as well.
The Shore of course is also very much differently priced as us and this reflects of course what you get. (our villas would probably a better comparison than our regular rooms with The Shore). Even the Indigo Pearl is priced quite a bit higher than us.

To our customer mix: I would say it really is quite mixed and depends very much on time of the year you come, etc. Over the top peak period (New Year) we do get a good number of guests from Scandinavia which escape the cold winter and those guests are in all age range.

Thank you for your kind comments about our Vanilla Skybar and PLUM restaurant.

With Best Regards,
Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The positives-
1. lovely infinity pool at sienna rocks, small but still..
2. Quiet location near Kamala beach
3. Nice views
4. Clean, modern rooms

The negatives:
1. The service- very impersonal. housekeeping does a shoddy job and sometimes doesn't do turn down service.However, late one night we called housekeeping for a cable to connect our ipod and they really went out of their way and came back with speakers. so i guess its luck of the draw!
2. a ten-fifteen minute walk to the beach
3. Vanilla Sky Bar - while a great view- we waited an hour for our tapas.
4. The rooms are oridinary modern rooms- nothing special

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the perfect hotel for a perfect vacation for couples. Stunning views from the room, pool, restaurant skybar. Very nice and friendly staff. Homely feeling. Would gladly go back there any day. Very affordable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Anita1952,

thank you very much for your time reviewing our resort.

We were well pleased to read that you enjoyed yourself at Cape Sienna and found it "just perfect".

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Best Regards,
Frank Dreist - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.9 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas

Property: Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Address: 18/40 Moo 6, Nakalay Road | Tambon Kamala, A. Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#6 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#10 Family Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Sienna is a new chic modern resort that brings sophisticated style of city living to the tropical beauty of Phuket. Designed as a retreat for the urbane cosmopolitan, the sleek accommodations and restaurants are all positioned to command stunning sea views from a dramatic west coast headland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Sienna Hotel And Villas
Cape Sienna Resort
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing