We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather pretentious for Thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Rather pretentious for Thailand”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is the first vaguely negative review I have written for trip advisor. It wasn't that the hotel was no good but for the price we expected more. The room was nice a spacious but no hanging rail. There was a pillow menu but upon asking for a change of pillow it was "no longer availble" - don't put a menu in the room then!
There was a shuttle to Patong each eve but as it only held 10 or 11 there was no guarantee of a place. The cost of a taxi is 500 baht one way.
Breakfast was good and varied.
Despite what the web site says there were under 12's there, admittedly not in the pool though.
As for cleanliness this was no where near as good as most Thai hotels - a cotton bud on the stair case to our room was there for three days.
The massage was good and ok value as it was two for price of one at the time we were there.
On asking about transport to our next resort we were told to go on into the town and organise it ourselves, something we have never been told before in this country.
I would not return here but it might be for you if you like the more designer side of Thailand with a pool being the centre of your holiday.

Room Tip: The spa bath room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladyawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    506
    167
    84
    34
See reviews for
93
1,068
50
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed a number of times at this hotel and it is a little unconventional with reception on the first floor with stunning views over Kamala Bay. Rooms are nicely appointed with the usual amenities. No bath in the room, but shower is large with rainwater shower and standard shower. Most rooms have views. Breakfast selection is good & area overlooks the pool. Rooms are of a good size and you do not hear any noise from other rooms. Downside is that you are not on the beach and the hotel only offers a shuttle bus service to Patong in the afternoon. Worth a stay. No kids under 12 so if you are looking for a romantic hotel, you can't go wrong with this one.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AUSBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Cape Sienna Mid October 2012 for 9 nights in a ocean view room. The Hotel is nicely located with some awesome views over Kamala Beach. Hotel staff were very good and always happy to help. The hotel is located up on the side of the headland so is a little walk down to the beach but my wife and I never found this to be a problem. Good restaurants located along Kamala Beach also a couple of good beach bars. Pools at the hotel are excellent with happy hour 2 for one at different times for the main pool and Sienna Rocks pool. Breakfast was of top standard and the dinner we had at Plum Restaurant was fantastic with the setting and view to match. This being our 3rd trip to Phuket we found Kamala to be a little quiet this time of year but it is only a short taxi or tuk tuk ride from Patong to do some bar hoping and shopping. We had a little bit of trouble with getting picked up by our transfer driver when departing this hotel due to the taxi operators next to the hotel entrance not allowing them to collect us but the staff at Cape Sienna just drove us in there own vehicle. Very professional approach by the staff was greatly appreciated by my wife and I. We would highly recommend staying at Cape Sienna and we both will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff1691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had stayed in Kamala a few times previously and thought it was time to finish our 2 weeks in the greater Phuket/Krabi area with a change. As soon as we reached the lobby with the huge glass windows and the view over the bay, we were impressed. Friendly staff with a towel and welcoming drink and quick check in. Then shown to a nice sized room with a spectacular view, and comfortable seats on the balcony. The room had all the normal features plus a couch and coffee table and excellent lighting to read which is suprisingly rare even in good hotels. I agree with some comments that the pool was a bit close to the restaurant area and that the ' rocks ' iinfinity pool is quiet and relaxing.
Some of the previous comments about breakfast puzzle us-we thought there was an excellent selection- either pre cooked or by order, with good museli , delicious croissants and breads and fruit. At lunch it was also good quality. What annoyed me was the extremely high mark up on water, beer etc -4-5 times at least. So probably like most others coming back from the beach we stopped at the 7 -eleven down the road for a bottle of cold wine or beer to finish the day on our balcony. Its a15 minute walk to the beach which we enjoy for swimming and walking right to the very end to have a cheap local lunch at the Pakarang cafe with good food and a friendly owner. Plenty of cheap eating and drinking places and lots of massage beds and beach chairs to rent for 50bht. Also plenty of choice for dining at night on the road behind the beach and we thought Basilico for Italian was very good - especially the lasagne.
We had one night at low season and 2 nights at high season which was quite an increase in price. If you want to walk out your hotel room right on to a sandy beach then this isnt for you. But if you dont mind a short 15 minute walk to the beach or restaurants or hire a scooter as some have done, and you can enjoy relaxing by the pools or your room with a great view in a stylish hotel then this should be ideal.

Room Tip: Must have a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed here for 4 fabulous nights in a spa room and loved the whole experience. The views are sensational, both pools are situated looking out at the Andaman Sea and the service is excellent.
If you can afford to go to this hotel do... I don't think you'll be disappointed !!

Room Tip: the higher floors are probably have the best view but we were on the 3rd and still had good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorianGrey_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Reviewers,
over the past couple of months we have received so many positive reviews and of course some more critical ones. We are grateful for both and very much appreciate your time in writing to us.
It motivates us as well as gives us excellent feedback where there are areas of improvement necessary.
At the same time I also would like to announce that we have now changed all our mattresses as the comment of having rather stiff mattresses did come up a few times to many and we reacted by investing in very good Seally Royal Pillow mattresses, which are quite a bit softer, but still have the necessary stiffness in the center for guests with back issues in need of firm support.
We also have added a beautiful pool bar which gives our pool area and even nicer feel and more space for dining towards the sea.
Once again, thank you so much for all your lovely words of encouragement.
We are looking forward for many more great reviews.
With Best regards,
Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Cape Sienna was ultimately disappointing. Terrible... no. Disappointing...yes. The location is at least 5 miles from the beach. You can rent scooters down the road, but if you travel to Phuket my advice is find a place on the beach. When we arrived, our rooms had no view of the ocean and smelled as though the sewer system was leaking. The staff did move us to another room, which was appreciated.
They also had us pay for the entire amount of the room up front, which I thought was odd.
The pool was nice, but small. The breakfast was great.
I am sure you can find a better place for similar price on Phuket. Keep looking.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shalynn5284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We looked for so long for places to stay and came across this so happy we booked it! Everything was great! We hired a scooter so didn't have to pay for taxi but that's around 350 each way! The staff are friendly and helpful will 100% back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazzy2264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.9 mi away
Keemala
Keemala
#9 of 36 in Kamala
225 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.9 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
0.8 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas

Property: Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Address: 18/40 Moo 6, Nakalay Road | Tambon Kamala, A. Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#7 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#10 Family Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Sienna is a new chic modern resort that brings sophisticated style of city living to the tropical beauty of Phuket. Designed as a retreat for the urbane cosmopolitan, the sleek accommodations and restaurants are all positioned to command stunning sea views from a dramatic west coast headland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Sienna Hotel And Villas
Cape Sienna Resort
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing