We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cape Sienna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Cape Sienna”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had stayed in Kamala a few times previously and thought it was time to finish our 2 weeks in the greater Phuket/Krabi area with a change. As soon as we reached the lobby with the huge glass windows and the view over the bay, we were impressed. Friendly staff with a towel and welcoming drink and quick check in. Then shown to a nice sized room with a spectacular view, and comfortable seats on the balcony. The room had all the normal features plus a couch and coffee table and excellent lighting to read which is suprisingly rare even in good hotels. I agree with some comments that the pool was a bit close to the restaurant area and that the ' rocks ' iinfinity pool is quiet and relaxing.
Some of the previous comments about breakfast puzzle us-we thought there was an excellent selection- either pre cooked or by order, with good museli , delicious croissants and breads and fruit. At lunch it was also good quality. What annoyed me was the extremely high mark up on water, beer etc -4-5 times at least. So probably like most others coming back from the beach we stopped at the 7 -eleven down the road for a bottle of cold wine or beer to finish the day on our balcony. Its a15 minute walk to the beach which we enjoy for swimming and walking right to the very end to have a cheap local lunch at the Pakarang cafe with good food and a friendly owner. Plenty of cheap eating and drinking places and lots of massage beds and beach chairs to rent for 50bht. Also plenty of choice for dining at night on the road behind the beach and we thought Basilico for Italian was very good - especially the lasagne.
We had one night at low season and 2 nights at high season which was quite an increase in price. If you want to walk out your hotel room right on to a sandy beach then this isnt for you. But if you dont mind a short 15 minute walk to the beach or restaurants or hire a scooter as some have done, and you can enjoy relaxing by the pools or your room with a great view in a stylish hotel then this should be ideal.

Room Tip: Must have a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    499
    163
    84
    34
See reviews for
91
1,057
49
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed here for 4 fabulous nights in a spa room and loved the whole experience. The views are sensational, both pools are situated looking out at the Andaman Sea and the service is excellent.
If you can afford to go to this hotel do... I don't think you'll be disappointed !!

Room Tip: the higher floors are probably have the best view but we were on the 3rd and still had good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorianGrey_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Reviewers,
over the past couple of months we have received so many positive reviews and of course some more critical ones. We are grateful for both and very much appreciate your time in writing to us.
It motivates us as well as gives us excellent feedback where there are areas of improvement necessary.
At the same time I also would like to announce that we have now changed all our mattresses as the comment of having rather stiff mattresses did come up a few times to many and we reacted by investing in very good Seally Royal Pillow mattresses, which are quite a bit softer, but still have the necessary stiffness in the center for guests with back issues in need of firm support.
We also have added a beautiful pool bar which gives our pool area and even nicer feel and more space for dining towards the sea.
Once again, thank you so much for all your lovely words of encouragement.
We are looking forward for many more great reviews.
With Best regards,
Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Cape Sienna was ultimately disappointing. Terrible... no. Disappointing...yes. The location is at least 5 miles from the beach. You can rent scooters down the road, but if you travel to Phuket my advice is find a place on the beach. When we arrived, our rooms had no view of the ocean and smelled as though the sewer system was leaking. The staff did move us to another room, which was appreciated.
They also had us pay for the entire amount of the room up front, which I thought was odd.
The pool was nice, but small. The breakfast was great.
I am sure you can find a better place for similar price on Phuket. Keep looking.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shalynn5284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We looked for so long for places to stay and came across this so happy we booked it! Everything was great! We hired a scooter so didn't have to pay for taxi but that's around 350 each way! The staff are friendly and helpful will 100% back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazzy2264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Check in simple, cool drink and towel.. Done in under 20 mins.. We arrived later in the evening so it was dark when we got to our room so we weren't able to appreciate the view until morning.. Amazing View.. From all areas of hotel.

Pros and cons

Big selection for breakfast though not mind blowing. Asian and western options but taste not so great.. Also had two lunches and a dinner there nothing too exciting..
Plum restaurant it was ok, I've eaten in plenty of hatted restaurants in Sydney an agree it is silver service, the food was definatly better than food on the streets but I didn't think it met with the hype, it was average and I wouldn't recommend going..
Shuttle bus into patong yet unable to get on it. So that was annoying.. Only $400bht for taxi into town. Suggest hiring moped from kamala only $500bht 24 hours and they can pick it up from the hotel. So handy..
Big shower yet not enough water pressure..
Sink in bathroom spits lots of water at you.
No serated knives in poolside restaurant.
Pool right adjacent eating area.. So if your in the pool people are directly looking at you..
Siena rocks pool *HEAVEN* loved it so much.. We went there early twice and the pool chairs weren't set up and had to walk back up the hill to get towels..
Room service was great and they had an evening turn down service.. And on the final night was given a incense burner with some lemongrass incense.. Delightful..
Staff were willing to help when asked but they were not very friendly in my opinion..
It would be nice if there was a pillow menu as both pillows lack neck support an the posture pedic pillow given on request was very very hard..

So would I come back? No. Not for any major reason other than trying somewhere new perhaps near Kata noi beach as it was superb.. The whole ambience of cape sienna didn't quite live up to the dream I had pictured.. I understand why it may of had the most romantic hotel in the world according to TA in 2010 and I understand why it doesn't now..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenpawcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

the trip is a birthday celebration for my fiance. i have been emailing Cape Sienna for some request on booking the plum restaurant, getting the perfect room, surprising fiance with oh a complimentary birthday cake! One of the staff at plum restaurant even sang a birthday song while surprising the cake for my fiance.They gave prompt reply for the emails. Thank you for that. From the start that we were there, everythin seems perfect for our Rest n Relax vacation.Things go smoothly as planned n we were happy. There's only two flaws that i wanna share. Firstly, room service is not prompt.i have to call twice to remind the things that i asked for have not been sent. it happened twice. Secondly, the hotel is up the hill n 7mins walk to 7eleven. u might need a motorbike rental..Very cheap. 200baht for 24hrs. Another reccommendation for nearby restaurant called "rock Fish". its oooh lala.very nice dishes there too if u wanna try besides plum restaurant.i will definitely miss the food too.Overall my stay with cape sienna is memorable one.especially the breathtaking view.so relaxing.will return one day for that,

Room Tip: higher floor has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ledja989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

After reading online that this place is rated as one of the most romantic resorts in the world, my husband and I booked it for 2 nights to bring in my birthday.

We had informed them about our schedule and arrival time but were made to wait for almost an hour to check in.The room we were given had a beautiful view,peaceful and soothing to the eyes. The balcony and the jacuzzi outside were the best part of the room. The bathroom was ok but the sink area and the shower had a lot of ants crawling around. The mattress was a little hard and we requested for a cover. The mattress cover was stinking bad, the staff attributed it to the duck feathered covers. Personally, the covers felt a little damp to me and seemed like they haven't been aired. Requested them to take it away, which made the mattress a little hard but at least it wasn't stinking anymore.

Location is good only for the view. Kamla beach isn't great and its a 15 mins walk away. Pity that the hotel doesn't run shuttles to the beach like other hotels around were doing. Phuket city is a 15 min drive at least, and there is only one shuttle from the hotel, which is booked full whenever you ask them. The taxis outside the hotel try to fleece you. We walked to the kamala beach area and hired a bike, which is the best way to explore phuket! Wish the hotel would increase the frequency of shuttle service.

The breakfast menu offers you options, but most of it is tasteless and not cooked well.

My husband had asked for a cake to be delivered to the room , and he was annoyed that he had to keep reminding and requesting them throughout the day and it was delivered 12 hours later. Thank god they 'managed' to do it on the birthday night!!

The infinity pool is the best thing about the hotel and good to spend time in. Other than that Cape Sienna is definitely over rated, over priced, has bad service and is a complete letdown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vandy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.9 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas

Property: Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Address: 18/40 Moo 6, Nakalay Road | Tambon Kamala, A. Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#6 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#10 Family Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Sienna is a new chic modern resort that brings sophisticated style of city living to the tropical beauty of Phuket. Designed as a retreat for the urbane cosmopolitan, the sleek accommodations and restaurants are all positioned to command stunning sea views from a dramatic west coast headland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Sienna Hotel And Villas
Cape Sienna Resort
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing