We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Pe La Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pe La Resort
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We loved our stay at this smaller resort.
+ Big apartments
+ Just a few steps and you were out by the pool or the restaurant.
+ Lovely pool-area with several sunbeds/umbrellas and pool-toys to play with
+ quiet part of Kamala
+ less than 5minutes walk to bigC or 1minute to a combined small store/laundry place just opposite the hotell
+ excellent cleaning staff, they even did our washing (certaintly not expected that) and when my spouse had his birthday the bed was made up very beautiful with lots a rose-petals
+ restaurant served very tasty meals both Thai and others
+/- breakfast (I´m so used to get buffé breakfast when in Thailand and I understand they don´t do it here because of only 20rooms OK + is that when you get your BF it´s very fresh, - not so much to choose between
+/- distance to beach (on the plus they offer transportation a couple of times during the day to the beach (and did extra turnes if they had the time, actually it wasn´t too far to walk (about 10minutes)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evelinaNybro_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrroyalembassyresort, Front Office Manager at The Pe La Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you very much your review and great to hear you loved your stayed with us. Thanks for this literally beautifully detailed review. I will surely share your compliments with our team .
I hope we will be able to host you and your family again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 377 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

We are a family of 5 from Norway/New Zealand. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom, self contained apartments. The room was spacious, light and very clean. The cleaning staff were outstanding, even doing all our washing up every day! Access to the pools and restaurant from any of the rooms is very handy as there are only 20 rooms. This also is a bonus as the resort is not crowded. Food from the restaurant is of a very high standard, with fantastic carved vegetables and good service. (Although it does take some time between ordering and actually recieving your food). The staff are all very friendly and accommodating. Because it's a fairly small complex you get to know them quite well :-). It's not really in walking distance to the beach, but this is not a problem as the resort has a free shuttle back and forth daily. A big thanks to Phill, Angel, We and the rest of the staff for the great birthday party they helped organize for Josefine (our 8 year old). If we are ever in Phuket again we will definitely stay here again. It is not a 5 star resort, but it is very good value for money, and the whole package puts it at the 5 star level!

Room Tip: Talked to other guests... and everyone was happy with there room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 852Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrroyalembassyresort, Front Office Manager at The Pe La Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an extensive and beautiful review .Thanks for all the compliments about our property and especially about the service. I will surely share your feedback with our team. It very pleasure to hear that Joesfine had a great birthday with our helped organized.

All our team very appreciative to know that you will definitely stay with us again,when you get chance to have holidays in Phuket for next time. We are looking forward to see ,welcome you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at this very good resort in July. We stayed 2 week in a 2 bedrom appartment and 1 weekend in a 1bedrom appartment. Both types of apparments are very nice with good space for families.
The atmosphere off the place are very cosy,clean and makes it a calm and relaxing place.
Due to the size of the resort you get to know the staff and owners very good. That means you will get good service all the time. The shuttle bus to and from the beach is an fantastisk offer from the resort.
Thanks to Phil and the staff for making this an excelent stay for us.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Eirik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrroyalembassyresort, Front Office Manager at The Pe La Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a nice and complimenting review! It is great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your holiday so much with us and you do happy with our both rooms. All our staff have been tried hard to get our value guests got impression and happy for holidays at Royal Embassy Resort.

When you get chance to holiday in Phuket in next future ,hope you consider to stay with us again. All our staff always welcome you and your family back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I decided to stay at the royal embassy for a few days rather than start in the more lively Patong resort.The hotel itself is really nice with a lovely pool and gardens. I had a villa to myself and i could not find fault with it. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Yurida who took care of my booking and Phil the owner was real gent.However the hotel is a bit of a walk to the beach, which can be a drawback in such a hot and humid climate.The resort itself seemed very quiet, maybe because it was low season but i was hoping for better nightlife.In my opinion if you want a relaxing holiday this is the place for you but if you want beach and good entertainment at night maybe look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Can highly recommend the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrroyalembassyresort, Front Office Manager at The Pe La Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you very much for your nice feedback and compliments of our hotel and our staff. It is fantastic to hear that you do like our room and place. Regarding walking to the beach,it takes 10 to 15 mins by walk to nice spot beach, anyway we have free shuttle bus to the beach from 10.30 am to 5.00 pm ,just request at the reception desk for service. Our resort is good for who want a relaxing holidays and good for family holidays as in Kamala Beach is much quiester than Patong but if some nights you wish to have a good entertainment at night ,we have taxi service to Patong cost 400 THB for one way ( maximum 4 people ).

If you wish to have a holidays in Phuket in the future,hope you decide to stay with us again,always welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed for 8 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment with our 2 children. The resort is small and friendly and the staff are very helpful. The rooms were clean and quite spacious and the air conditioning worked well. The bathroom was ok - the shower is in an awkward position and always made the floor wet. Toiletries could have been replenished more often.

The pool was nice, and right outside our door - very convenient, although the water turned green on day but was promptly fixed by the pool guys.

The food in the restaurant was good value and tasty - the free breakfast had a good selection of western and Thai food. The air conditioning was never on in the restaurant (just ceiling fans) and it did get a bit steamy and warm on occasion.

The hotel is located at the Patong end of Kamala - about a 5 minute walk from the beach and within easy reach of shops (Big C supermarket is close by) and on the weekend the markets are right behind the resort - very colourful.

Overall the resort was good value for money, comfortable and welcoming.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank wogface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, Manager at The Pe La Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for your constructive review and your kind comments. You are the second reviewer this month to comment on the toiletries, so I had a talk with our housekeepers and one of them said, she sometimes may forget to check on a daily basis, so has now assured me, she will check daily,, so thank you for bringing it to my attention. Regarding the shower,, we are going to place the shower rose on the side wall, so the water points away from the shower entrance and if that does not work, we will trial a shower curtain. We have looked at installing shower doors, but we have decided to go with a curtain first, as is more cost effective and gives privacy, should anyone else come into the bathroom when the shower is in use. We do not use the air con in the restaurant, because we would have to close all the bi fold doors, shutters and windows, that absolutely ruins the ambiance of the restaurant. They humidity really is only for a short period of time, as once the rainy season is over, we get a lovely breeze from the ocean on most days. Excellent to know that that you had a good time and that you feel our resort represents 'good value for money," so thank you very much,
Phil Seal Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

After spending many weeks reviewing hotels, the Royal Embassy delivered in providing a very comfortable and relaxing stay for my wife and two boys (aged 6 & 8 years). Although the name implies a rather pretentious or grand hotel, the name couldn't be further from the truth! This is an intimate and authentic stay very well managed by the owner who gave us the impression that nothing was too much trouble. We stayed 2 nights in a villa which was perfectly adequate to accommodate all of us while also giving close access to one of the two pools. The hotel is located close to Kamala town and beach; we walked with the kids on each occasion, it only takes 10 minutes; the hotel also provides a shuttle service. The staff at the Royal Embassy were very friendly and accommodating in meeting our requests, we were treated like friends would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a family wanting a relaxing stay close to Kamala which is itself a very 'laid back' and away from the hustle and bustle of Patong. We also had a very good dinner in the hotel's Ambassador restaurant; the Thai and Western food was as good as any meal we had in Thailand over the two weeks.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank ParkinAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Many thanks for your review, fantastic to know we lived up to your expectations and that you had a relaxing holiday with us, My staff all work hard to try and ensure every guest when they leave has had a great time and had a happy holiday, it all helps with their motivation, when we get a review, such as yours. Our chef's also said to say thank you for your kind comments, they were really happy to know you rated their meals, as the best in the two weeks you were in Thailand, They both work extremely hard and go that extra mile, with the food presentation and quality in taste, I am very proud of them.
Hope to see you and your family back again one day
Kind regards
Phil Seal Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

- Great food.
- A great place to relax.( Quiet surrounding)
- Staff are all very friendly.
- Lots of space for children to play around.
- Big C supermarket near by. (10 minute walk)
- Provide a shuttle to and from the beach.
- Well-equipped kitchen.(Suitable for simple cooking)
- Arrange nice Thai massage after busy day.

Many thanks to the entire team at Royal Embassy for making our trip so nice during our stay in Phuket. (A1 room number)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank izkok07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you so much for your brief but informative review. Great to know we were able to contribute to making sure you had a pleasant holiday and that all that you my staff looked after you so well,
It is great motivation to them, when a guest takes the time to write a review to thank them, so it is much appreciated, Thank you Phil Seal Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamala hotels
1.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.2 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
0.4 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kamala Beach Estate
Kamala Beach Estate
#20 of 35 in Kamala
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wabi Sabi Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pe La Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pe La Resort

Address: 10 / 33 Moo 6, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Royal Embassy Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range: $126 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pe La Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pe La Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Embassy Resort And Spa
Royal Embassy Hotel Kamala
The Pe La Resort Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing