We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis in Kamala” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pe La Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Pe La Resort
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Adeje, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Oasis in Kamala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at Royal Embassy with Phil, Aree, Henri & their lovely team in January this year, what a wonderful experience for our 1st time in Asia! We had a Bungarlow which was delightful, just what we needed, relaxing & 2 steps from the chilled out pool. We visted the nearby beach during the day & took the shuttle tuktuk down every time. We walked into the main town most evenings where we experienced some delicious meals. However, the meals we had at the Resort were second to none, the chef there is a genious. We did a day trip to James Bond island & various others, which Phil reccommended, again what an experience, the crew were so attentive, the caves we visited were awesome. We will definitely visit again, thanks to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable! We would highly advise anyone who is going to Phuket to stay here!! Shirley & Steve

Room Tip: A Bungarlow for couples is perfect & there are apartments for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrroyalembassyresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing comments on our resort. It is so rewarding to me and to our staff, when we hear from a guests they had a wonderful time. enjoyed our food and our services. I am fortunate to have such a good team of people working for me and when we have a guest report saying how much they enjoyed their stay I pass it on to them and that really makes their day and continue to strive for excellence. Hope to see you back here again one day
Regards Phil Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    88
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
138
135
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clyde, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sorry this is a very overdue review... 2 years almost but it goes to show buy reading other reviews that Phil and Ari have gone from strenght to strenght.
We (2 adults and 2 children) stayed here just days after Phill took over the running off the complex. nothing was a problem for them,he and Ari made us all feel very welcome, especially our boys (who at the time were 2 & 4).
6 days of rain out of 7 and yet we managed to enjoy ourselfs and thanks to Phill and Ari we got to see alot, :-).
our room was clean and comfortable and well equipped and spaceious with a great view over the lovely looking pool.
The food was "yummy" as our oldest put it,and the kitchen staff were brillient in being able to come up with something the boys would eat and enjoy-thank you.
Over all a great, relaxing clean friendly place to stay, with a easy walk to the beach with a buggy/stroller...or the shuttle now.
one day we will be back Phill and Ari, thank you for a great stay :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jag1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalaresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Wow, for sure remember you, not only were your family one of the first guests we had ( purchased the lease on March 17th 2011) but also you were the first NZ guests, so will never forget you and your family. Thank you so much for your review and kind comments, we have worked hard to ensure all guests enjoy there stay with us and have spent a lot of time and money upgrading many facilities, so should you come back and stay with us again in the future, I am sure you would enjoy it even more. Aree remembers your children well, she said to say hi to them and that she thought they were so cute and polite. We have a pet white rabbit and Jasmine a white Pomeranian, that play together all the time, that most children are fascinated by. Once again thank you for your fantastic review, we are currently rated No 2 in Kamala on" tripadvisor", our goal is to be No1. Cheers for now Phil & Aree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here for two nights in March13' kamala is a lot smaller than the likes of patong but that's no bad thing in my opinion! The resort is located a few mins walk from the main road, there's a few bars and restaurants here but more down on beach front.
Loads of pool tables if you are into pool!

The beach is beautiful, the hotel is a bit away from the beach BUT does a shuttle to and from the beach a couple of times a day. It's only a small resort so It's quiet and relaxing. Supermarkets only 5mins away,The big C,Tesco lotus and the likes. The pools are lovely, its hilarious to see a rabbit hopping around the pool area.( at first I thought I was losing my mind!)

The apartment rooms are lovely. Yes as some people had mentioned before there was issues with the water. The shower ran hot and cold alot ( possibly just a thermostat gone?!) Nothing too dreadful. On occasion it was a strange colour.hopefully just some glitches in water system.
That will be sorted out!

Food was delicious, we didn't sample breakfast but if the dinner was anything to go by it was probably delicious!

Staff were nice, lovely young guy driving the shuttle mini van was lovely. All and all I would recommend this place if you are looking for a chilled out poolside holiday,and are prob to relaxation over rockin'
( oh and are a deep sleeper!) Cause that Muslim prayer speaker will WAKE YA!!

Nice place

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValConnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalaresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, loved the bit of Irish humor at the end, tis a sure way to miss the early morning prayers, spend time in one of the many local bars, to the wee small hours. The water problem that happened has been sorted and a new system will be installed by the end of next week, as a backup if there is a power cut or pump failure, which was the case during your stay, so very sorry for that. Good to know though that overall you have rated us excellent, so thank you so much, is very rewarding to us when we know our guests have enjoyed themselves.
Cheers Phil Seal Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed here in December with my wife for 7 days. Right from the start it was great. Service from Phil and Aree was brilliant and were always both very very helpful. The place is just off the main road a couple of hundred meters from Kamala's main drag a few streets back from Kamala Beach. Patong is about a 10 minute drive or so over the hill. Close to Big C I think it was if you need anything. Beach was about 10-15 minute walk but the hotel offered a free shuttle service to the beach if you didnt want to walk, however they do have a beautiful pool so we mostly just hung around it.

It is a nice sized resort, very well maintained gardens and pool area and is really nice just to relax. Room was great too, we stayed in a 1 bedroom unit, it had a kitchenette (not that we used it) separate bedroom and living room. It was very nice sized and the bed was very comfortable. The food in the resort was really amazing, for about 150-180 bhat from memory you could order a lot of dishes like stir fry's, curry etc, they had a western menu but we didnt try it, just the Thai food, it was awesome and for around $5AUD it was a bargain for resort prices!

Look as some say there was construction close by which could get a little noisy but in our room we didn't hear any of it if we had the doors closed and the aircon on, however the daily mosque prayer was sometimes audible but I think we must have got used to it and it was not a problem. Again I have said this before about other places, don't expect the Intercontinental or Hyatt as it is not a 5 star resort, and does not charge 5 star prices, but it is a lovely place with amazing service and very very nice accommodation. I highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Jerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalaresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here at Royal Embassy and for your kind comments, really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have already passed on your comments to our chef, it is a real motivation for him when he knows a guest has enjoyed his meals and taken the time to write comments about it., We are very fortunate to have him, prior to joining us 8 months ago, he was head chef in a restaurant in Patong, that was at the time, rated NO 1 on Tripadvisor, so they don't come better. We now have over 100 reviews rated as "excellent" so in the next two weeks a staff function will be held to thank our small but highly motivated team, so thank you for being number 101.rating us "Excellent"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I like Royal Embassy very much. Several small cozy bungalows and apartments, nice pool with beautiful lighting at night (open until 22.00). Very helpful staff, friendly owner Henry, a delicious breakfast, free shuttle service to the beach.
But. Located on the edge of a Muslim village, along the road are hung on load speaker which periodically play the muezzin's prayer. Last post is next to the building 'C' (left from reception). We waked up at 5.30 am every day, under the howling speaker. Terrible! I reduce the assessment only for the noise. But this is a very serious drawback, beware.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iskanderMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalaresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, really pleased that overall you enjoyed your time with us and that the only problem you had was with the early morning Muslim prayer thing. We are still talking with the local municipality, as some time last year, larger speakers were placed on most of the lamp posts in Kamala and I agree, can be of great annoyance if you are a light sleeper, We and other hotels are doing our best to have the volume turned down and I have printed all comments from tripadvisor for them, as evidence it is a problem, as have other hotels, so watch this space
Many thanks Phil Seal Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a very pleasant n relaxing vacation in Phuket mainly because of the resort. My 19 months old daughter had a nice time watching the rabbit and enjoying the small pool.
The beach is just 15 mins walking distance from the resort. Big C supermarket is 10 mins by walk. Local market is nearby.

The food in the resort is excellent. Desserts were very tasty too. We enjoyed the Thai cuisine, which was prepared very tasty. Liked the presentation as well.

Overall we enjoyed the vacation and liked every moment iin the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandybhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalaresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are really pleased you and you and your daughter enjoyed your stay. Having now owned the resort for two years it is so rewarding to have such nice feed back from our guests regarding their stay. Jack the rabbit still takes center stage and still giving both children and adults a show, has even jumped up on a poolside lounger to show off,
Also like to thank you for your comments on the restaurant, we are so lucky to have a top chef working with us when we are only a 20 room resort and he really appreciates it when we tell him our guests have made good comments about the food
Wishing you all the best and hope to see you again one day
Phil Seal Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

This little resort is in a good spot. Nice 2 bedroom apartment. Only disappointment was the bathroom didn't feel clean as the water smelt like rust and was a funny colour. This is a good resort in a good part of Phuket. Kamala Beach is very nice with restaurants and good sun lounger facilities. There is a high rise being constructed near by which is a shame but not intrusive.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattRichSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalaresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us this month. I am sorry you experienced a problem with the water. We upgraded the system in October 2012 and mostly works perfectly, however if we have a power cut ( happens on Phuket Island mostly in high season, but usually on for a short time) this effects our purification system and you can get water that is not so clear and has a unpleasant smell to it, If you run the taps or shower for 3 or 4 minutes it returns to normal, so your review has prompted me to provide a notification on this in each room. We are also working on a backup system, so to overcome any future interruptions in electricity supply, as it did happen again just yesterday, very frustrating as the resort is fully booked right now.
Once again thank you for staying with us and good to know that overall you enjoyed our resort and Kamala. Many thanks Phil and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamala hotels
1.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
1.6 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#3 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
0.7 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pe La Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pe La Resort

Property: The Pe La Resort
Address: 10 / 33 Moo 6, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Royal Embassy Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kamala
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pe La Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Pe La Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Embassy Hotel Kamala
Royal Embassy Resort And Spa
The Pe La Resort Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing