We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, small friendly hotel”
Review of The Pe La Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pe La Resort
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, small friendly hotel”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights 27th - 30th Nov 2012

Really loved it

We stayed in a bungalow villa overlooking the immaculate pool and gardens. (All the 20 something rooms overlook this).

Villa was very spacious with large lounge leading onto the veranda. Air conditioning very good.

Service was great, personal and attentive.

Very reasonably priced food (Breakfast from 120 Baht) and they will serve you on your veranda!

It.s short walk to the beach and only 3 minutes walk to the Big C supermarket. On Saturday there,s a great market around the corner from the hotel

The construction work (a new apartment block across the road from the hotel) didn't really bother us - work was only daytime and the apartments are half finished now so all the "noisy" work has now been done.

Kamala beach is lovely, plenty of restaurants along by front, a lot more peaceful than Phuket.

Would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy66068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalaresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Your review makes all our hard work over the last two years worthwhile. Our staff really take pride in what they do and when I can tell them about a guest that has loved their stay, everyone here is so happy. Wishing you a great 2013 and hope to see you back one day
Cheers
Phil and the team at Royal Embassy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    90
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
140
135
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My 3rd stay here, Always impressed with the service and the friendly stall. Close to everything. Almost downtown. This is not on the beach but everything is just wonderful. If you are here for a few days would recommend. Pool area is great but what makes it is the service.

Room Tip: Face it pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-GCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalaresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, its great to know you have become a loyal guest, having stayed her three times, we much appreciate it and hope to see you again one day for your fourth visit,here at Royal Embassy, All the best for 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We returned to the Royal Embassy for a second stay with our two children (3 & 4 years) in October. We weren't disappointed - same great service, food, and the pet rabbit was a great hit with the kids! The pool is the perfect depth for our kids and really improved our son's swimming confidence.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are great with yound children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJ1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalaresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. Have to say it was a great pleasure to have you and your family here. Your children are so polite and well mannered, it is so gratifying you enjoyed your stay so much, Once again thank you very much and we wish you all the best for 2013 and hope to see you again one day. Cheers Phil, Aree and our team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here in early December. Firstly I do not understand how this hotel has such good comments?? In my opinion they are way off the mark!

Location - it's far from beach off busy road and in middle of construction site hence noisy, unattractive.and nothing nearby.

Rooms - very outdated feel maybe 10 years old and in need of major upgrade. Bathroom smelly and dirty with blocked sink. Aircom v poor. Generally not clean,

This is a 3 star hotel at best and way over priced.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jf333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalaresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
All I can say is, how sorry I am you could not discuss your feelings or advise myself or any of our excellent staff, of your concerns, when you stayed with us, instead of hiding behind a computer keyboard, We have all worked extremely hard to ensure our guests have a great time while they are here and that the are happy with all our services and standards, that is perhaps the reason why, we have over 100 reviews saying EXCELLENT or VERY GOOD and only yours saying Terrible.
We have never claimed to be next to the beach and say it is a ten minute walk, however we also offer a free return shuttle daily to our guests, between the hours of 11am to 4pm, so you do not need to walk the ten minutes if you so wish. The resort is 8 years old but has been painted and upgraded in the last two years, so I am not sure what you feel is outdated. The air conditioning is serviced every six months and all units were checked and cleaned in November, for the high season., Thailand water generally has an unusual smell to it and is not recommended to drink. We have recently spent in excess of 180,000 baht to upgrade ours and yours is the only complaint we have received, perhaps it was a chlorine smell, as we have an automatic system to purify the water. Regarding your comment of the room being dirty, on the day you checked in, your room was inspected by myself ( I usually do) and other than a stain on the cream couch, that we could not clean that particular day, everything else was at our normal high standard. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay here, can only say, had you wished to discuss it with me, I would have done my utmost to ensure your concerns were put right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Never having been to Phuket before I was concerned that I had selected the correct hotel, I can assure anyone else in my position that I could not have chosen better. It was so quite, the gardens were superb,lovely sun beds,the staff were so helpful and friendly. The hotel restaurant was great, both Thai and western food were delicious ,and the presentation of the dishes was something else, the prices were comparable with other restaurants We spent nine nights in the hotel and although I did not rate Phuket island as one of my best destinations,the hotel really made our holiday and I would return to Phuket ,if only to stay at the embassy suits again. A big thanks to the staff for making us really welcome and to Henry for sorting our trips.

Room Tip: Thai villas all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynJo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalaresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review and your comments on our restaurant. Our chef really is so happy when we report to him that a guest made comments on his meals and it is a real motivation for him. Our team here are all very pleased we helped make your holiday a happy one and hope to see you again one day
Cheers
Phil Seal
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just spent 10 days at the Royal Embassy for a friends wedding. Had a brilliant time staff were brilliant and very knowledgeable and very happy to help out if we needed anything organised and made us all fell very welcome and always had the beers stocked up for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalaresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review, has all made us feel very proud and we will continue to keep the beer fridge stocked, in in the hope we will see you again one day. It was great to meet you, our job was made so easy, with having such nice people as you, as our guests
Kind regards
Phil Seal
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The service at the Royal Embassy Resort was very personal, professional and knowledgeable - If you needed anything or wanted advice the staff were more than happy to help! I was impressed by the reasonable prices, size and facilities of the rooms and would recommend it as place to stay for families, small groups and couples in Phuket.

Room Tip: I stayed in a two bedroom apartment on the ground room - the pool was just a stone throws away and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TillyMillican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalaresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Very happy to know we contributed to your holiday with your comment :"Exactly what I needed"
Like you many of the families that stay here enjoy the closeness to the pool, plus the personal touch we can offer with us having only 20 Villas and apartments.
Thank you for your kind comments
Phil Seal
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamala hotels
1.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.6 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
1.6 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
1.2 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
0.4 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pe La Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pe La Resort

Property: The Pe La Resort
Address: 10 / 33 Moo 6, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Royal Embassy Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kamala
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pe La Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Pe La Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Embassy Hotel Kamala
Royal Embassy Resort And Spa
The Pe La Resort Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing