We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of The Pe La Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pe La Resort
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed 5 night in June and it was great. The weather was good, no rain. Phil and Henri are really friendly. breakfast and diner are excellent with a good price. Kamala is quiet, but you can always go to Patong. you can rent a bike at the reception and go to Suring beach, that is beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lieky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 379 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

me and my wife stayed here for 4 night for our honeymoon, the room was confortable, surrounding was very quiet and tranquil. The staff was very helpful and polite. overall we really enjoy our stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azad a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Me and my husband spent at this wonderful place 2 fatastic weeks. The facilities were amazing: big and full of light villa, 2 pools (for adults and for kids), cozy restaurant with gorgeous food, beautiful garden all around AND absolutely awesome staff! Restaurants, supermarkets are right across the street, Kamala beach beach is in 5 minutes walk. We will definitely come back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amf3tam1nka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is without doubt one of the nicest resorts I have ever stayed in, a sheer delight from the moment I arrived until the moment I left. It is a series of beautiful villas and apartments which encircle two pools and exquisitely maintained gardens.

It is about a ten minute easy walk to the beach, but if its sheer comfort, peace and tranquility you are looking for, and want to wake to the sound of birds singing in the superb garden outside your very window, look no further than here. The food in the resort is excellent, but if you should want to venture out,other bars and restaurants are just a few minutes walk away.

It was just a wonderful experience for me, and I am certain it will be for you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in June and found it lovely, Phil was great all the reviews were correct , pool was great , rooms we had a villa was lovely and the breakfasts , and evening meals all excellent and resonable no need to go out, we had storms and rain the whole time but it was pleasent sitting with a great view of pool and such well cared for gardens, Would recommend it as a small cosy hotel where you are not just a number which was great ....will definately return some day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshlassSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Arrived on 23rd May for one week and had apartment C6. Henri kindly helped with the baggage due to my back problem which was greatly appreciated. We were torn between a bungalow and apartment but what swung it for us to have the apartment wasn't the price difference, it was because we had the flexibility of having a large full size fridge freezer and cooking facilities if we needed them. Turns out we didn't after all as Henri directed us to a small restaurant 10 minutes away called OhLaLa. We weren't disappointed by their food so Merci Henri!

We took our laundry to the small laundry opposite the Royal Embassy to have our clothes cleaned so we wouldn't have to do them back in the UK. When we got home we found what appears to be glue on one of my shirts so not impressed at all. There are other laundry places dotted about, all usually for 50 baht per kilo non ironed or 70 baht per kilo ironed.

Going back to The Royal Embassy, no problems at all and we even had a resident Gecko to rid our room of any unwanted guests. He did wake us during the night though with his squeaking noise! Again, this didn't cause us any issues as he ran away when we tried to catch him.
The pool area is outstanding, small and cosy and it was quiet when we were her during May so we pretty much had the place to ourself. Take your camera by the pool as you'll see large butterflies, and maybe even small lizards/ bearded dragons. Nothing to fear as they're feared of humans and no doubt they're keeping the bug population down for us.
Our apartment was kitted out with two t.v's, two aircon units, ceiling fan, large fridge freezer, microwave, electric hob, toaster and water boiling machine for tea/coffee. Also comprises of a large sofa, dining table with 4 chairs and two French doors leading onto the balcony (see photos I posted).

On another point, there is about 15 English speaking t.v. channels on the t.v.'s, BBC World news, Crime and Investigation Asia, Syfy movie channel, ITV Granada a few to mention.
All in all, a pleasant stay and no doubt we'll be back on our return to Phuket. This is one of the better places we have ever stayed and could be down to its size being smaller and cosier than other establishments.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeechops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I spent 10 nights at the Royal Embassy recently, based on the good reviews on Tripadvisor. They are all true - the place is a gem. Phil and Henri were wonderful, the grounds are lovely with orchids and leelawadee flowers blooming, the breakfasts were delicious. It was the charming Thai getaway I was hoping for. In addition to the things mentioned in the other reviews, I was also delighted to discover that there is a very inexpensive but reliable drop-off laundromat just across the street, and the best coffee shop in Kamala is around the corner. I was in Phuket for a diving vacation and had no trouble either strolling a few blocks to Merlin Divers at the beach for certification classes, or hopping the dive shop's pickup minibus at the Royal Embassy's door for trips to Phang Na Bay or other more remote areas. If crazy nightlife is what you want, you're a 400 baht taxi ride (10 minutes) from Patong, and then you can return to the quiet relaxation of Kamala. If rest and relaxation is your goal, you can spend all day by the pool, get a cocktail, nice lunch, and a thai massage all within 100 feet. If every place was this nice, we wouldn't need Tripadvisor. +

Room Tip: The villas are big 1 bedroom suites, the other rooms are even bigger 2 bedroom suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arl1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamala hotels
1.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.2 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
0.4 mi away
Kamala Beach Estate
Kamala Beach Estate
#20 of 35 in Kamala
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Wabi Sabi Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pe La Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pe La Resort

Address: 10 / 33 Moo 6, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Royal Embassy Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range: $129 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pe La Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pe La Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Embassy Resort And Spa
Royal Embassy Hotel Kamala
The Pe La Resort Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing