We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A right Royal visit”
Review of The Pe La Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pe La Resort
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Arrived on 23rd May for one week and had apartment C6. Henri kindly helped with the baggage due to my back problem which was greatly appreciated. We were torn between a bungalow and apartment but what swung it for us to have the apartment wasn't the price difference, it was because we had the flexibility of having a large full size fridge freezer and cooking facilities if we needed them. Turns out we didn't after all as Henri directed us to a small restaurant 10 minutes away called OhLaLa. We weren't disappointed by their food so Merci Henri!

We took our laundry to the small laundry opposite the Royal Embassy to have our clothes cleaned so we wouldn't have to do them back in the UK. When we got home we found what appears to be glue on one of my shirts so not impressed at all. There are other laundry places dotted about, all usually for 50 baht per kilo non ironed or 70 baht per kilo ironed.

Going back to The Royal Embassy, no problems at all and we even had a resident Gecko to rid our room of any unwanted guests. He did wake us during the night though with his squeaking noise! Again, this didn't cause us any issues as he ran away when we tried to catch him.
The pool area is outstanding, small and cosy and it was quiet when we were her during May so we pretty much had the place to ourself. Take your camera by the pool as you'll see large butterflies, and maybe even small lizards/ bearded dragons. Nothing to fear as they're feared of humans and no doubt they're keeping the bug population down for us.
Our apartment was kitted out with two t.v's, two aircon units, ceiling fan, large fridge freezer, microwave, electric hob, toaster and water boiling machine for tea/coffee. Also comprises of a large sofa, dining table with 4 chairs and two French doors leading onto the balcony (see photos I posted).

On another point, there is about 15 English speaking t.v. channels on the t.v.'s, BBC World news, Crime and Investigation Asia, Syfy movie channel, ITV Granada a few to mention.
All in all, a pleasant stay and no doubt we'll be back on our return to Phuket. This is one of the better places we have ever stayed and could be down to its size being smaller and cosier than other establishments.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeechops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 377 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

I spent 10 nights at the Royal Embassy recently, based on the good reviews on Tripadvisor. They are all true - the place is a gem. Phil and Henri were wonderful, the grounds are lovely with orchids and leelawadee flowers blooming, the breakfasts were delicious. It was the charming Thai getaway I was hoping for. In addition to the things mentioned in the other reviews, I was also delighted to discover that there is a very inexpensive but reliable drop-off laundromat just across the street, and the best coffee shop in Kamala is around the corner. I was in Phuket for a diving vacation and had no trouble either strolling a few blocks to Merlin Divers at the beach for certification classes, or hopping the dive shop's pickup minibus at the Royal Embassy's door for trips to Phang Na Bay or other more remote areas. If crazy nightlife is what you want, you're a 400 baht taxi ride (10 minutes) from Patong, and then you can return to the quiet relaxation of Kamala. If rest and relaxation is your goal, you can spend all day by the pool, get a cocktail, nice lunch, and a thai massage all within 100 feet. If every place was this nice, we wouldn't need Tripadvisor. +

Room Tip: The villas are big 1 bedroom suites, the other rooms are even bigger 2 bedroom suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arl1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for a few days for our honeymoon and I have one word for it... Fantastic!

At first I was a bit skeptical since the hotel wasn't in Patong and it wasn't by the beach. Now, the fact that it wasn't in patong was great! Great if you are the type that doesnt want to be around a lot of noise. It cost about 400 baht to get to patong by taxi so it wasn't bad.
With the hotel being a 15 to 20 minute walk to Kamala beach we didnt mind as well.

The staff at the resort are great! Both Phil and Henry were very helpful and really nice. The food at the hotel was also good. We ate at a few places in Kamala and I'd say the hotel was one of the better options. Do not eat at oh la la. It's not good at all. Wait for the massages till you get to the beach as it is cheaper. And make sure you go to patong for a day trip!

The staff recommended doing a tuk tuk tour of the area which was fun. Cost about 1500 baht for the day and it took you around Phuket. Don't waste your time at the butterfly museum as it is not worth it and expensive!!

You must do the phi phi islands tour! It was by far the highlight. Be sure to pack light, wear sandals, take a towel, and be in your bathing suit. You will get wet! The tour the hotel recommends was good but a bit on the pricey side when comparing other tours. We couldn't compare other tours so it's up to you if you want to use their recommendation or not. We paid about 2200 baht per person. The lunch buffet wasn't good at all so don't expect much!

There's a huge grocery store about five mins walk to the hotel which was really helpful for getting things. Also It costs about 200 baht to go from the hotel to Kamala beach by tuk tuk. But like I said its about a 15 min walk.

Overall, had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The room was fantastic and it was really clean. Also, the bayhroom has a stand up shower and it's next to the toilet - pretty common in Asia. Toilet will get wet if you are not careful.

Thanks for a great stay! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We discovered this wonderful hotel through tripadvisor. Not only does this hotel offer you a great pool, very nice rooms, great food at very good prices, and a quiet getaway within walking distance to the beach, but on top of that the managers Henri and Phil really cared to make our stay as good as it can be.
Henri booked a couple of trips for us, all with a discount on the regular price! When I got sick (The ACs in Bangkok gave me bronchitis), Phil recommended a very competent clinic in Kamala and gave us a lift! I felt better in a day's time.
The massage at the hotel's spa was great, the best we had in Kamala. We also tried out some places at the beach, but the masseuse at the hotel was obviously more professional. And much gentler than the chiropractors at Wat Pho in Bangkok.
We would recommend arranging to be picked up by the hotel's driver in advance. The taxi business in Phuket can be very disappointing, and the transfer offered by the hotel was very efficient, quick, hassle-free, and only slightly more expensive than a normal taxi.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We chose this hotel in Kamala purely down to the tripadvisor reviews...we weren't wrong to do so. The Royal Embassy is a small hotel (20 ish rooms) just 10 minute walk from the beach at the south end of Kamala's main road. As other reviews have stated there is a Big C supermarket, Tesco lotus or 7/11 within a 10 minute walk of the Embassy.

Henri came out to meet us and knew exactly who we were which was a lovely welcome. We arrived during Thai New Year so there were no staff around and the restaurant was shut but it wasn't a problem to us. I had booked a pool villa and it was lovely accommodation - bedroom, bathroom and sitting room. The only downside was the time of arrival coincided with sundown and the villa had been left open all day so there were a lot of mosquitos to contend with but a quick march to Big C for repellent took care of that.

The grounds to this hotel are carefully maintained and manicured. There are 2 small pools - one for adults (deeper) and the other for children. Breakfast isn't included in the price but is available at a very reasonable price from the restaurant. We had a Thai lunch at the hotel and the food was excellent and the same price as outside the hotel. There is a spa onsite for massages and the prices are reasonable - closer to prices outside hotels than those extortionate overpriced spa resorts. Bring your own beach towels for the pool unless you want to rent one from the hotel for 100 THB.

This hotel deserves its status as 2nd in Kamala and should be first as its a lovely size, ambiance, friendly and relaxing. We had the place virtually to ourselves - one afternoon I was the only person by the pool...wonderful. I would definitely go back as Kamala is lovely - great for families and couples and out of the chaos of Patong Beach but close enough to be able to dip you toe in there too if you want to.

Tip: all transport within Kamala is 200 THB regardless of where you want to go and to go to Patong is 400 THB.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank piratepards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here with our children aged 5 and 3 from February 20-22. When we arrived, we got the most nice welcome from the manager Henri. He checked us in, and walked us to our apt C-1 to help us with our bags. We also got a lot of interesting information about the hotel and Kamala Beach.

Our apartment was nice, clean and very spacious.

The cafe has a small but good menu for breakfast and lunch, and food tasted very good! The small and quiet spa was really wonderful with its pool view.

Their English speaking staff is a big asset for Royal Embassy.

The hotel seems larger than it is. With around 50 guests when fully booked, it does not feel crowded at all.

We think that Royal Embassy was a well functioning hotel, with a homely and including atmosphere, that we can really recommend to everyone!

For a very big apt with two bedrooms we paid 5000 THB per night incl. all taxes and breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEGillesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Phil, Henri and the staff made our stay magical. Checkin was the easiest I have ever completed. Our2 bedroom poolside apartment was fantastic, our 13 year old son wouldn't stay out of the pool. The food is amazing, we ate nearly all our meals here as value for money and fabulous food was hard to beat anywhere else. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and it has a real family atmosphere with luxury. We really felt like it was a home away from home and their help and advice was beyond normal resort service. We will definitely be back, thank guys, we had an amazing time. Rick, Paula and Seth:)

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamala hotels
1.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.2 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
0.4 mi away
Kamala Beach Estate
Kamala Beach Estate
#20 of 35 in Kamala
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
1.1 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pe La Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pe La Resort

Address: 10 / 33 Moo 6, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Royal Embassy Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kamala
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range: $124 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pe La Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pe La Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Embassy Resort And Spa
Royal Embassy Hotel Kamala
The Pe La Resort Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing