We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Quite Reclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kamala Beach Estate
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Quite Reclusive”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We having been coming back to Kamala Beach Estate now for a few years, and find it to be a great place to relax and unwind when we stay on the west coast of Phuket.
We stayed in a room with a garden and partial sea view. It was well equipped, the aircon worked, and it seemed to be in good condition. The staff were very friendly, probably helped by the fact that the few we spoke to seemed to be related to each other in some way.
Kamala Beach Estate is not a full service hotel in the sense that the Reception closes at 20.00, and there are not any ‘facilities’ other than two very nice swimming pools, which seem to be used by guests to ‘potter’ around in; and with none of the hectic ‘organised’ water games you often see at some other hotels.
But the location is really great – perched on a rock next to the sea, and with its own small beach. It is surprisingly quiet, and peaceful. The gardens are well kept, and on our last visit we saw a number of squirrels and four lizards!
The adjacent restaurant – Rockfish – is open quite late, but everything in the village seems to close relatively early, so after about 22.00 it starts to look quite ‘dead’, but that just requires a little bit of planning! So, overall a good ‘retreat’ – away from the crowds - with the more 'action' resorts easily accessible only a few kilometres away!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank confused_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    30
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
30
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

i was sevseral times here already, and i think it s a unique place in phuket.
directly on a small sand beach ( rocky inside , but can go in when tide) , this
is a little paradise. the seaviw apartments probably are the best for seaview on
the island. and behind this the resort has a marvellous garden with two pools and a jacuzi
like nature 30 years ago here on the island ( the place exists over 20 years). incredible trees
and flowers and full of butterflies.
i will come back every year. this is a real insider tipp and worth the money. just check carefully what
room you choose, because they are very different.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank denecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Imagine waking up in the morning overloking the Andaman Sea, from a Thai style apartment with all key features for a short or long stay . And then meeting the graceful and always smiling Thai staff, always loyal to the place. And then a breakfast at Rock Fish, next to the Estate, and a swim in one of the two pools with beautiful surroundings. You can walk to Kamala and its diverse establishments, or take a drive anywhere, or even get picked up by a boat to take you around Phuket.

Room Tip: The sea fron Andaman apartment or villa one's have the best view, but I saw others also with nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank VoyageurMougins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Kamala Beach Estate is made up of Villas and 1/2 bedrooms apartments which are either seafront or with sea views I have been coming back for over 20 years. It has it's own beach which is sandy and rocky in places. It is in a quiet location and very close to the village and the main Kamala beach. It is a great place for families since it has a kitchen in each apartment and also has a restaurant on sight. The gardens throughout the Estate are well cared for and a real joy to walk through. Having a drink on the terrace of our Apartment and watching the sunset was pure heaven and I can't wait until my next return trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

you like being well treated by friendly courteous staff...if you like stepping out of your hotel and onto a reserved section of the beach...if you like the experience of a boutique hotel with good food a...and if you like being located within walking distance to multiple restaurant options...then Kamala Beach Estatel is for you. I can't think of a better option for relaxing at the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 15Vladimir15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Kamala Beach Estate provides a little hideaway escape that Phuket should be..its too easy to get sucked into the larger chains or ones near town...but what they lack that Kamala Beach Estate has is a warm personal touch, a tucked away private and quiet beach and pool access and clean, welcoming apartments.Perfect for all travelers (great for those with young kids too) especially those looking for a more special, less touristy experience. Having a kitchen allows for flexibility too...its a short walk to the local grocery shop.

Room Tip: Beach facing apartments are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roohi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

On our stay in Phuket we discovered a lush tropical paradise,. only minutes from the action at Kamala Beach Estate. 2 minutes walk to the beach, nearer us for fanatstic snorkelling and further down for swimming, with the beach village and bi-weekly local market nearby.. No concrete jungle here.Plenty of exotic buird life, families of squirrels, and the sound of the waves lappin gthe beach below? Can't beat it. There is a . 7/11 and Big C supermarket a stroll away, but if you stay longetr and rent a car, Makro near Central Festival has rtyhe best NZ and OZ beeef,lamb, and much local product at wholesale prices.even for small quantities.

The Bay at night reflects the lights from the colorful beach-side restaurants, while we eat dinner on the terrace, cooked in the well equipped kitchen. Staff are polite and helpful.. Tech staff are on hand if an aircon or TV needs adjusting. Wifi in the rooms. Rockfish Restaurant on the Estate for room service. Badly missing is a Fitness Centre, but we went 5 minutes up the road and used Cape Sienna's for a small fee.

Photo facing East of sunset, from terrace!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ThomasTCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamala hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.2 mi away
Baan Natacha Beachfront Guesthouse
1.0 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
0.4 mi away
Wabi Sabi Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamala Beach Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala Beach Estate

Property: Kamala Beach Estate
Address: 33/6 Kamala Beach | Phuket, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kamala Beach Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 5-minute walk from the Kamala Beach, Kamala Beach Estate offers spacious suites with private balconies which overlook the Andaman Sea or garden. It has a restaurant and an outdoor pool. Free Wi-Fi is available in rooms and the lobby. Suites at Kamala Beach feature a living room, kitchen and dining room. Each suite is equipped with air conditioning, a private bathroom and satellite TV. A seating area and sundecks are provided. Kamala Beach Estate’s The Deck Restaurant serves local and international dishes on the terrace overlooking the beach. Barbecue facilities are available. Guests can rent a kayak or take a dip in Kamala Beach’s garden pool. The resort offers laundry services. Free parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kamala Beach Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamala Beach Estate Hotel Kamala
Kamala Beach Estate Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing