We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an average resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Just an average resort”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I was not very impressive with the resort.

First of all, for god's sake, don't agree to be given a room on the 4th floor. They have no lift and it was very troublesome to go up and down to my room.

The hotel also does not provide complimentary transport to get around Kamala. We went for dinner once at Andara and the hotel kindly provided complimentary transport back to Swissotel...and we were not even a guest of that hotel.

The bathroom in Swissotel is very small. Only basic toiletries are provided. Even then, not enough shower gel and shampoo were given so we always had to ask for more.

We tried the dinner once and the food was so-so. The quality of the breakfast is better.

On a positive note, my children enjoyed its Kids World, where kids can play games and do some activities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jalan2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Jalan,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket. We are absolutely sorry to read that the room that was given to you did absolutely not match your expectations. There has been a misunderstood of what were your expectations, and we do apologize for that. Kindly note that for any next stay, you can request a room located at a lower floor, like 2nd floor, and that we would do our best to satisfy your demand. We are sorry to read that you were disappointed because we do not provide any complimentary transport to get around. You mention a beautiful property of Kamala, which is a high end 5 star deluxe hotel, and whom we could not be compared to at any level, product wise. Local considerations unfortunately do not enable us to provide this kind of transport.
We will take good consideration of your comments regarding dinner, and will do our best to further improve the quality!
We hope to be able to welcome you again at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket. Sunny regards from Thailand, your Swissôtel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    424
    159
    47
    22
See reviews for
691
203
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Rochelle, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I travelled a month in Thailand with my girlfriend, stayed in many hotels but the Swissotel let us dreamy. Everything was perfect: from the kindness of the staff to the relaxing atmosphere around the pool. We really enjoyed the breakfast, one of the best we had in Thailand. The restaurant is nice as well. Depending on your mood, you can either go watching the sunset while drinking one of the best mojito ever five minutes away from the resort or go partying at Patong...
Julie (from the reception) was really patient and helped us planing our trip to Koh Lanta.
Thank you. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tooryst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing with the TripAdvisor community your amazing feeling about your stay at the Swissôtel Phuket Resort. The Team Members feel highly rewarded for their hard work by your warm words regarding their service. We constantly do our best to improve our Breakfast buffet, and it is great to notice that you appreciated it.
We are delighted to know that you were also able to have such a great time experiencing activities very close from our resort, as indeed, the Patong surprising scenery is located only 15 minutes from the resort. We feel confident you were able to make the best of it!
We are looking forward welcoming you over again in the near future! Sunny regards from Phuket, your Swissôtel Resort Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This beautiful and tranquil resort is perfect for a family vacation. My family stayed in two- bedroom suite for four nights last week. The arrival was smooth with hotel limo in very late night.
We loved the room on the ground floor having direct access to nice swimming pool. The room is very cozy with comfortable beds, spacious sitting area and kitchenette. Complimentary wifi is available both in room and public area. It was amazing to relax in chairs on our terrace and enjoy the great view in the morning. We had a lots of fun in swimming pool, especially the waterslide is very popular.
It is just 5 mins walking distance to Kamala Beach and also close to FantaSea. Hotel offers shuttle bus to Patong Beach twice a day which is really convenient. There are few restaurants, small shops and taxi on the street right outside of hotel.
Breakfast has a great selection and food is excellent. Room service is good and available until 11pm.
It is so impressive that staffs of this resort are all very friendly and helpful. They gave great recommendation and assisted with tour arrangements. Thank staffs for this memorable and fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Room on the ground floor has terrace and direct access to swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Janice,

Thank you so much for sharing your amazing thoughts about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket with the Trip Advisor community. Reading that you had such a perfect time with us is our best reward, as it is our constant aim. We are delighted to read that you were able to experience all our facilities, and activities and that we were able to exceed your expectations with all of these. All the team members join me to thank you so much and express their joy having welcomed you.
We are very much looking forward to host you again! Sunny regards from Phuket, your Swissôtel Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

stayed at the swissotel last month. its a cute resort type of property. has a good location and is very good looking hotel. the rooms are nice and large. good breakfast spread as well. overall had a good stay.

Room Tip: the rooms on the top floor can be a challenge. no lifts.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ritwik25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you granted us writing your comment about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket. It is really pleasant to read that you had such a nice stay with us, being able to experience our wonderful smiling Thai service at the resort. Regarding your comment about the stairs, please note that we always take note of requests and conditions of the guests and try to fulfill them accordingly!
We wish to be able to welcome you again in the future. Sunny regards from Phuket, your Swissôtel Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at Swissotel Resort Phuket from Boxing Day until the 4th January with 2 adults and 3 children 14, 12, and 7.

We were in a 2 bedroom apartment on the third floor overlooking the pool. Stairs as others have mentioned but when we checked it we had some helpers bring our bags up for us so was great.

The resort was full on some nights and very full on the other nights.

One of our children slept on the sofa bed set up in the family room. Hard beds.
Room was as expected. Small bathroom as mentioned several times here. Noise levels were good. Beds were good, good wifi in room, safe in room, three TV's and small kitchen. Cleaned daily and new bottles of water given too.

We had breakfast included and it certainly covered all cuisines and plenty of choice, fresh juices, fruits, cereals, toasts, rice, pancakes, pastries, cheeses, coffees, chefs preparing eggs and omelettes. Although similar each day it was extensive and I can't imagine how anyone could complain about it.

We stayed for New Years Eve and were charged a compulsory fee for the night which was very expensive for what it was. No drinks were included in this cost (not even soft drinks or water!) which was quite ridiculous given the cost (and the fact that is was compulsory). The "show" was pretty much the same all evening with some Thai dancers followed by more of the same. I think this was the lowlight of all our evenings in Kamala. Food was expansive but not that much for children. A lot of spicy food and seafood (great for adults!). I have added some photos that show the spread on New Years Eve. The hotel did go to a lot of trouble decorating etc.. but let itself down by not really explaining very well to people what the nights proceedings would look like until the evening itself.

Generally it was much more fun to go to the beach and eat at one of the restaurants down there that had a lot more atmosphere.

Only a 5 minute walk to beach - easily do-able for all. Perfect beach but covered from one end to the other with deck chairs and restaurants etc. So not a quiet time to come but busiest time of year and we had a lot of fun. Water sports etc on beach but not too many. Water lovely and warm.

Pool and waterside excellent for families. Great fun had by all.

Poolside snacks/drinks were great too - a BBQ each day with varying menu items. All good value.

Cheap snacks and drinks next door at the Handymart. In this group of shops there are restaurants, tailors, washing services etc.. so very handy.

Not sure what Kamala is like at other times of the year but Dec/Jan very busy and everything open.

We got a Tuk Tuk into Patong and prices as marked (around 400 Baht I think). We never got around to taking the minibus front the hotel but taxis are pretty cheap even though they have set prices.

All in all a great family hotel - pretty good value for money apart from the New Years Eve compulsory dinner.

Lovely staff who all tried very hard to help when we needed them which wasn't very often.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigTravelBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for the time you granted us writing such a long, insightful and deep comment about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket. Feedback is a gift for us as it allows us to maintain, and further improve our service quality. Our beautiful resort has a passion for perfection, so always wish to provide a better satisfaction to our valuable guests.
It appears that you stayed with us during the peak of high season, where our occupancy is indeed really high. We sincerely hope that you were not to annoyed by this as we do our best to manage it the smoothest possible way.
Regarding the hard beds, we feel very sorry for your inconvenience. It is unfortunately a very common fact in Asia, and this is the reason why we have toppers available upon request in order to soften your sleep. We apologize that you were not informed.
Our extensive buffet breakfast is indeed covering all sort of food and we believe it should satisfy even the most demanding persons.
We are so sorry that our New Year’s Eve theme night didn’t match your expectations. We will strongly remember your comments for next year.
Our team members feel absolutely rewarded by your warm words concerning its service.
We are delighted to read that you had such a great time and nice memories while you stayed in Kamala with us at this time of the year. Therefore we would be more than happy to be able to welcome you again next year, with a better New Year’s Eve party! Sunny regards from Phuket, your Swissôtel Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

If you want a relaxing, calm & romantic time with your family (with, for or without kids.. ;-) ) - I think, this is one of the nicest place to be. Little bit pricy - but relaxtion now-a-days comes with a price tag....lol.
Breakfast - may be, one of best in that area. Pool, specially a pool side bar with happy hour from 5 to 7 pm is an icing.
we found one of many thai food joints outside hotel is truely run by an Indian (Punjabi) family from New Delhi (doing business there for last 5 generations). They serv Thai food, but was kind enough to keep open their shop very late for us only.
Room service was good. Had little bit problem with door-key-card.....me & my wife solved the problem ourselves....only that time - no service-provider was available to help us (afternoon) - we had a tensed moment.
If you need a truely relaxing vacation - then go for it....otherwise.....go to Patang........

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyotirmoy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Jyotirmoy,

Thank you so much for your great comment and description of your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket! We are thrilled to read that you had such a good relaxing and romantic time with us. Our teams always bring their best dedication in their duty to insure your satisfaction, therefore they feel rewarded to read your warm words. However we feel very sorry for the unfortunate event with your room key, and can insure you that there should be colleagues available to help you all the time!
We would be delighted to accomodate you once again in the near future!
Sunny regards from Thailand, your Swissôtel Resort Phuket Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the swissotel for 5 nights in 2 three bedroom apartments with 11 other people.

The staff are friendly and communication is difficult at times but otherwise it is pretty smooth and easy to understand and be understood. Staff attend to your needs and are very friendly and always greeting you warmly.

The pool is beautiful, however there is a sewerage smell walking towards our room that is quite strong which lingers around the pool area. The slide is a brilliant feature for kids and adults and really enhances the hotels entertainment and leisure.

As the hotel is located in Kamala beach, frequently travelling to the city and paying for taxis/tuk tuk's can be very tedious and expensive however the location is quiet and secluded which is think is better and definitely recommend as the city can get quite busy and loud. The swissotel is located amongst small restaurants and one that is tripadvisor recommend 'baan mai' which was quite nice also. A few shops are nearby and the ATM is conveniently located close by.

Our stay at the swissotel was enjoyable and I would recommend to stay for a couple of days.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Mary,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket! It is great to read that you had a wonderful time in our property and that your entire family was able to enjoy our facilities, especially the slide which is an absolute "must do" for little ones. However, we feel extremely sorry that you had to experience the sewage smelling during your stay, as we had some pipes troubles at that time. We can assure you that this is all fixed today, and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused.
Regarding our location, we believe just as you say, that being a little bit more remote from the overcrowded area of the city of Patong is an advantage. We are only 15 minutes of taxi from there, but here you can enjoy calm and tranquility, which are the two main elements for relaxing holidays.
We really hope to be able to welcome you again in the future!
Sunny regards from your Swissôtel Resort Phuket Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
0.6 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Patong Beach
13.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Property: Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Address: 100/10 Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Swissotel Resort Phuket)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Kamala Beach just 30 minutes southwest of Phuket International Airport, Swissotel Resort Phuket is the ultimate resort retreat for friends, families and small groups seeking relaxing beach holidays. Designed for the discerning, modern traveller, Swissotel Resort Phuket offers a choice of one, two and three-bedroom suites. In addition to natural sun-kissed beaches and turquoise seas, the resort ensures the comfort of each guest with an extensive range of facilities including several dining options, a lagoon-style swimming pool, spa and fitness centre, Kids World and a wide array of recreational activities. For a corporate meeting, wedding or gala event the selection of eight meeting rooms, with capacity for up to 150 persons can be styled to suit personal tastes and requirements, while the event management team will ensure that world renowned Swiss hospitality and reliability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phuket At Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Courtyard Phuket Kamala Beach
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing