We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little out of the way if you want to sight see”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little out of the way if you want to sight see”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Swissotel kamala is a lovely little resort. Kids club is limited, with most activities being inside, ie, rock painting or origami. My 8 and 11 yr old were not overly excited about it. Staff nice, but terrible english. Toilet blocked 50% of the time and advertised as kitchenette, but basically a very small kitchen with a microwave, no cooker or oven. Really a place is you want to just lie by the pool. Cost $400 baht per way to go to patong by tuk-tuk or taxi, being $30 aussie round trip, which adds up quickly. The hotel shuttle goes twice a day at ten and one and is constantly full, so you miss out. To get to the beach you have to walk only 5 minutes, but not a nice swimming beach so probably another 10 minutes on top of that to come to central kamala. Wouldn't stay here again. We like seeing the sights and activities, of which there is none at kamala.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket. We really appreciate your comments that help us to consistently deliver a better service. The Engineering Team has already worked on fixing the problem in the bathroom. Also our Team Members continuously participate in trainings to improve their English. We did also open a Beach Hut at Kamala Beach in November, where our guests will definitely be able to swim, relax and enjoy the beautiful site of Kamala Beach. It would also have been our pleasure to help you organize your excursions and sightseeing at the Hotel, which actually is done by most of our guests. We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon again at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    427
    162
    48
    23
See reviews for
697
206
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level Contributor
504 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

First of all, I am satisfied that my children were happy here. Pool comfortable and equiped with water slides. Kids Club superbly equipped and the staff is very attentive to the children. Kids did not wanted to leave. The beach is 10 minutes walk, but it was clean and comfortable. Among the shortcomings: noisy. It goes where, a lot of kids out there noise. So for romantic jorney, I would not choose this hotel. Just a lot of big tour groups that do not contribute to peace.Note the breakfast, ordering coffee. If you do not speak English, you can be served a tasteless coffee brewed from the tank. Always request machine coffee - you will get it without extra charge. Rooms are comfortable, clean and well equiped, but, in my opinion, thay allready need some little renovation.

Room Tip: I recommend to ask on checking in 2nd floor. There 4 floors, no elevators. It is not fesireble to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mihhail i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you very much for your pleasant comments regarding your stay in our property. It is also great to learn that your children enjoyed the Kids World so much that they did not want to leave anymore! We are sorry that you encountered some inconveniences with the group staying with us and please rest assured, that we do normally not take too many groups in order not to jeopardize the satisfaction of our individual guests. We would also like to highlight that we do serve filter coffee at breakfast, but that Cappuccino, Espresso and other coffee specialties are always available upon request for all our guests. Last but not least we are also pleased to inform you that we currently are working on various refurbishment projects which will definitely enhance the guests experience in future. We look forward to hopefully welcome you back at the Swissotel Resort Phuket very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The staff make this resort, the service was always top notch (especially pancake) the 2 bed apartments were a good size with ample living area and balcony space. The pool is huge and has a slide for the kids. The kids club was a saviour and is very well equipped. The prices at the resort for food and drinks were very good value, there was even illy coffee! Watch out for the tuk tuk drivers down the end of the street they are a ripoff, Kamala Beach and town were very run down, the shopping in Kamala beach was non existent and even when we went to the small market shops the quality was hopeless and extremely expensive. you are much better off getting your own scooter and heading into Phuket.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZAMBIR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest, the entire team of the Swissotel Resort Phuket and especially our colleague "Pancake" would like to thank you very much for your warm comments. It looks like that your children seem to have appreciated the Kids World a lot. We always do our best to satisfy our guests and are pleased if our guests have a great time with us! Our Front Office team is always at your disposal to arrange any transportation, assuring you do not get ripped off. As we really hope to welcome you back soon again, please do not hesitate to contact them for your trips to Phuket Town or Patong. We did also just open a Beach Hut called the Sand Box that will give our guests the best opportunity to enjoy the full beauty of Kamala Beach.
Your Swissotel Resort Phuket Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 8 days in september. Lovely pool area, friendly staff. Rooms very spacious, bathroom was a bit small. Breakfast buffet had variety of food to choose from. Beach was a short walk, maybe 10 minutes. Patong was about 20 minutes by tuktuk.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review and we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to work hard to even further improve our product and services. We are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back at Swissôtel Resort Phuket very soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a very nice hotel.

Good:
Staff friendly
Breakfast very good, fresh eggs, daily special, fresh pancakes and waffles,
Rooms lack natural light
Nice ambience
Nice pool
Table tennis
Shop just outside
Restaurant nice but cheaper outside

Not so good
20 mins walk along beach into kamala town. However can be done away from road and there are bars and restaurants at swissotel end of beach in 10 mins walk
Rooms have very small bathroom for what is a large room for a family of 4

Good deal overall. Would stay again.
Pool loses sun late in day

Room Tip: All rooms the same, just terrace rooms are on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest “Sawasdee” from Swissôtel Resort Phuket! Thank you and your family very much for your feedback and for choosing our Resort. We are very happy to read that you will return and stay with us again. We also appreciate your feedback in regards to the small bathroom in your room. We thank you very much again for your feedback and we are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket very soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Wow, wow, what an exceptional resort. From our welcoming to our departure everything was A+. The service was exceptional and the staff super friendly - nothing was too much trouble. Very quiet accommodation (attractions were very accessible via taxi). Resort offered great security. Breakfast had a full selection and evening meals were great. Staff member, 'Tiger' in the restaurant and at pool bar was very helpful and friendly. Store down lane near resort offered everything you would want - their massages were amazing and the laundry service excellent.

Room Tip: We had deluxe room 1308 and were very pleased (once we had bedroom sliding door lock fixed). The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your very warm comments regarding your stay at the Swissotel Resort Phuket. Our team members, including Tiger, join me to tell you that we were delighted to have you as our guest. We would be honored to welcome you back again in our beautiful Swissotel Resort Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is Superb hotel accessible to all the tourist places in Phuket.
There's a shuttle bus twice to Patong one in morning and another in afternoon.
Located in scenic and peaceful hill walking distance to Phuket phantasy.
Pool side Bar is worth a try :-)
Kamala beach is bit rough though

The hotel is very efficient and extremely well maintained. The suites are decently sized and offer very good pool view . Extremely comfortable beds and free high speed wifi were great.
One of the best hotels in Phuket's

We ate breakfast in the hotel (International buffet) .

I like customer service it was simply awesome every request was well taken care off.

Pool facing suites at ground floor are the best.

Room Tip: Pool facing suites at ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atul_mukhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest, Your comments about your stay at the Swissotel Resort Phuket are such a delight to read. The entire team would like to thank you for your warmness and we will keep on working hard to even further imporve our service and facilities to enhance our guests experience. We look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Swissotel Resort Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.6 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Patong Beach
5.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Property: Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Address: 100/10 Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Swissotel Resort Phuket)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Kamala Beach just 30 minutes southwest of Phuket International Airport, Swissotel Resort Phuket is the ultimate resort retreat for friends, families and small groups seeking relaxing beach holidays. Designed for the discerning, modern traveller, Swissotel Resort Phuket offers a choice of one, two and three-bedroom suites. In addition to natural sun-kissed beaches and turquoise seas, the resort ensures the comfort of each guest with an extensive range of facilities including several dining options, a lagoon-style swimming pool, spa and fitness centre, Kids World and a wide array of recreational activities. For a corporate meeting, wedding or gala event the selection of eight meeting rooms, with capacity for up to 150 persons can be styled to suit personal tastes and requirements, while the event management team will ensure that world renowned Swiss hospitality and reliability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phuket At Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Courtyard Phuket Kamala Beach
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing