We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Muswellbrook
1 review
“Great Family Escape”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Excellent place to unwind and to have a relaxing family holiday. We stayed 4 days here & 4 days in Patong and wish we just stayed at Swissotel for 8 days. Kids Club was wonderful and willing to do anything for your children and the waterslide was the highlight for our kids. Babysitting service was safe and I highly recommend it if you want to have a night out. The only thing we found hard was the fact that you are around 20-30min from Patong but motel had a courtesy bus 2 times a day to cater for this. AAA++++ motel would love to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for staying at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket and your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are all delighted that you and your family had an enjoyable 4 days stay with us. It is with a great pleasure to receive your compliments on our babysitting service and hotel facilities. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket very soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    416
    155
    47
    22
See reviews for
678
201
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 12 nights at Swissotel Resort Phuket and can confirm as others have that the hotel is a great family holiday location. The two bedroom room was perfect for our family of five, once you get over the very small bathroom. Like every other hotel we have ever stayed at the room was a little tired but this certainly wasn't an issue. The Kids Club was fantastic, first place we've ever been where the younger two boys actually asked to go when we weren't at the pool, the pool was great with a cool slide for the kids (including the older kids like me). The staff like all the other hotels we've stayed at in Phuket were welcoming and friendly. The only negative for us at the hotel was the intermittent replacement of tea bags and bath towels, not an issue worth even raising with reception.

The first impression of the hotel location is that it is in the middle of nowhere which compared to hotels in Patong and Karon could have been a problem for us, but after a short 15 minute stroll along the beach path you come to the 'central Kamala beach' which has plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from alternatively adding 5 minutes to your walk brings you into Kamala City which has more choice again. We found a great spot called Smiles Bar and Restaurant which had a great selection of Thai and Western food where we could eat actually on the beach. The downside is that the beach is a little uncared for at this time of year and the area between Swissotel and Kamala has still not recovered from the Tsunami. The local night markets are a good opportunity to practice your bartering skills.

For those less adventurous the resaurant just 'round the corner' serves good food albeit a little more expensive, the Indian restaurant closer to the Hotel serves good Indian cuisine as an alternate.

The twice daily shuttle to Patong is a great service for you to get your holiday shopping done and the taxi service close to the hotel provides a reasonable and accommodating service for longer trips. Would recommend a visit to the Phuket night market.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Swissotel Resort Phuket. It was with pleasure to read that you and your family enjoyed staying with us and have provided readers some valuable information. In regard to replenishment of tea bags and bath towel in your room, please rest assure that our Executive Housekeeper will emphasized this service standard with our house keeping team. We are of course more than happy to share your positive and motivating feedback and comments with our team members. We already look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at Swissôtel Resort Phuket very soon again.
Your Swissotel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Swissotel Resort Phuket is one of the fantastic resort in Phuket. It is just beside the calm Kamala beach and they even provide daily free shuttle to the busy Patong beach. I got free upgrade to 2 bedroom room with terrace and pool view. The pool and other facilities in the resort are nicely maintained. They even have a kids room with play area where you can leave your kids if you plan to spend your time elsewhere. The 2 bedroom terrace room was quite spacious. The only drawback was that the bathroom was pretty small with no bathtub in it.

Room Tip: Choose lower level floor in case you have heavy luggage to carry since they don't have elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karthik09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest, Warm greetings from Swissôtel Resort Phuket! We hope you are well and thank you very much for sharing your positive experience about your stay with us. We will be working hard to further improve our products and services and we sincerely hope to welcoming you back at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket very soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We chose this resort because the room rate for a 2 bedroom unit could not be matched, which was important as our two children are getting a bit old to share with us. Plus this resort is away from the hub bub of town and all we wanted to do was relax and sit by the pool.

This is not a 5 star resort, so if you normally stay in luxurious resorts, then this one will probably disappoint. If you want 5 star, stay at the Hilton Arcadia, but then you'll be paying a lot, lot more!!

Having read some reviews before we left, we knew the bathroom would be small, and it was. However we didn't let this spoil our vacation and really wasn't that bad once you accepted it and moved on.

The rest of the unit was large with a private balcony overlooking the pool and I thought the decor was actually very pleasant, not at all dated as I had expected (again from reading other reviews).

The buffet breakfast each morning was perfect for us and given the price we paid, we thought it was good value for money. There was lots of choice and eggs/omelettes cooked to order.

The resort facilities were fine. Our children went to kids club and played on the xbox's and did some of the craft activities. Some were free and others we paid extra for. We didn't expect to use this as a 24 hour baby sitting service, but it was handy when the kids wanted a break from the pool.

We took the shuttle into Patong ( and didn't book)... We only did it once as Patong is not really a family place. Definitely more for younger, single, couples etc at night, thankfully we just went during the day and that was enough for us. The 'night life' side of Thailand is not for us.

We did go into Laguna, Kamala and over to the Phi Phi islands and this location was central to most of Phuket.

I didn't go to the beach, but my husband did. He said it looked a bit untidy and as we all prefer the pool, it wasn't an issue for us.

We used the taxi rank just outside and they were very helpful and even if they were a little expensive, again we were on holiday and we expected we would have to pay over the odds, give our location.

We got our washing done by the people next to the mini mart and the lady there did a great job. Beautifully dried folded and wrapped in plastic. She did a better job than I would have done.

All the resort staff were very helpful, friendly and approachable. Obviously some spoke better English than others, but they were all lovely and let's be realistic, their English was a whole heap better than our Thai, so cut them some slack.

The resort has a happy hour each evening and we took advantage of this... Great! We also ate in the restaurant on several evenings and enjoyed both the Thai and western menus. Service was not rushed, so if you are used to American 'in and out' dining, you might struggle. We liked not being rushed, so for us it was great. We also had room service one night and this was good too.

The pool area was great, although it is a quiet time of year right now, so there was no problem getting a lounger etc. Our kids loved the pool and water slide and I enjoyed the swim up pool bar!!

We stayed for a week and had a great time. We would certainly come back here again and if you want value for money, and can overlook some minor issues, then I think you would struggle to beat this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aussies388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest, "Sawasdee krub" from Swissôtel Resort Phuket! Thank you very much for staying at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket and your kind review. We are very happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We will keep on working hard to further improve our product and services. We are pleased to inform that we actively participate in regular beach cleanings to improve the appearance of Kamala Beach during the rainy season. We thank you very much again for your review and are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket very soon again.
Your Swissotel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Hard review to write. This is a nice hotel with a great pool and probably the best value 2-bedroom accom in Phuket. But... It is seriously far from anything. You cannot get to
Even to Kamala without tuktuk or very long walk.

To be fair, you can get just about anywhere on the island for us$10 so not a big problem, but my impression is that the location is VERY seasonal (thai summer only) and maybe never really recovered from the 2004tsunami

My daughter loved the pool and kids club and staff were lovely

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest, warm greetings from Swissôtel Resort Phuket! Thank you very much for your review and that you liked our Resort. But of course we are truly sorry for not meeting your expectations in regards to the location, especially as this resulted in a lower rating for our lovely Resort. Unfortunately the satisfaction with our location can be very subjective and hardly depends on the individual expectations of our guests. Our resort is indeed located in a more quite area compared to other areas like Patong, but this is actually something that many guests are looking for these days, especially families or also couples looking for a more relaxing stay away from the noise and hassle. We are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Swissôtel Resort Phuket soon again.
Your Swissotel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Fabolous exp in Phuket, awesome room design and pool access room are too good, Staff is very friendly and ready to take all efforts to make your stay as comfortable as possible, there is a shuttle bus to bus to Patong as well twice a day

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Atul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Atul M., thank you very much for your positive review and we truly hope to welcoem you back at Swissotel Resort Phuket very soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have stayed in many Swissotel properties and this is by far the only one that falls below my expectations. To be fair, our suite was extremely spacious but dated. We had breakfast at the open air restaurant. For the first few days, the bees were allowed to share our breakfast. Multiple bees could be found in the honey, jam and fruits. In fact there were bees wherever we were sitting and we had to sit out by the pool. Most of the food were left uncovered. Despite pointing this out to the restaurant staff, there were no action taken till the last day of our stay where they attempted to cover some of the dishes. Unlike other hotels who served jam, butter and yoghurt in packaged form, these were pre-cut/opened and left out in the open. I felt this was fairly unhygienic. The selection was mostly the same for the five days we were there.

The Kids World is acceptable.(except for the price). My daughter loved the activities so much that she nagged at me all day to allow her to go.

Another con was the distance. This place is good for those who want to be far from the action. We booked this place thinking that it would have a nicer and quieter beach but unfortunately, to get to the beach we had to walk at least 15 minutes and crossing a main road. There is not many food outlets nearby. To get out to Patong, there was only two timing for the complimentary shuttle and the shuttle could only seat 14 adults. We only managed to use it once. I feel that the hotel should consider air-conditioning the restaurant since this is the only one in the hotel or solve the bees and flies problem. The hotel should also consider having an hourly shuttle instead of only two timings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megmum0374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the travel community and we are very concerned to learn that we have not been able to meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused. We appreciate your constructive comments in regards to the issue with the bees at breakfast. Please note that the bees only appear during certain seasons and rest assured that we are working on improvements. Our Restaurant is equipped with fans and due to its open design, we can unfortunately not install any air conditionaing in this area. Regarding your comment on our complimentary shuttle bus service, we will try to consider your input for our next scheduling, but would also like to highlight, that Patong can also be reached at very reasonable fares with taxis or tuk-tuks at any time of the day. We will keep working hard to further improve our product and services and we hope to welcome you back at Swissôtel Resort Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
0.6 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Patong Beach
7.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Property: Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Address: 100/10 Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Swissotel Resort Phuket)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Kamala Beach just 30 minutes southwest of Phuket International Airport, Swissotel Resort Phuket is the ultimate resort retreat for friends, families and small groups seeking relaxing beach holidays. Designed for the discerning, modern traveller, Swissotel Resort Phuket offers a choice of one, two and three-bedroom suites. In addition to natural sun-kissed beaches and turquoise seas, the resort ensures the comfort of each guest with an extensive range of facilities including several dining options, a lagoon-style swimming pool, spa and fitness centre, Kids World and a wide array of recreational activities. For a corporate meeting, wedding or gala event the selection of eight meeting rooms, with capacity for up to 150 persons can be styled to suit personal tastes and requirements, while the event management team will ensure that world renowned Swiss hospitality and reliability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phuket At Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Courtyard Phuket Kamala Beach
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing