We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor location, hotel overall ok!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Poor location, hotel overall ok!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for 4D3N with 3 lovely kids. They liked the swimming pool very much! Hotel overall is ok, staff polite, breakfast spread adequate, room spacious (yes, very small bathroom, I agreed with other reviewers).
The hotel shuttle to patong beach (jungceylon) is a bonus, but it would be nice if have few more rounds ( now they provide free shuttle twice a day, 10am-2pm & 1.30pm-6pm)
Must prebook the shuttle as it only operate on 12 seaters minivan.
Location is no good, abt 10 mins walk to Kamala beach from hotel. One and only one minimart outside the hotel, and also one & only one massage centre nearby ( fr hotel entrance, walk straight down, turn left at the corner, you will see the massage centre). Due to monopoly, the 2 hrs Thai massage if you do it at patong area, it cost thb450-500, but here they charge thb600.
We hv our daily dinner at a nearby restaurant called Baan Mai. The foods there were nice and with very reasonable price. The owner, a French couple, were very nice and friendly! Fr hotel entrance, walk straight down, turn left at the corner, first u will see the massage ctr that I just mentioned, walk for less than 3 mins, you will see the restaurant at ur left hand side.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Suuny greetings from Swissotel Phuket. Thank you very much for your feedback and for choosing our Resort. We are very happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your valuable feedback on the location of the Resort and are sorry for not meeting your personal expectations in regard to this. We are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket very soon again.
Your Swissôtel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    416
    155
    47
    22
See reviews for
678
201
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Swissotel. My husband and I would normally go for high end hotels and resorts, but with a 2 year old and my parent coming with us, we thought we'd better choose a toddler friendly hotel with big kids club, kids pool, etc. And so after reviewing tripadvisor we thought swissotel looks ok. We were wrong...

First of all, the food at the hotel is just ok but when you go to phuket you'd have higher expectation. The rooms are in need of renovation. Also the 2 bedroom flat only has ONE EXTREMELY SMALL toilet which has been very inconvenient for us. Service is ok but not particularly good. There were not many kids <age of 5 in the kids club. The staff were playing pingpong when we went to the gym. The TV at the pool bar was playing local TV drama when there was not many people around...One evening, there were dozens of middle aged men holding glasses of beer staying in the pool having fun...what came up to my mind was... I don't think they'd come up for toilet...

The hotel is tucked in a cul-de-sac and pls note that this is NOT A BEACH FRONT HOTEL. I have walked to the beach just once and that was enough. Took ard 10min. The way to the beach is not particularly pleasant. There are a few restaurants just outside the hotel but those are the kind of restaurants that you won't go to if you have much better choice elsewhere.

All in all the overall experience was not too bad but I have no idea why some reviewers have so many positive comments about this hotel...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heshgigfiuewiruower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest, “Sawasdee krub” from Phuket. Thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback. I am truly sorry to read that we have not been able to meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused and please rest assured that this does nto reflect our standards at all and I will personally follow up on the case. I would also like to highlight that we have never advertise our resort being a beach front property and in general it will take 5 minutes walk to get to the public beach. We do also realize that the perception and expectations from our resort are rather subjective and therefore we feel truly sorry for not being able to meet your expectations. We will be working hard to further improve our product and services and remain with best regards from Thailand.
Your Swissotel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonee Ponds
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent facilities. Extremely friendly, helpful and personal staff throughout the resort. Just away from the busy hussle of Patong but close enough to make day trips there easy enough: free shuttle bus provided by resort twice daily!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest, "Sawasdee krub" from Thailand and many thanks for your positive review. We appreciate your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back hopefully very soon.
Your Swissotel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We just arrived back from a 31/2 week trip that ended with 5 nights at Swissotel Kamala Beach for a bit of R&R following a busy first time trip to London. The hotel location was perfect for us being a short walk to the beach and away from the bustle of Patong. Staff were all very polite and respectful and a total delight to deal with. Our apartment was 2 bedroom which was perfect for us travelling with our adult daughter and on the first floor overlooking the beautiful lagoon pool. Yes the bathroom was small as mentioned in other reviews but the size of the apartment otherwise was great. Room was very clean and in good condition.
Breakfast was included in our package and we found the selection available great and we ate at the resort every night finding the dinner menu varied and very reasonably priced. We also took advantage of the free shuttle into Patong that runs twice daily.
It was very quiet when we were there which may have helped make it very relaxing but would have no hesitation in recommending this resort.
Would also recommend Bobby the Tailor in the private road leading into the hotel. He made a great job of the suit and shirts for my husband and made a dress for our daughter off a sketchy picture she showed him and it turned out perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenis_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for staying at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket and your kind review. We are very happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are thankful for your constructive comment on the size of our bathroom as well as on the cleanliness of the pool area. We will keep on working hard to further improve our product and services and will address your comments with the respective colleagues. We thank you very much again for your review and are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket very soon.
Your Swissotel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This resort is very good for families who don't want to stay in the Patong area, which is very busy and can at times be undesirable, particularly at night. All of the facilities are very good and the location near the beach (but not right on it) is fine if you don't mind a walk or a drive.

It is very good value, being cheaper than some of the high end resorts but you still get most of what you would expect at a high end resort.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest, warm Greetings from Swissôtel Resort Phuket! Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for making our Resort your home away from home during your stay in Phuket. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Together with our team we will keep on working hard to further improve our product and services. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket very soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverton
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We just arrived back from a week staying at the Swissotel Resort Phuket and we had a fantastic time. We upgraded to a 3 bedroom Poolside Apartment and had ample space for 3 adults and 3 kids. The younger kids loved the Kids club and all the kids loved the Pool and Waterslide. The Breakfast was excellent and Dinner at the restaurant was very tasty with a wide selection of Western and Thai food (We stuck to the Thai food whilst the kids had the kids meals). The only problem we encountered was the main bathroom smelt pretty bad, it was clean enough, just had a smell of sewerage most of the time (we used the ensuite bathroom most of the time which was bigger anyway) and the Bus service to Patong could run a bit more often during the day. We were very happy with the location and facilities of the Hotel and would definitely come again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest, warm greetings from Swissôtel Resort Phuket! Thank you very much for your positive review and for choosing the Swissôtel Resort Phuket for your stay in Thailand. We are very happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We do feel sorry to hear that you encountered some challenges with unpleasant smell in your bathroom and this problem has already been addressed by our Engineering team for improvement. We thank you very much again for your feedback and we are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket very soon again.
Your Swissotel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

OK - completely not as advertised or any resemblance to what is on the website.
The hotel is run down, and quite dirty. Rooms are tired and in need of repair. We (2 adults and 2 kids age 5 and 2) booked a 2-bedroom suite.
Arrival and reception was weak - we arrived mid-afternoon and was still told to wait for the room to get ready. A complete misread of our family situation - kids tired after long flight, hot weather etc. Why stall people with cold drink - just help us get the kids into the pool!

After that disastrous start - pool insufficient for the size of the resort. Too many deck chairs around the edge - absolutely no feeling of "tranquillity" here. Felt like a noisy Butlin's style of holiday

Final straw (and why we only stayed 1 evening) - on putting the kids to bed - the kids bedroom window was broken (readily opened) As we were on the ground floor facing local housing and separated only by a 5 foot wall, this was terrible. Workman turned up to screw one screw into the window to secure it - but we ended up having 4 of us in 1 bedroom for the night.

Poor complaint handling - poor overall service.
GM's email response weak

This is an example where a website effectively markets itself. Far better properties than this for the same or less price.

Frankly for Phuket - for families - the Hilton Arcadia is the best for families with young kids (under 5)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhall2013UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest, we are very concerned to read your comments and we feel really sad to see how you rated our hotel after just a few hours stay with us. Regarding your first point we feel truly sorry that your room was not ready on arrival and that you did not appreciate the cold towels and drinks. We of course fully understand that after a long trip you just wanted to check in your room and enjoy the pool with your family. Concerning the pool, we are very surprised to read your complaint about its size, because our beautiful lagoon style pool is certainly large enough for the size of our hotel and it is the first time we hear such a comment. We do also apologize for the inconvenience with the window in your room and please rest assured, that this does normally not happen. Although our area cannot be considered as unsafe, we have 24 hours security patrolling our premises in addition to the gate security and the local housing next to the hotel that you mentioned are our kind neighbors that are not to be considered as a threat.
Last but not least we feel very that regarding your particular stay we apparently completely failed to deliver the quality of service you expected and that we are normally and usually renown for. As you can read yourself from many other reviews, you can be assured that your experience does not reflect our standards at all and we are very sorry to not have been able to meet your expectations. Please let us know if you ever wish to return to Phuket again, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back and prove to you that we can do better. Your Swissotel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
0.6 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Patong Beach
7.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Property: Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Address: 100/10 Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Swissotel Resort Phuket)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Kamala Beach just 30 minutes southwest of Phuket International Airport, Swissotel Resort Phuket is the ultimate resort retreat for friends, families and small groups seeking relaxing beach holidays. Designed for the discerning, modern traveller, Swissotel Resort Phuket offers a choice of one, two and three-bedroom suites. In addition to natural sun-kissed beaches and turquoise seas, the resort ensures the comfort of each guest with an extensive range of facilities including several dining options, a lagoon-style swimming pool, spa and fitness centre, Kids World and a wide array of recreational activities. For a corporate meeting, wedding or gala event the selection of eight meeting rooms, with capacity for up to 150 persons can be styled to suit personal tastes and requirements, while the event management team will ensure that world renowned Swiss hospitality and reliability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phuket At Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Courtyard Phuket Kamala Beach
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing