We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not for us...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Kamala
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Overall the hotel was nice, clean and staff friendly. The kids club experience was poor. Staff not interested in engaging with children plus my daughter got nits-although cant confirm if they were from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guest, Warm greetings from Swissôtel Resort Phuket! We hope you are well and thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience about your stay with us.
We are concerned to learn that we have not been able to satisfy your expectation at our Kids World and please be assured that your experienxce does not reflect our standards at all and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. We will be working hard to further improve our products and services and we sincerely hope to welcoming you back at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket very soon again.
Your Swissôtel Resort Phuket Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

There are simply no words to describe this amazing place, we stayed in a 3 bedroom unit with our 3 kids, 17 14 and 11 for 2 weeks and were super impressed with everything, the staff are super friendly and the breakfast is great, plenty of variety and everything is fresh.
Kamala is an amazing place with a great environment for everyone, the beach is 5 mins from the resort and everything you need is within 10 minutes.
Whilst there are bars with 'working girls', but they were never pushy and actually were really friendly towards the kids and always had a smile on their faces, we never felt pressured or intimidated, it was actually part of the wonderful experience!!
The atmosphere is relaxed and there is no pressure and hussling that is experienced in Patong, it is simply an experience that we will never forget, but a trip to patong is highly recommended!!
The little shop out the front is a tourists dream, you can book all your tours with noo noy and she is a lovely lady that is a local who will give you some great advice on all things and the tailors make a great suit for a cheap amount.
The resort is not brand new but it is in great condition, it is clean and has a great pool and kids club.
We will certainly be back again and we look forward to another great stay at an amazing place, thank you to everyone!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Swissôtel Resort Phuket! Thank you very much for your positive review and for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Thailand. We are very happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you could feel our team members demonstrating their passion for perfection. We will keep on working hard to further improve our product and services. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket very soon again.
Your Swissôtel Resort Phuket Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We sadly left Swissotel Kamala yesterday after a fabulous 9 nights there. This was the first overseas trip for myself and my children (hubby had been o/s) and we can not fault the Swissotel Kamala Beach. We arrived late in the evening and were greeted by the smiling faces of the staff and a very welcome cold drink. Our room was overlooking the pool and was very comfortable for our family - bathroom was a little cramped at times though. Every staff member greeted us with a smile and no request was ever a bother. The buffet breakfast was more than enough to see us through to dinner after a happy hour cocktail in the pool bar.
My son & husband attended a yoga class and if we hadn't had a trip planned they would have done more.
The "village" surrounding the resort was also a highlight for us. We met some of the nicest people who own the businesses in the street and really hope to come back and visit them again. Everyday we received a wave and a nod along with "sawadee krup or ka", we used the tour booking services of the shop next door, the mini mart, laundry facility, scooter hire and several taxi & tuk tuk, we even had our "cat" fix with their pet cats.
Strolling along the beach of an afternoon/evening deciding where to eat was difficult as they all looked welcoming, we did however dine several times at "Boom Bar" with the friendly, chatty staff.
I will return to Phuket and hope to stay at Kamala Beach again. The service, facilities and staff are excellent.
Kob khun ka.

Room Tip: Rooms at the waterslide end are a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kizziewad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest, "Sawasdee krub" from Swissôtel Resort Phuket! Thank you very much for staying at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket and your kind review. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will keep on working hard to further improve our product and services. We thank you very much again for your review and are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket very soon again.
Your Swissôtel Resort Phuket Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My Husband and I and my 2 teenagers stayed at this lovely Resort for 14 nights,the staff there are all very friendly, we will be back. It is close to the beach, shops, markets. Thank you to all the staff at Swissotel Kamala beach we had a wonderful holiday. D. C Huckstepp

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huckstepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest, Sunny greetings from Swissôtel Resort Phuket! Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for making our Resort your home away from home. We are very happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We will keep on working hard to even further improve our product and services to enhance our guest experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket very soon again.
Your Swissôtel Resort Phuket Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Currently staying at the Swissotel Resort Kamala for two weeks and have not been disappointed. You are made to feel very welcome with friendly staff who are able to communicate well. From the lobby to the pool the resort is simply stunning. A large water slide keeps the kids entertained for hours. The pool is magnificent, with ample deck chairs and umbrellas available. The pool is surrounded by lovely gardens beautiful palm trees and hill top views. This resort is very well cared for. What you see on the net is exactly what you get however it doesn't show the true beauty of this resort. The kids club is wonderfully equipped with friendly caring staff. Daily activities are on offer either free of charge or for a small cost depending on the activity. The gym is fantastic with excellent equipment and machines. The lobby is a lovely place to sit and relax with free wifi which is also accessible poolside and from some of the rooms maybe those closest to the lobby. The restaurant is lovely offering nice food, fantastic buffet breakfast and a cafe which offers sandwiches, cakes etc. Meals are available to order all all day from the poolside bar. Prices are reasonable of course a little more than from outside the resort however it is also convenient. Happy hour is daily from 5-7pm. The rooms are nice with a very large living area with air con in each room. Each bedroom has a television and ample cupboard space. As previous reviews have mentioned the bathroom is ridiculously small given the excess space in the overall living area however it does the job. The resort has a number of services available right out the front including a beautiful Indian restaurant (Jasleen) which is highly recommended. The convenience store is well stocked and also offers beauty facilities and massages. Tour bookings are also available. Laundry services are a available 50THB/kg. We used the laundry at the fruit stall and our clothes came back neatly folded and smelling very clean wrapped in plastic. The fruit stall offers lovely fresh fruit and delicious fruit shakes. Tuk Tuks and taxis are out the front 200THB in and around Kamala and 400 THB to Patong fixed price. The beach is a couple of minutes walk away and is lined with thatch huts and shacks offering massages, meals drinks and cocktails and some market stalls. Very safe to walk to day or night. Taking in the sunset over Kamala with a cocktail on the beach is a truly memorable experience not to be missed. Kamala town centre is a short stroll down the beach over the bridge to Tsumani Memorial Plaza offering some cafes, restaurants and some shopping. The Big C supermarket and 7 eleven is on the main street in Kamala. Recommend stocking up on water, alcohol and snacks from 7 eleven as its very cheap. This resort is beautiful and i have no hesitation in recommending it or its location. Kamala and Swissotel Resort is a wonderful choice especially for families.

Room Tip: Rooms above the ground floor have stairs only however they offer lovely views of the pool area and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MEPJOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Swissôtel Resort Phuket! We are very happy to read that you and your family had a pleasant and relaxing stay with us and that your holiday was a memorable one. We are very glad that you and your family enjoyed our services and products very much. We thank you for your valuable comment in regards to the drink and snack pricing and will take it into consideration for our next menu change. We will of course keep on working hard to even further improve our facilities and services and are already looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to Swissôtel Resort Phuket soon again.
Your Swissotel Resort Phuket Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in nov 2012. The staff are courteous and helpful.
The restaurant is excellent. The courtesy breakfast was good but could do with few variations in the daily menu especially for the vegetarians.
Kamala beach is walking distance, clean and less crowded. The only recommendation that I would like to make is to arrange a routine shuttle service to the main central shopping area atleast in the evenings. This would add a feather in the cap of the hotel. Senior citizens like us will feel safe in hotel sponsored rides rather than taking a Taxi.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramamurty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest, "Sawasdee Krub" from Swissôtel Resort Phuket! Thank you very much for your feedback and for choosing our Resort. We are very happy to learn that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We do also appreciate your suggestion in regards to the variety of vegetarian food choices and will consider this for our next menu change in order to enhance our guest experience for vegetarians. Our free shuttle service twice a day from our hotel to Patong, where we you can find the biggest shopping mall in Phuket only operates in the morning and afternoon and has been well received, but we will of course try to take your suggestion into consideration for our future schedule and route planning. We thank you very much for your valuable feedback and we are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket very soon again.
Your Swissôtel Resort Phuket Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here with my partner, his brother and sister-in-law and a friend in March 2013.

The Swissotel was nice enough but not great. It looked quite good for young families.

The staff were friendly and helpful (helped confirm our in-country transfers).

The pool was nice (pool slide, swim-up bar, bridges).

Location was good (not far from the beach, small local eateries nearby and fancy restaurants further up the road).

The gym was good (good equipment, yoga mats, table tennis, airconditioned, clean).

The room had a strange sewerage smell (our friends confirmed their room had the same problem).

The layout of the hotel made it a little claustrophobic (two long buildings overlook the pool), you could be anywhere in the world.

We were just passing through Phuket, so this hotel was fine for that purpose.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spaghetti-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest, "Sawasdee Krub" from Swissôtel Resort Phuket! We hope you and your family are well and thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. It is only with the valuable feedback of our guests that we are able to maintain and even improve our high standards and quality of service. Of course it is with pleasure to read that you and your family overall enjoyed your short stay with us, but we of course also sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused by the unpleasant smell from the drainage. Please rest assured that this does not reflect our standards at all. We do also feel sorry that you did not like the setup of our Resort with the two buildings on each side of the pool, giving every guest the opportunity to have the view on the beautiful pool and garden area. Nevertheless we do hope to have the chance to welcoming you back again soon again.
Your Swissôtel Resort Phuket Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.6 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
1.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#66 of 387 in Kathu
790 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
2 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Address: 100/10 Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Swissotel Resort Phuket)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range: $81 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Kamala Beach just 30 minutes southwest of Phuket International Airport, Swissotel Resort Phuket is the ultimate resort retreat for friends, families and small groups seeking relaxing beach holidays. Designed for the discerning, modern traveller, Swissotel Resort Phuket offers a choice of one, two and three-bedroom suites. In addition to natural sun-kissed beaches and turquoise seas, the resort ensures the comfort of each guest with an extensive range of facilities including several dining options, a lagoon-style swimming pool, spa and fitness centre, Kids World and a wide array of recreational activities. For a corporate meeting, wedding or gala event the selection of eight meeting rooms, with capacity for up to 150 persons can be styled to suit personal tastes and requirements, while the event management team will ensure that world renowned Swiss hospitality and reliability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phuket At Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Courtyard Phuket Kamala Beach
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing