We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
38
12
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
38
12
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews john and denise fish and chips the pub warm welcome fabulous night new owners local beer full scottish breakfast the sticky toffee pudding underfloor heating steak and ale pie lovely couple excellent food dornoch firth feel very welcome night stay scallops
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 58 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2019 via mobile

Spent a long weekend in Portmahomack recently and ate here twice. On both occasions the food was good quality pub grub, wine was very reasonably priced and the service was excellent. A great family friendly pub/hotel .

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

We have just returned from a stay at the Castle Hotel as we were attending a wedding in the area. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and we loved the Highland Park room we were allocated. Denise and John work tirelessly to create a cosy, very clean home from home and nothing is too much trouble. They even came to the rescue and drove us to the wedding reception 7 miles away when we realised we had missed the bus! Wish we had booked in for a second night. We will definitely stay again and will take our two children next time as this is a family friendly hotel. Well done Denise and John. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 584donnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019 via mobile

We had an evening meal here and the staff could not be more helpful or accommodating , unfortunately the food was a huge disappointment
The choice is not huge
My fish and chips were simply dreadfull , the fish was overcooked but was not fresh , the batter was as hard as a rock , not good , my wife’s scampi on the other hand was described as good ,
This was pointed out to the staff who responded with a discount
But you cannot get away from the fact that this was poor quality fish cooked poorly
Nice place but stay away from the fish ...

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank A4030BAgeorgec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2019

I'm sorry that you felt the need to write such a damaging review. As I explained on the evening. The fish which you describe as "not fresh" was purchased from our supplier the previous day. We had no other complaints about this batch of fish but if you had told us before you ate all of it we could have taken this up with the supplier. Similarly our chef had prepared over 40 meals that day without complaint and if a mistake i.e. over-cooking was your issue then if you had mentioned this earlier then we would have happily replaced the meal.

I dispute your statement as we do not purchase poor quality fish our current supplier is a local, well established fishmonger. We have, as I explained to you at the time, recently changed to this supplier based purely on our chef's preference for the quality of the fish.







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019 via mobile

Got a chance for a flier to get to the Port a day earlier than planned to be here for Gala day. Checked with John and as expected fully booked. Phone call from John on Wednesday to say he'd had a cancellation. Brilliant. Arrived Friday. Lovely night in the Castle. John and Denise are such great hosts. Lively evening. Pub busy and friendly. Room super comfortable and spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast to start the day and set us up for a great Gala day. What's not to like.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank clarion38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2019

Wonderful four night break, would happily have extended to six, had there been room.
Hosts John and Denise are lovely, nothing too much trouble for them, helpful and friendly, extremely hard working. In the couple of years they have been at The Castle they have brought it back to being a hub in the local community. The atmosphere and ambience in the bar is great, it was gala week when we were there, lots going off and everyone welcome.
Room was spotlessly clean,plenty of tea, coffee, bottled water and shortbread. Bathroom was new with underfloor heating, lovely toiletries, white fluffy towels.
Make sure you book your evening meals, it does get busy. The evening meals were beautifully cooked and reasonably priced. We would have liked the specials board to have changed to give us more variety, but we appreciated it was a very busy week. The full Scottish breakfast was amazing, plenty of choice if you preferred something lighter too.

Portmahomack is a hidden gem, we have passed by many times, never visited before. We loved it so much, we have decided to build a house nearby. Thank you John and Denise for your help in finding a plot.
We highly recommend The Castle and look forward to returning.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews