We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gao Shan Ching Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Wankou Hotel(Alishan)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dafeng Hotel(Alishan)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Alishan House(Alishan)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
4
9
30
22
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
9
30
22
20
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 85 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We booked the last room in the hotel, the VIP family suite. Check-in and check-out were fast and painless. Take note that the free breakfast is Chinese-style, rice porridge and savory dishes at a nearby restaurant which was no issue for me but don't expect a continental breakfast. The room and water heater only comes on from 5pm to 7.30pm which is fine because we were out hiking but problematic if you decided to stay in. The room floor is really dusty which we noticed when the soles of our feet turned black. Finally, the wifi is fast when it works but our room was located in an odd corner so wifi only worked when I was standing at our room door or in the hallway.

Room Tip: Don't pick rooms behind the elevator if you want decent wifi reception.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel is near the bus station, where the tourist can take a bus up to Alishan. The best part about the hotel room is that it has heater facility. It's also convenient to obtain hot and cold drinking water from the common corridor. The proprietor is also very helpful with travel tips. All in all, we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GontNooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a night during our trip to Alishan. The hotel is near to the bus station (is actually a open space car park, with many restaurants and shops in that area), about 5 mins walk using a staircase. When the bus arrived at the bus station, I gave the hotel a call, and within few mins the van came and picked us up. When we reached the hotel, the lady at the counter was very kind to explain to us regarding the Alishan forest and the train timing etc. They also have optional tour to see sunrise at Yushan which cost NT300 per person. However, we decided to take the train and go for the sunrise at Alishan, so we did not join the optional tour. If I had stayed there for 2 nights, most probably I will join this tour on the second morning. The room we stayed is a family room with 2 queen beds. The room is very basic, but towels, slippers, toothbrush, shower gel, shampoo were provided. The room is not very sound-proofed, so we could hear people talking ourside. Hot and cold water dispenser is available at the corridor, so guests can get drinking water or make tea / cup noodles easily. Free Wifi is also available in this hotel, the signal is good therefore I could Skype my oversea friend. Breakfast was included in the room rates, so we took our breakfast after seeing the sunrise. Do not expect too much from the breakfast. As I like porridge with pickles and salted eggs, so these were enough to fill my stomach. After we checked out from the room, the hotel van drove us and our luggages back to the bus station, where we waited for the bus to sun moon lake. Without luggage, one can walk up to the bus station using the staircase.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fayesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived at night after a day of travelling from Taoyuan International Airport. Not sure if it was because we were rather late in our booking, we were given the suite, '山景', which was at the top floor of this establishment. Indeed, our room had the view of the mountains around Alishan area which was very beautiful. Initially, we didn't expect to squeeze all 5 of us in the same room, however upon checking with the reception, yes, we were booked for that one room. All 5 of us. The suite was rather big. However, there were only enough sleeping beds for 3 persons while the other 2 had to use the tatami bed which was together in the living room. One plus point was that there was jaccuzi bath tub in the toilet. However, since there were 5 of us, waiting time to do our business was lengthened. Even though this hotel provides basic conditions for staying a night for us, it does the job of giving us a good location in terms of visiting Alishan Recreation Area and to watch the sunrise at Zushan since it was near the train station where the train departs at between 4am and 5am to take people there. The breakfast was however mediocre and did not give me the appetite to eat upon just looking at the food. Had to go to the 7-11 to get some tea egg and cup noodles to fill myself for breakfast. Overall, don't expect luxury to stay in this hotel. Just enough for a night stay to explore Alishan.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckzx93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

要去往酒店,必须上下阶梯,很喘,不适合老人家。但房间不错,很清洁,也设有无线上网服务,也有浴缸。
Have to walk some distance to the hotel.Not suitable for the old person.But the room is clean,and got wifi.It also provided a bathtube in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews