We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect for us and also great value for money.”
Review of The Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anchorage
Ranked #1 of 11 Stilbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We've just returned to the U. K. after a trip to South Africa which included a 2 night stay at the Anchorage. Annette and Craig were the best of hosts - nothing was too much trouble for them and our room (no. 4 in the photos) was perfect for our needs, with the balcony looking out over the river. The accommodation was welcoming, comfortable and spotlessly clean (daily servicing came as a pleasant surprise - we'd have tidied if we'd realised!). A very nice touch was the proper not instant coffee left for our use. Altogether a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annieandpaul6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnetteThorne, Owner at The Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Annie and Paul,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a guest comment. And thanks very much for your super review. Both much appreciated. Craig and I enjoyed our chats with you. We hope to see you again sometime. For now we wish you a festive season. Best regards Annette & Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 99 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to unplug relax and recharge the anchorage is the place for you. A stunningly peaceful location on the river bank with canoes readily available.  You'll receive a warm welcome from the owners and their incredibly well behaved dogs. The rooms are large, tastefully decorated and include a small kitchen for self-catering. Open a bottle of wine, sit on the veranda and relax as the sun sets over the river. If you are B&B-ing you'll also enjoy a nice breakfast with that glorious view across the river to keep you entertained.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inverhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnetteThorne, Owner at The Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Hi there,

thank you very much for taking your time to write a comment to Tripadvisor. And thank you very much for your nice review. Much appreciated. It was very nice to host you.
Would you mind if we put your review onto our website aswell?
Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again sometime.

Kind regards

Annette & Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

i chose the anchorage as it looked peaceful and inviting and I was definitaly not disappointed, everything I saw on the website and more. dogs nearly giving us a warmer welcome than Annette,our room had a little stoep and I caught the last rays of the sun with a glass of wine in my hand as I could hear and see some people on the other side of the river catching or trying to catch fish and the others making a huge bon fire. the sounds of some sheep on a farm close by and the odd motorboat chucking up the river is part of the anchorage. the room had a king size bed, kitchenette with everything you need, fresh milk, coffee, tea, sugar, tv with dstv.if you walk to the riversedge there is some canoes for your own use, a swimminhg pool is being built and breakfast is also served although we opted for selfcatering

Room Tip: we choose the room at the bottom and on the end but all the bottom rooms have a stoep and you can ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvettealbertse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We enjoyed the location on the river on this our first visit to Stilbaai,understandably quiet mid-Winter. The river is calming, the bay is lovely, the town like many others has lost much of its character. We chose the very affordable self-catering option, and the kitchen did perhaps lack essential items such as a 'non-stick' pan, but generally very comfortable. Underfloor heating did not work, and we requested a heater which was provided immediately. The owners were away, and whilst others might want a b&b or guest house near the beach, we liked it here. Be sure to visit The Press Cafe restaurant on a nearby olive farm, and the privately owned Inverroch Gin Distillery, fascinating and worthwhile.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the end room as it afforded more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Craig and Annette are amazing hosts; very warm and friendly. The Anchorage was a perfect getaway from some busy spots on our South African trip. The setting is tranquil and majestic with a lovely view overlooking the river. The rooms were spotless and well appointed. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leegooding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We needed a one night stopover in Stillbaai and chose 'The Anchorage' on a friend's recommendation. The best part is warm reception from Craig and Annette. Rooms are spotless and private but further back from river than i expected. Kitchen area is cramped and has insufficient wall plugs and bench space for all the implements provided.
Stillbaai river mouth is very picturesque, and allow 2-3 hrs to meander around beach and lagoon. Lovely river for novice kiyaker/canoeist. But not much else to see in this seaside town.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MGM1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Craig and Annette are great hosts and have created a very nice place to stay on the banks of the river in Stilbaai. The pictures on their website tell the tale very accurately. This is definitely somewhere my wife and I will be staying again

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicklongley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stilbaai hotels
2.3 mi away
Botterkloof Resort
Botterkloof Resort
#2 of 11 in Stilbaai
62 reviews
2.7 mi away
Charlotte House
Charlotte House
#3 of 11 in Stilbaai
49 reviews
7.9 mi away
A Farm Story @ Stilbaai
A Farm Story @ Stilbaai
#1 of 9 in Stilbaai
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Osler Place
Osler Place
#3 of 9 in Stilbaai
14 reviews
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
Myrtles Retreat
#7 of 11 in Stilbaai
3 reviews
2.4 mi away
Adagio Self Catering
Adagio Self Catering
#2 of 9 in Stilbaai
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Address: Off R305 at 60km Speed Sign | Turn Right at 60km Sign, Drive Parallel Back to the End, Stilbaai 6674, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stilbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stilbaai
Price Range: $66 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five stylish bedrooms include quality king-size or twin beds, full bathrooms (free standing shower, bath etc), kitchenette (fully equipped with stove / oven, microwave, fridge, kettle, cutlery, crockery etc.) and balcony / verandah with lovely views onto the river. Every unit has a Weber braai at its disposal. Please note: The satellite TV (including M-Net) is a shared one.The balcony and private verandahs invite guests to relax and enjoy the spectacular views and the tranquil surroundings. The sun sets behind the river and the hills which can be experienced from anywhere on the property. Why not have a swim in the river, or catch some fish or enjoy the scenery on one of our canoes?FacilitiesThe Anchorage is operated by a friendly German-South African couple - Annette and Craig Thorne - who have been in the hospitality industry for many years. You can choose between Self Catering or Bed and Breakfast accommodation and delicious breakfasts are served.A swimming pool with spacious outside area rounds up the beautiful setting. A comfortable lounge including a fire place was added in December 2012.The Anchorage is a perfect place to unwind and relax. Braai (barbecue) areas (ie Weber braai's) and canoes available. 9-hole golf course, scenic walks and river and sea fishing. Wir sprechen Deutsch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing