We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality & Super Accomodation”
Review of The Barracks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Barracks
Ranked #1 of 27 Colesberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Our stay at The Barracks was a great experience for the whole family. The hospitality of Mike and Annalie was wonderful and the evening dinner of roast lamb was a real bonus after a long day of eating junk food in the car. The two rooms and en-suite bathrooms were well equipped, clean and very comfortable, and our hosts went the extra mile to accommodate us with our three children. We are really pleased to have found this midway stop on route to Cape Town and will definitely stay there again in future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBS_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 215 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

We love the Barracks and have stayed there numerous times. New owners Annalie and Mike have spruced the rooms up with new linen, bathrobes and slippers. As always the welcome is warm, the food delicious and there is a great selection of wines. A great place for a peaceful sleep before embarking on the next leg of our journey. Another plus is their dog friendly rooms - our mutts also love staying there and Alex one of our males has fallen in love with Lumi the resident husky.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda-Lillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We arrived late after a long trip (8 hours driving) from Pretoria where we are visiting our family stationed there. The host was most welcoming and, to my great joy, served us with a stiff scotch and soda on the house. The rooms were average but very clean and the breakfast was lovely!!

A good place to break a long trip to Cape Town!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newsuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

What a superb place!! Michael and Annalie provide the perfect overnight stop on the road between Jhb and Knysna. The warm welcome, outstanding service and superb dinner made the long day on the road very worthwhile.
We look forward to visiting again on our return trip!!
Travelled as a couple

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent a night in Colesberg on the way from Johannesburg to Cape Town. The place was amazing. Peaceful, clean and quite. I believe that is the best choice in town. Big thanks to the host, Michael! So thoughtfull and welcoming! Dinner was wonderful and breakfast was perfect! The place itself has a historical background. Really exceeded our expectations. Thanks for hosting us!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Ilya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A quaint atmospheric old place with much going for it. Probably the best thing is the hosts, David and Lorraine, who are both charming and convivial. The rooms are comfortable and very different from your average cookie cutter Holiday Inn. Dinner was excellent, with Lorraine's cheesecake unanimously voted as the best we have ever had.
The location downtown is sadly a bit seedy and rundown.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent a very pleasant evening at the Barracks in Colesberg. The owners Dave and Lorraine are very hands on and incredibly hospitable. The food was delicious like a homecooked meal that Grandma used to make and they serve you addiotional portions without a fuss. Dave serves a wide selection of brandies and wines. The facility is stooped with history and tradition. The rooms are well appointed and painfully clean. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOCK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colesberg hotels
1.1 mi away
Die Kleipot Guest House
Die Kleipot Guest House
#2 of 27 in Colesberg
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lighthouse Guesthouse
The Lighthouse Guesthouse
#3 of 27 in Colesberg
269 reviews
1 mi away
Honeylocust
Honeylocust
#5 of 27 in Colesberg
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
De Vuur Guesthouse
De Vuur Guesthouse
#7 of 27 in Colesberg
29 reviews
0.8 mi away
Herb Garden Guest House
Herb Garden Guest House
#6 of 27 in Colesberg
60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Toverberg Guest Houses
Toverberg Guest Houses
#9 of 27 in Colesberg
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barracks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barracks

Address: 15 17 d'Urban Row, Colesberg 9795, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Colesberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Colesberg
Price Range: $85 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barracks 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Barracks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing