We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midway stopover”
Review of Honeylocust

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honeylocust
Ranked #5 of 28 Colesberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Midway stopover”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The perfect stopover between Jhb and CT. Stopped over there on our way back to Jhb, and was not let down. The premises were very well kept, rooms had luxurious finishing and the room was very spacious and homey. An ingenious shelf in the cupboard served as a coffee stand for a quick coffee and a rusk before hitting the road again.

Dinner at the restaurant was perfect!! We had the steak and the best lamb chops at very decent prices. This was all served in a cozy restaurant complete with a bar area and outside seating.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allenlarkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    43
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
37
58
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

What a pleasant surprise to find this amazing place in the heart of the Karoo! Stayed at Honeylocust on 23 Dec 2013. The rooms were clean, beautifully appointed. The staff friendly and the food was better than any 5 star restaurant! Cant wait do a Cape Town trip again, just to stay over at Honeylocust! Cant fault this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stopped over on our way from joburg to the cape. The rooms were awesome. Air conditioned with high ceilings. Very pleasant in the December heat. Large bathrooms. Good linen and bed. Dinner was excellent. Nothing better than a karoo lamb chop. Very pretty gardens. Well priced.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TeenaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Honeylocust Guest House was our stop over on two ocassions over the Christmas 2013 period and comes highly recommended. The accomodation is superb, with individual rooms with a patio, beautifully furnished and well positioned to provide privacy. The staff are friendly and always willing to assist, even to the point of making a special meal off the menu.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

A divine little getaway in Colesburg. The owners have done some recent expansion which makes this little guest house feel more like a tranquil country village. A great place to stop over on the way to or from Cape Town - or even as the destination itself!! This is the second time we have stayed at Honeylocust and we are more impressed each time!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jingo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a perfect overnight experience at Honeylocust in Colesberg. They gave us the Turtle Dove room, which was very spacious, incredibly clean and uncluttered. The towels and linen were fresh and of very good quality. We thought it was a nice welcoming touch that they called us a few hours before our arrival to pre-order our dinner, which we thoroughly enjoyed at their splendid restaurant. We absolutely devoured their prawn starter course, which we never expected to be so deliciously fresh and tasty, (considering we were in the middle of the Karoo). We had two different lamb dishes for mains – both of which were just as enjoyable. All in all, Honeylocust offers clean & comfortable up-market accommodation, a welcoming & relaxing atmosphere, delightful food and first class service. Lots of value for money and nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was the second time I stayed in Honeylocust. This time, I requested a room with a bath and the guesthouse didn't let me down.

The rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are beautiful. The bath is stunning and I am pretty sure the world's problems can be solved in the beautiful bath.

The only thing I would warn prospective guests against is the extremely slippery bathroom floors. It wouldn't take much to fall down - even when the floor is dry.

Dinner and breakfast were delicious and the staff truly went out of their way to accommodate my vegetarian "fiemies."

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lize D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colesberg hotels
0.8 mi away
The Barracks
The Barracks
#1 of 28 in Colesberg
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lighthouse Guesthouse
The Lighthouse Guesthouse
#4 of 28 in Colesberg
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Die Kleipot Guest House
Die Kleipot Guest House
#2 of 28 in Colesberg
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Herb Garden Guest House
Herb Garden Guest House
#6 of 28 in Colesberg
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
De Vuur Guesthouse
De Vuur Guesthouse
#12 of 28 in Colesberg
7 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nanna Rous' Town House
Nanna Rous' Town House
#11 of 28 in Colesberg
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeylocust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeylocust

Property: Honeylocust
Address: 7 Le Roux Street, Colesberg 9795, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Colesberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Colesberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Honeylocust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing