We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite Karoo stopover” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuilfontein Stable Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colesberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kuilfontein Stable Cottages
Ranked #2 of 26 Colesberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“My favorite Karoo stopover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there on our way down to Knysna in December. As always it was lovely. The farm is right next to the N1, easy to find, but you have absolutely no sound from the road once at the cottages or outside. I love the fact that they phone you during the day to take your order for dinner. The 3 course dinners are amazing! With their cosy little pub there are plenty drinks to choose from. The rooms are very tasteful and comfy. The owners, Penny and Leigh, together with their daughter, Lexi, and her husband are great company. I highly recommend staying and dining here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    50
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
74
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
180 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were recommended Kuilfontein by friends who stay there regularly - and it is dog friendly. It's an excellent overnight stop with comfortable rooms, beautiful Karoo views, a home cooked and tasty dinner, and very personal attendance by the owner/managers. Our dog was welcomed which was great.

Room Tip: The rooms are converted stables. Have a look at the website which will give you a good idea of what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

What a beautiful farm, and such an idylic break after hours on the road. We arrived as the sun was setting, and were welcomed by a little lamb, it's mom, and a blue crane. The service was great, staff very friendly. We sat outside for pre-dinner drinks, which is nice, as you get to chat to fellow travellers. Dinner could be pre-booked and was a 3 course meal, and even though it was a bit expensive, was delicious. There was a power outage while we were there, and all the staff jumped in to fix the problem and make sure guests were taken care of. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. My only negative would be that rooms are a bit on top of each other, so privacy is a bit limited, but having been stables originally, there's not much that can be done. I love the fact that they're pet friendly, and we will definitely be back! If you wake up super early, do yourself a favour and take a walk around. The quiet and beauty is amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DominiqueSchoonKrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place came recommended from a fellow traveller and expat. It is a great stopover between Johannesburg and Cape Town. Friendly welcome from staff and animals alike. Real home cooking for evening dinner (fresh from the farm) and a peaceful night sleep. Join fellow travellers in the cosy 'pub' for an appero and again for a nightcap. I would stay again at the stables. Thank you Penny and Leigh and Grant and Lexi. Oh and there is even a runway on the farm if you want to fly yourself in!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
183 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We arrived late, after a mishap on our journey to Coleberg, but nothing was too much trouble for Lexi and her husband. We were greeted by the most fantastic 3 course dinner of springbok carpaccio, the most delicious, tenderful and flavourful roast karoo lamb with an apple and aniseed sauce, and chocolate capuccino panna cotta's. This description does not do justice to the very skilled chef's presentation or cooking skills. In the meantime, the electric blankets had been switched on by the staff and when we returned to our room, the bed was inviting and toasty. The bathroom shower produced hot water in abundance which is always important when on a journey. The breakfast was good and tasty and the coffee, great, and we were really sad to say goodbye to the friendly, welcoming staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed twice on a Joburg to Cape Town, and back, road trip. Heated bed/rooms, good food, excellent travel tips to avoid trucks and/or road works. I thoroughly enjoyed the alternate routes suggested.

I had a very comfortable, if brief, stay. I left feeling rested and glad I'd split the driving over two days.

Downside: poor connectivity, EDGE mobile data only, although fiber is being installed all the way down the N1...

Room Tip: Be specific if you want a bath or shower in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bretton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

If your touring South Africa or just a businessman/woman and you need a halfway stop between the southern Cape and Johannesburg or Pretoria, I can recommend the Kuilfontein Stable Cottages, a nice, well appointed Bed & Breakfast at Colesberg. The rooms are rustic but well appointed. There is a bar and a glassed-in smokers room next to the bar so smokers do not feel cut off. The place is very easy to find and the distance from the main center and the farm dogs give it a good measure of security. Penny, your hostess, is very amiable and the cooking is really good. Prices by South African standards are good and very good by international standards.

Room Tip: For the little extra the Luxury rooms are worth it and a little away from the pub/dining area for ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captain1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colesberg hotels
9.1 mi away
The Lighthouse Guesthouse
The Lighthouse Guesthouse
#4 of 26 in Colesberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
8.3 mi away
Onze Rust Guest House & Caravan Park
8.6 mi away
La Provence Bed & Breakfast
La Provence Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 26 in Colesberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Aan de Voor Safaris
Aan de Voor Safaris
#21 of 26 in Colesberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Barracks
The Barracks
#1 of 26 in Colesberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
8.7 mi away
Traveller's Joy
Traveller's Joy
#22 of 26 in Colesberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuilfontein Stable Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuilfontein Stable Cottages

Property: Kuilfontein Stable Cottages
Address: N 1 12 Km South of Colesberg | Karoo, Colesberg 9795, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Colesberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Colesberg
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing