We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find”
Review of Smallicombe Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smallicombe Farm
Ranked #3 of 5 Colyton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful find”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on the internet via the River Cottage website. Right from the first contact the experience was a pleasure. The reception was friendly, room was clean and comfy and the breakfast was excellent. Can't reccomend it enough.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkieLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

A great B&B on a working farm. The hosts give you a warm and friendly welcome. The bedroom is warm, cosy and the shower is great. You can eat the farms rare breed sausages and bacon for breakfast - absolutely delicious!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank edwinacornelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at this delightful bed and breakfast. The accommodation is first rate. The owners are friendly and very welcoming. The breakfasts are freshly cooked to order and superb. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in Shipon which is a recent addition to the complex. The room and bathroom are in excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2323Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We thought this a great place. Our kids (5 and 18 months) loved it - the animals, the play area, the toys. They loved watching the pig and chicken feeding and collecting eggs. We had the farmhouse family room, with separate bunk room. The separate room was great to be able to have our own space. There were biscuits and good tea and coffee in the room and microwave (useful for heating milk). Wine glasses were appreciated. Very quiet location though the cockerel might wake light sleepers. Breakfast was lovely - excellent coffee, non-greasy full English, delicious (home-grown) sausages. If you didn't want the full English, other options were available. Owners are very helpful on recommendations and advice. The country-side around is lovely with lots of activities/places to visit nearby. It is about 5 mins drive to Honiton or a country pub for food. And about 20 to the coast. Everything was really clean and well presented, including on-site laundry facilities. It felt as if the owners had tried to think of and address everything (successfully). We would stay again without question and recommend to others, the biggest driver being how much our children loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoGE74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I can't rave about this place enough! For a 2nd year me and my daughter have returned, staying again in The Inglenook on self catering basis. As soon as you arrive, you are made to feel very welcome by Maggie and Karen. The addition this year of the childrens' play area is a bonus - my 7 year old loved the swings, trampoline and badminton and of course playing with Honey the family's dog. It's a great, safe environment to let your child have freedom to run around and make new friends. And for me to enjoy the peace and tranquility of of the beautiful Devonshire countryside. Will I return? More than likely!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie_Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights B & B in one of the family suites. The main room was huge (compared to what I am used to at home!) and well equipped with tea, coffee, biscuits and a fridge. Whilst my son is past this stage, this would have been immensely useful for someone staying with a smaller child who is still having lots of milk. There was also a microwave for warming it in. There was a separate good sized room with bunk beds in for the kids. This was part of what drew me to Smallicombe as many other family rooms simply offered a single bed squashed into a double room that is really too small for it. It also enabled us to close the door and relax in our own space once little one was asleep. Good sized, very clean bathroom with a roll top bath which was a nice treat for me. On arrival, we received a very warm welcome and a special greeting from the dog. Owners were fantastic at keeping the dogs away when they could see me son was nervous around them. Lovely dining room for breakfast and lots of choice. Would definitely recommend the sausages but lighter choices availble for those that want it. My son had a special place setting with kids crockery, cutlery and mat which was a nice touch and made it a bit more special for him. The tea and toast ran freely and nothing was too much trouble, even disposing of a very annoying wasp! Each morning everyone in the dining room was asked what they were doing that day and offered advice and even discount tickets on where they were going. We were also given very good directions when we asked for them. Although Smallicombe can seem a bit out of the way, it was a really easy and surprisingly quick drive to the main road so everything was easily accessible whilst still having the pleasure of being completely away from it all in a really beautiful part of Devon. We didn't have time on this trip to enjoy the farm as much as we would have liked but my son has told us that 'next time when we come to stay' he might like to help with the animals. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PumpkinBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in the Hayloft - a very comfortable and modern apartment with great views. It provided an excellent base for exploring the surrounding region, which is stunning with some great little coves and beaches.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATaylor30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyton
4.2 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
4.8 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Old Bakehousei
The Old Bakehousei
#1 of 5 in Colyton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
3.4 mi away
Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smallicombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smallicombe Farm

Property: Smallicombe Farm
Address: Northleigh, Colyton EX24 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Colyton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smallicombe Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic rural setting of East Devon yet only a short drive to the famous Jurassic Coast. Smallicombe Farm is a traditional working rare breed farm with 4* Gold Award winning B&B and 4* Self-catering cottages. Come and meet the Rare breed pigs, sheep and cattle. You will have the chance to roam through our woodlands and spot wildlife in their native habitat. Wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Smallicombe Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smallicombe Farm Colyton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing