We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning conversion and excellent stay”
Review of Smallicombe Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smallicombe Farm
Ranked #3 of 5 Colyton B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning conversion and excellent stay”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at Smallicombe Farm earlier this year and had an excellent break dispite terrible weather. The conversions are really well designed, the hosts are great the food is good and we felt very welcome.

The rooms are are a great size and our daughter also really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was our third stay here and it gets better every time we come. Spotlessly clean rooms tastefully decorated set in lovely countryside and delicious breakfast to set you up for your day we will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trialsbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Smallicombe in February. Great location, set in a quiet valley and easy access to the south coast for exploring. Karen and Matt were fantastic, very welcoming and the place feels like home from home. We went B&B, room was modern, free wifi, TV, coffee and tea making. Breakfast is fantastic! You feel really close and involved with a working farm. We spent time on the farm, helping with the lambing and with the pigs. They have 2 great farm dogs too! No hesitation in recommending Smallicombe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0ndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at Smallicombe when we needed weekend accommodation close to Honiton. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. On a cold January afternoon we we offered tea and biscuits on our arrival which we ate by a roaring log burner in the beautiful barn conversion which housed our room. Karen who looked after us, couldn't have been more helpful, ordering us a taxi to Honiton which we needed that evening. Our room was very tasteful decorated, warm, with a lovely shower en-suite and toiletries. It was spotlessly clean. After a good breakfast the next day we asked to see their rare breed pigs and sheep, which I found fascinating and felt like we'd stayed in a really special and interesting place. I was even emailed after we'd left by Karen who had found some hand cream I'd left in the room. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a great place to stay. I loved seeing all the animals (particularly the pigs) and I am sure that all children and adults will have a great time. Also a great location to explore the jurrasic coast from.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. Our room had a double bath which was great after many hours of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Smallicombe Farm – The Hayloft

Real House Plants, Tasteful Decoration, Wi-Fi, superb facilities, extreme attention to detail! Not the normal attributes that you would expect from a self-catering cottage in the UK, but on this occasion we found that the Hayloft at Smallicombe Farm were all of these, along with many more.

We found the attention to detail was carried throughout the accommodation in every aspect. With fresh milk and hot beverage making facilities, along with an offer of farm fresh produce for our breakfast the next day. Our hosts ‘Ian, Maggie, Matt & Karen’ were on hand to make our stay pleasant, and offer local knowledge and advice of where to go, and places to see.
Our visit was in early march and even though you expect the worst in weather, the views from the windows were exceptional, looking out onto a tranquil surround, with the back drop of a real traditional working farm. The birth of lambs and piglets around the farm gave an ambiance of excitement and a lust for life.

After a superb evening meal, at a local hostelry. Our bed was found to be one of the most comfortable that we have ever found and comparable to a first class hotel. After a leisurely breakfast our host gave us a in depth and informative tour of this traditional working farm.
We would strongly recommend the accommodation at Smallicombe Farm, all of which has evolved with the help of feedback from past clients. Giving to facilities that are exactly what the clients’ want, and have asked for. Furthermore the location is exceptional with a short hop to the seafront and far enough away from towns and built up areas, to give a real feel of country living. A great base for touring the many visitor attractions of South Devon and South West Dorset.

Room Tip: When arriving make sure you approach from the direction of Honiton, The roads from other directions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

A wonderful peaceful break, booked last minute but couldn't have wished for anything better. We stayed in the farmhouse which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Karen and Maggie made us very welcome and it felt like nothing was too much trouble. There was lots of choice on the B&B menu which definitely set you up for the day

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyton
4.2 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
4.8 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Old Bakehousei
The Old Bakehousei
#1 of 5 in Colyton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
3.4 mi away
Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smallicombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smallicombe Farm

Property: Smallicombe Farm
Address: Northleigh, Colyton EX24 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Colyton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smallicombe Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic rural setting of East Devon yet only a short drive to the famous Jurassic Coast. Smallicombe Farm is a traditional working rare breed farm with 4* Gold Award winning B&B and 4* Self-catering cottages. Come and meet the Rare breed pigs, sheep and cattle. You will have the chance to roam through our woodlands and spot wildlife in their native habitat. Wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Smallicombe Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smallicombe Farm Colyton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing