We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful warm welcome”
Review of The Old Bakehouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Bakehouse
Ranked #1 of 5 Colyton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful warm welcome”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

we had a fantastic 2 nights at the old bakehouse. frances gave us a warm welcome with much appreciated tea and biscuits on arrival. we had a family room and a double room and both were spotless and very comfortable.the showers were lovely and hot and the beds very cosy. the breakfasts were cooked to order, hot fresh and tasty with a great choice. colyton is a wonderful place and we will definately be returning and wouldnt think of booking anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karl p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesColyton, Owner at The Old Bakehouse, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
A very big thank you for your positive and encouraging comments. Myself and the team are thrilled you had a good experience here.
Very grateful .
Regards, Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
58
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked into The Old Bakehouse as it had been recommended by friends. We were graciously received by Frances, who made us very welcome indeed.

The staff were all friendly and helpful. There were little touches that made the difference between The Old Bakehouse and a run of the mill establishment.

Breakfast was a thing of beauty, using very locally sourced ingredients, grilled to perfection.

For friendliness and cleanliness, look no further!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverHare3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We received a very warm welcome from Frances, with a pot of tea and plate of biscuits. She organised taxis for us to and from our restaurant for dinner, and made the most delicious breakfast ever - all freshly cooked. She really was an excellent hostess.

The B&B has everything you need really - there's a lounge with plenty of books and (board) games if you want some chill out space, and secure parking for one car per room. The rooms were pretty although we found the bed rather too soft. The shower was excellent, really good water pressure, which is so unusual. I also thought it was pretty good value.

We didn't get chance to look around Colyton but I understand that there are places to eat there within walking distance, plus the tram down the Ax estuary. The church also looked lovely.

The other helpful but unusual thing was that Frances was willing to take a single night booking at a weekend - it wasn't high season admittedly, but the other B&Bs we had contacted were not willing to do so.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puffpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire nited Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in September 1012 and came back the next week for two more nights. Frances greeted us warmly with a pot of tea and biscuits on our arrival. Our room was large and comfortable with a spacious ensuite, shower/bath. Lovely fluffy towels and and complimentory shower gels and shampoos.
The breakfast was all good. Everything you needed was there and the full English was delicious. Frances made us so welcome that we felt at home.
The B&b ia a lovely building with parking area at the rear of the house.Colyton is a very pretty town and has two pubs, one was just across the road and we had good food there. We highly recommend The Old bakehouse and will come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I highly recomend this place. The room was really clean and comfortable. There were lovely touches such as matching bedding sets, lovely soft towels and real milk. Francis has great attention to detail which made the stay special. We were greeted with a lovely pot of tea.

The food was great, nothing was too much trouble and the village is beautiful.

There is nothing I can think of that I would add to this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesColyton, Owner at The Old Bakehouse, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. The feedback is very helpful to us as well as future guests. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay!
Many thanks, Frances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at this B and B for just one night en route to visit friends. This was our first experience in a B and B with two small children. We all received a very warm welcome from Frances, with tea and biscuits. We had a lovely room and were encouraged to use the lounge area which had many books and games to keep our older child occupied. Breakfast was delicious, and Frances readily catered for all our needs, as indeed she did throughout our stay. The Bakehouse itself is a lovely building, and was very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudemirdum
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed, as Dutch people, together with our friends for four nights in this lovely B&B. Upon arrival we were welcomed by Frances, could park our car on the premises and got a more than warm welcome.
Not only Colyton is very attractive, Frances' place showed how to make a holiday more than just a stay. Very nice and spacious rooms, a fantastic bathroom, and then the breakfast in the morning. It was a feast on its own. The very well dressed girls took care of everything we needed. As foreigners we got very good advice on trips we could make in the surroundings of Colyton, a beautiful place we can recommend to everyone.
If we come back to this area in the future we most certainly will stay again in The Old Bakehouse.

Room Tip: All rooms are evenly excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyton
1.0 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
284 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
349 reviews
4.2 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
157 reviews
8.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
452 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakehouse

Property: The Old Bakehouse
Address: Lower Church Street, Colyton, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Colyton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300 year old characterful Grade II Listed Building with some original features. The Old Bakehouse is a 4star silver rated B&B housing twin, double or family ensuite rooms. Single occupancy rooms are available, and we offer group self catering breaks.Situated in the Saxon town of Colyton, nestling in the Axe Valley, and 3 miles from the World Heritage Jurassic Coast at Seaton.The Old Bakehouse is ideally located near Lyme Bay and between the coastal towns of Lyme Regis and Sidmouth , on the borders of East Devon and West Dorset.We offer a warm welcome with a friendly, personalised service to all our guests, with free on site secure parking, use of our guest lounge and free wifi. Facilities are in place and graded for walkers and cyclists.Breakfast is freshly cooked to order using local produce wherever possible.Room service, packed lunches, afternoon tea and buffet functions/ parties are available to order.Iron, hair dryer , tumble drier, drying room and fridge for guest use are also in situ.We pride ourselves on offering high quality accommodation and facilities , and short breaks are a speciality.Open all year round , The Old Bakehouse is a great base for exploring the area by car, bicycle, on foot or by the local Seaton Tramway. Ideal for antique hunters,bird watchers,tram/ train enthusiasts, beach goers, fishing,golfing, horse riding or just walking on the East Devon Way or South West Coast path or cycling on the many routes around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Bakehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bakehouse Colyton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing