We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly, cosy B&B”
Review of The Old Bakehousei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Bakehousei
Ranked #1 of 5 Colyton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly, cosy B&B”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We arrived at this lovely B&B and were instantly made to feel at home by the owner Frances. We had tea and coffee in the amazing guest lounge. A lovely place full of character, room was very spacious and comfortable as was the ensuite and extremely clean. Little touches such as a fridge with milk in and proper coffee and good selection of teas and biscuits on the tray in the room. Lovely large and soft towels. Breakfast was prepared fresh and extremely good. Sad we only stayed one night but will go back and stay here again and explore the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
57
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newquay
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we arrived and were met by Frances the owner we knew we had come across a gem of a B&B. The Old Bakehouse ouses character with spacious comfortable rooms equipped not with the usual wholesale attributes but individually and obviously by someone who cared; blankets, nice tea and coffee (in jars!) a proper teapot. Just across the hall was a room with fridge containing fresh milk for our use, a tumble drier, maps and walking books and a whole host of extras, light bulbs, sewing kits, puncture repair kits to name but a few. Downstairs a lovely sitting room was available for our use, relaxing and comfortable with a real old English teashop quality. That feel went through to the dining room where the range of cereal, locally sourced jams, honeys and a quality of food second to none was served either by Frances herself or her very polite and attentive staff made breakfast a real treat. This room opens as a tea shop on several days a week making for afternoon tea on the premises a surprise extra.
Colyton is a lovely village with small shops and services and the tram to Seaton just down the road. We visited the Gerrard Arms while staying, a friendly local pub and had lovely home cooked lasagne.
Frances is running a wonderfull establishment in a lovely country village; we will certainly return.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2012

From the moment we pulled up at this staggeringly beautiful bnb and were greeted by the lovely frances, my husband and i knew that this time we had got it right! for once! The building itself is full of character and history, the rooms are light and fresh and the location ideal. On our first morning we got on the tram (a short but lovely walk from the bakehouse) to seaton. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, especially with little ones. Overall, a fantastic bnb!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Me and a friend stayed here whilst having a quick weekend break from the big city. The owner Frances made our a stay a truly wonderful experience. Clean, comfortable and homely. Would choose this bnb over a chain hotel any day of the week! Finally, the breakfast is second to none!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here while visiting freinds in the area. The accomodation was excellent and the breakfast was home cooked and hearty. There was also a good vegitarian option. The staff and proprieter could not have been more helpful. It is located close to all local ameneties.

We will definatley stay here again.

Room Tip: There are six rooms to choose from and as far as I know they are all very good. The town is quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickankath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I have been staying here for many years, mainly for business but also for pleasure. The warm hospitality and thoughtfulness shown by Frances is second to none. The building itself is full of character and the rooms are clean and comfortable. It really feels like a home away from home. The fabulous breakfast that Frances prepares is the best I have had anywhere - perfect every time.

Room Tip: There are softer and harder beds to suit - perhaps mention your preference at the time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This charming B&B is in the delightful village of Colyton and is handy for the beautiful Jurassic Coast and local resorts such as Sidmouth, Lyme Regis and Seaton. The tram for Seaton begins here and passes through Colyford. Great for birdwatchers! The Old Bakehouse is a sympathetically restored old building, with further upgrading of the bathrooms in progress to make it even more deluxe than it already is. Frances, the owner, made us feel so welcome and that's the reason we keep going back! There are some lovely touches, including fresh milk with the tea and coffee, kept cool in a little room with fridge, maps, ironing board and lots of other things you might need. There's a guest lounge downstairs where you can relax or simply meet up before setting out. There's parking off road to the rear of the property, which Frances arranges for you, so no need to worry about your car.The breakfast was wonderful(beautifully prepared fruit), with festive touches such as Bucks Fizz, Kir Royale and scrambled egg with smoked salmon. As Frances also runs a tea room and garden, as well as a light lunch menu, there's a chance of 'room service', as well as the opportunity to order a packed lunch or flasks for a day out. She really cares about her guests and does everything possible to make them feel comfortable. Her staff are lovely and just as keen to please.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyBeaconsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyton
1.0 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
280 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
343 reviews
4.2 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
445 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakehousei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakehousei

Property: The Old Bakehousei
Address: Lower Church Street, Colyton, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Colyton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300 year old characterful Grade II Listed Building with some original features. The Old Bakehouse is a 4star silver rated B&B housing twin, double or family ensuite rooms. Single occupancy rooms are available, and we offer group self catering breaks.Situated in the Saxon town of Colyton, nestling in the Axe Valley, and 3 miles from the World Heritage Jurassic Coast at Seaton.The Old Bakehouse is ideally located near Lyme Bay and between the coastal towns of Lyme Regis and Sidmouth , on the borders of East Devon and West Dorset.We offer a warm welcome with a friendly, personalised service to all our guests, with free on site secure parking, use of our guest lounge and free wifi. Facilities are in place and graded for walkers and cyclists.Breakfast is freshly cooked to order using local produce wherever possible.Room service, packed lunches, afternoon tea and buffet functions/ parties are available to order.Iron, hair dryer , tumble drier, drying room and fridge for guest use are also in situ.We pride ourselves on offering high quality accommodation and facilities , and short breaks are a speciality.Open all year round , The Old Bakehouse is a great base for exploring the area by car, bicycle, on foot or by the local Seaton Tramway. Ideal for antique hunters,bird watchers,tram/ train enthusiasts, beach goers, fishing,golfing, horse riding or just walking on the East Devon Way or South West Coast path or cycling on the many routes around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Bakehousei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bakehousei Colyton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing