We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very relaxing.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Brandys Cottage

View from the private decked terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the private decked terrace
Front Door Brandy's Jacuzzi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
View from the private decked terrace
Front Door
Brandy's Jacuzzi
Brandy's - Sleeps 2 - Jacuzzi en suite
Brandy's Kitchen Diner Lounge
View of the lounge
Happy People Left their Mark !!
More Happy People !!
Knobby the Naughty Ostrich
Stunning View from Picnic Bench on the Hill
Tarr Steps
Fishing
Dartmoor
Hidden Coastal Waterways
Stonehenge
Beautiful Master Bedroom with 4 Poster
We are there - Right in the Middle !
Glastonbury Tor
Colyton can even look great out of season !
Excellent !
We must be doing something right.....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Colyton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pioneer58...
1 review
“Very relaxing.”
Reviewed March 9, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Good location. Close enough to amenities but out of the way enough to be secluded. Good for touring the area. The cottage was very clean and the owner was very helpful. We will definitely comeback again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely cottage everything you could want good 4 poster bed large bathroom with jacuzzi nice relaxing balcony and field for dogs Not 5 as lots of steps down to the field which not told and having small dogs with little legs was hard for them other than that was a very pleasant stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thankyou very much for your comments. Glad you enjoyed it ! Just in case someone reads this and thinks there are 18 steep stairs to access the cottage or grass area only - fear not. The access to the cottage is very much on the level and an alternative route to the grass area is a few yards around the adjoining building !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy cottage”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We loved staying at this cottage on Whitwell Farm. Mike the owner was very friendly So many places near by to visit Everything to hand even a dish washer and washing machine The Jacuzzi was great fun Was nice to sit on the balcony watch the lambs calling their mummies and listening to bird song and the occational tractor but it is a working farm Weather was not to kind to us but made the most of a relaxing time we visited Lyme Regis . Sidmouth . Colyton . and Seaton has a very large Tesco for shopping and seaside shops also The Tramway is worth a visit Cream teas a must would be silly not to have a few We have only given 4 rate as we have Dachshunds ( sausage dogs ) and to get to the grass paddock was 18 steps down which was not stated when we booked it was a bit of a trial for their little legs

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private
Liked least: Steps to the grass area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
Thankyou very much for your comments. Glad you enjoyed it !
Just in case someone reads this and thinks there are 18 steeps stairs to access the cottage or grass area only - fear not. The access to the cottage is very much on the level and an alternative route to the grass area is a few yards around the adjoining building !!
We can live with 4 Stars - (just!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie H
cheltenham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dog Heaven”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was my first time at Brandy's Cottage, but I cant wait to go back. The enclosed deck area was perfect for the dogs and the large lawn below gave them added space to have a run around. The shetland pony who grazed there was an added treat. The cottage was so comfortable with everything and more that you could want after a day out walking. A wood burning fire and a jacuzzi bath. What more can I say!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcambs
cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect location for me”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in Brandy's cottage in June 2013. Perfect for me as a solo traveller. Quiet and tranquil location. The cottage had everything that I needed. Visited Devon and Dorset to pursue my photographic hobby for the week. Did have a problem with the wifi initially not connecting. This was sorted out by Mike on the day I arrived. Would definitely stay again if I was visiting the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just what I expected. A lovely place to stay
Liked least: None that I can think of
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josie P
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another year another great stay”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Well, here we are again, home from a weeks stay in Brandys Cottage. This was our 4th or 5th stay at Whitwell Farm. It's so peaceful, relaxing and tranquil. I felt sorry for Nobby the Ostrich, he must be bored out of his tiny mind. When we first started going to this farm Nobby had a partner, but she past away now he's on his own. Poor chap. The accommodation was excellent, everything was there that you needed. Although this has only got 1 bedroom so only accommodates 2 peoples it has a dishwasher and washing machine and even a large freezer with fridge above. everything was clean, and the bed was exceptionally comfy. We wouldn't hesitate to go back sometime, and would certainly recommend it to anyone, but you do need a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the view. .
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JG723
Melksham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An annual treat which never disappoints”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We try to visit one of the Whitwell Farm Cottages every year and have never been disappointed.
We can't rely on the British weather, but we can always rely on the warm welcome and the delightful surroundings - even when the rain was pouring and the wind was blowing, we simply enjoyed sitting in front of the log burner and enjoying the peace and quiet.
Sidmouth, Lyme Regis and Beer are just a short drive away and we're always finding new cafes and restaurants.
We're already looking forward to returning again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing