We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first time, more to come!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colyton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barritshayes Farm Cottages
Bude, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“first time, more to come!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Fantastic hospitality and great attentive attitude, we'd definitely like to stay again!
The 'swallows cabin, is so cute and cosy, amazing location, friendly animals and absolutely stunning views!
The cabin was extremely tidy, equipped with modern appliances, super warm, fab modern rooms and just extremely isolated - it felt like our own little hideout.
Liz and Gordon were kind enough to provide basic food necessities and also gave great advice with local information. Great friendly atmosphere and affordable, definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 133chen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend in Devon,staying at Barritshayes Farm cottages in their B&B accomodation.Spotlessly clean,comfortable accomodation with wonderful breakfasts and use of all facilities.Would definately recommend.Really friendly hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saraSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Granary Cottage was better than we could have expected, its quaint and fresh and has a modern touch although it retains character. The games room was an added bonus, really nice if the weather is'nt great and there's a fab tennis court and the swimming pool was just fab. The owners were lovely and very helpful. The walks are just beautiful and there are many lovely places to eat around the area we liked the Harbour Inn- recommended by the owners of the cottage. The accommodation itself is lovely, everything has been so well thought out and has everything to make your stay easy and comfortable. The garden is enclosed and has a bbq, there is a laundry room for washing and drying clothes, and we welcomed the milk,bread,eggs and butter on arrival and there's tea,coffee and sugar which was much appreciated after a four hour drive. We really cant fault this holiday rental or the lovely owners and certainly recommend it to anyone. We had our 5 year old daughter and two dogs with us. Mark and Catherine, Northants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We arrived v late at night after a delayed flight to Bristol, but the owner was there to welcome us and ensure we got settled in without overwhelming us with information at midnight. The location is idyllic, the accommodation being converted outbuildings next to the farmhouse. It is peaceful, although if you have children there is a swimming pool, tennis court, croquet lawn and a games room in the garage. We stayed in the Diary. It is quite small, but that was fine for us. We used the second bunk bedded bedroom as an extra dressing room. We had a shower and no bath. The back door opens out to an enclosed garden space with table, chairs and barbecue and wonderful views across the rolling hills. Driving along the narrow winding lanes to nearby Colyton did take some getting used to - we met horses, cyclists, quad bike, tractor, 4by4 with attached trailor and a few cars - an interesting experience. Colyton is a lovely village. and there are masses of good places to eat in the neighbourhood. Also there are many good walks in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz49Elgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malvern
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed in The Granary for four nights. The cottage was beautiful and spotlessly clean, and tastefully decorated. The owners were friendly and helpful. The setting is absolutely gorgeous - unbelievably quiet with rolling hills all around, and the river Coly nearby if you want to do a riverside walk into the town of Colyton. The welcome groceries were a lovely touch too. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mrspotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed In the smaller cottage. It was very very nice Nature all around us. Horses, sheep, rabbits, pheasants and birds.

The views are just amazing in all directions. The area is beautiful and close to the jurassic coast. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WvdS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed for a week at Barritshayes' Swallows Cabin - a rural retreat just for two. It is completely private as it faces away from the main farm house - you are not over-looked at all and the views are far-reaching with lovely sunsets. At night the skies are black and all you can hear is nature. It was such a lovely place to come back to after time away exploring the area that we found ourselves coming back earlier and earlier just to enjoy being there. The hosts are friendly, welcoming and helpful, but never over solicitous. We will definitely be paying a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KnickersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colyton hotels
1.5 mi away
Smallicombe Farm
Smallicombe Farm
#3 of 5 in Colyton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.1 mi away
Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage
2.1 mi away
The Old Bakehousei
The Old Bakehousei
#1 of 5 in Colyton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Cobblers
The Cobblers
#5 of 5 in Colyton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Barritshayes Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barritshayes Farm Cottages

Property: Barritshayes Farm Cottages
Address: Barritshayes Farm Northleigh Road, Colyton EX24 6DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Colyton
Hotel Class:4 star — Barritshayes Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secret Devon hideaway to share with family and friends. Whether you are interested in an activity holiday or a quiet getaway Barritshayes has it all. The Jurassic Coast is just a few miles away and the stunning scenery in an 'AONB' is home to abundant wildlife. There are wonderful views and an outdoor heated SWIMMING POOL, GAMES ROOM and TENNIS COURT. 4* cosy cottages for a winter break, open all year. Explore our 8 acres of land which includes croquet lawn, tennis court, children's play area, paddocks with horses and sheep, a productive vineyard and apple orchard, and take in the splendid panoramic views from the land which surrounds the house and cottages. Click here to find out more about the Vineyard and Apple Orchard ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barritshayes Farm Cottages Colyton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing