We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic family holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colyton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barritshayes Farm Cottages
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Spotlessly clean, well equipped cottage acommodation with extremely friendly and helpful hosts. The children lived in the lovely heated outdoor pool all week and loved joining in the evening feeding of the animals each day. Would highly recommend this as a relaxing holiday location.

Room Tip: Very clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieAnnLisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 50 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed in the Granary which had everything we needed and was spotlessly clean - but best of all was the outdoor space and games room for children - they were never bored - which makes for a stress free holiday for parents too. The location is perfect - the views of the surrounding countryside are beautiful. The pool was not yet in use as it was too early in the season - but I would imagine that in summer it would be great and we would certainly make use of it. Although you feel that you are in the middle of nowhere - it is just a very short drive to the coast. All in all - very good value.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterHew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Cosy cottage,in quiet surroundings with all amenities, maybe a little small for 4 but ok for a couple. Great outdoor space for the dog. Proprietors friendly & very helpful with advice about local attractions & amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

The beautiful Dairy Cottage is in fantastic countryside, great for peace and quiet and relaxation. Cottage very well equipped with welcome pack on arrival - even included flowers. We were so relaxed that we did not manage to fit in a swim in the pool or a game of tennis. We did manage to eat a couple of evening meals in the garden enjoying the peace and the scenery. Only disappointment was that we had only booked a week's stay - just not long enough to enjoy the local area at a leisurely pace.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate_St_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Barritshayes is all it says in the 'brochure' and more. We stayed in The Dairy, which was most comfortable and clean with good beds and quality linen. The grounds are extensive and well kept as are the tennis court, games room, and lovely sheltered, heated pool. Plenty to keep chidren of all ages amused.

If you like peace and quiet during the day and complete silence and black skies at night then this is for you. We understand The Dairy is having a bathroom refit during the winter . Good pubs in local village/town of Colyton, especially Gerrard Arms

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dem119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed with our two children (8 &10) and our dog. Our accommodation was really comfortable and with the swimming pool, tennis court and games room there was always something to keep the kids happy. There is also plenty of space to kick around a football which having rented many cottages in the past is not always the case. Liz and Gordon were great hosts and very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spudbasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We had a fantastic summer holiday. The facilities at Barritshayes are excellent for families. Our children loved having a heated swimming pool, Games room and tennis court on their doorstep. The surrounding countryside is lovely. We spent a day just splashing down the river to Colyton and back. The boys loved it. We were too busy enjoying ourselves at Barritshayes that we didn't have a chance to explore the local beaches properly. Next time we will book for two weeks, so that we can do everything we had planned to do.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colyton hotels
2.1 mi away
Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage
2.1 mi away
The Cobblers
The Cobblers
#5 of 5 in Colyton
15 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Old Bakehouse
The Old Bakehouse
#1 of 5 in Colyton
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Smallicombe Farm
Smallicombe Farm
#3 of 5 in Colyton
97 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Barritshayes Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barritshayes Farm Cottages

Address: Barritshayes Farm Northleigh Road, Colyton EX24 6DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Colyton
Hotel Class:4 star — Barritshayes Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secret Devon hideaway to share with family and friends. Whether you are interested in an activity holiday or a quiet getaway Barritshayes has it all. The Jurassic Coast is just a few miles away and the stunning scenery in an 'AONB' is home to abundant wildlife. There are wonderful views and an outdoor heated SWIMMING POOL, GAMES ROOM and TENNIS COURT. 4* cosy cottages for a winter break, open all year. Explore our 8 acres of land which includes croquet lawn, tennis court, children's play area, paddocks with horses and sheep, a productive vineyard and apple orchard, and take in the splendid panoramic views from the land which surrounds the house and cottages. Click here to find out more about the Vineyard and Apple Orchard ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barritshayes Farm Cottages Colyton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing