We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful large house in Devon”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Colyton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emer F
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful large house in Devon”
Reviewed March 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from a wonderful long weekend in Devon. We needed a large house for extended family and it didn't disapoint. Enough beds and plenty of living space for us all. Well equipped kitchen and really felt like going from home to home. The extra touches really go a long way, children's books, toys, Wellys to borrow at the back door, ride on toys, the best fort our little one has played on with sandpit too! A tour to see the baby calves with the farmer's sons and the owners letting us know more had been born that night made us feel very welcome. Just 30 mins from Lyme Regis and farm land all around, perfect. We will certainly be back and if you're looking for a large property with space for everyone you won't go wrong with this place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and large bedrooms
Liked least: Nothing! Went too quick...
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2015
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are so glad that the property met all your expectations and that you and your family had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to hearing from you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owend007
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous house in a lovely rural location”
Reviewed January 10, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we've stayed at Hornshayne Farm with our two groups of friends, and again for New Year. It did not disappoint. The facilities of the house itself are excellent - plenty of seats in the kitchen and living room, good equipment in the kitchen, as well as lovely bedrooms. The two real highlights, however, are the excellent rural location (great walks!) but above all being located on a working farm. The owners (and their children) are so welcoming and helpful and positively encourage you to take an active interest in the farm. For our children to help with the milking and see 3 calves being born was a real highlight - priceless in fact. We all cannot wait for our next visit and another relaxing break.

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 30, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind feedback, welcome back. We are so delighted to hear that you have enjoyed Hornshayne Farm on both occasions. What a treat for the children to experience the farm in such a way, I imagine that this holiday will bring back fond memories for years to come.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbie h
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second visit to Hornshayne Farm and was equally as enjoyable as the first. This is one of the nicest houses we have stayed in, as a group of 9 that have been getting together every year for 15 years! The accommodation is very comfortable and suits our group well; with plenty of space and well laid out bedrooms. We have 3 boys amongst us, all of whom had a wonderful time on the farm; being entertained by the owners boys; playing hide and seek, watching calves being born, helping to milk the cows and even having a go at tractor driving......the owners and farmers could not have been more accommodating. For the adults, the house is set in the most beautiful countryside where you are free to walk and enjoy some of the most amazing views; a very relaxing and tranquil setting. Thank you for a very enjoyable week, we were all sad to be leaving and can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2015
Thank you for such kind feedback; it seems that you have found the absolute perfect place! I’m sure the owners would be thrilled to know how much you enjoy staying at Hornshayne Farm and that the boys loved helping out at the farm- what a wonderful experience for them. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart M
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Most relaxing, favourite farm holiday.”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just returned from the most wholesome, relaxing holiday we have had in years. We chose this farm house to celebrate our parents special wedding anniversary, so had a very mixed group - from 5-70 years old! Every one was very happy and relaxed. We found that we rarely left the wonderful kitchen where we sat around the rayburn and toasted our feet. That said we very much enjoyed our time on the farm. Andrew and his father, Ellis, adopted the children and allowed them to take part at the milking parlour and feeding the calves. The children sneaked off on tractor rides and were allowed to help where ever possible on the farm - there was even a stream for minnow finishing! The dogs, Maude and Bob, were so friendly - Maude accompanied us on every walk ( and she had just had a litter of puppies much to the children's delight). Andrew was never too busy to stop and help us, often taking time out to explain what was happening on the farm.
The farm house was very well equipped and we had everything we needed. The bedrooms and bathrooms were very well appointed and everyone slept very well on the very comfortable beds - esp after days full of fresh air. The water was pure and delicious - coming from a spring on the farm. Sally provided us with free range eggs and free range meat and poultry from the farm. Sally also recommended the most wonderful caterers who came in and served us with a very special meal. There was a great games room and play area for the kids and wonderful views from house. The worst thing about this holiday was having to leave - we discussed staying for an extra few days, but alas another lucky family were taking our place, I hope they enjoy their stay as much as we did! We have already discussed our return...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving...
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind and positive comments about Hornshayne Farmhouse. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time there and that the owners made you feel so welcome. Its great to hear and we hope you'll be back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolin22
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great house in a lovely location”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Four generations aged from 2 to 84 enjoyed a lovely holiday. The house is comfortable, spacious and well equipped. The play room and outside play area is great for smaller children and the games barn ideal for the older ones. Even though you are on a working farm the setting is peaceful. We enjoyed seeing the calves being fed and a bonus that a new one was born just before we left. The location is good for visting Beer, Seaton, Honiton. We were only a party of 6 but could see that with its great farmhouse kitchen and large sitting room it would work well for larger groups. The bedrooms are spread over three levels but the stairs are shallow and did not present a problem even for the oldest member of our group. Beds were comfortable and bedrooms of a good size, even the top floor bedroom in the beamed eaves is airy and spacious. We all hope to return in the future. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2014
Thank you very much for providing such lovely feedback about your stay. I'm glad to hear that you so enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra H
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic House”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with my family (5 adults and 5 children). We had a great week. The house is equipped with everything you could possibly want. The children had a great time experiencing farm life first hand. They saw a calf born and were lucky enough to see new born puppies. They collected eggs from hen house. They also fell in love with Bob the farm dog. Sally and Andrew were really friendly as were their sons Charlie and Ross.i would recommend this house and we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very well equipped with everything we could possibly need
Liked least: Narrow country lanes leading to property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, I am so glad to hear that you and your family had such a great holiday and such fantastic experiences. I'll pass your comments to the homeowners as I know they'll be thrilled and will look forward to welcoming you all in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izzyboo03
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed the week commencing the 22nd August. The best family holiday we have ever had. This place is simply perfect. We had five adults and five children in our group. Andrew and Sally the owners where lovely. The kids got to see the cows being milked, a calf being born and Maud the dog had puppies whilst we were staying. The children also got to pick the eggs.The house is very well equipped. Lots of room for all of us and plenty of bathrooms. Very reasonable price for such a great house.
The outside space is brilliant. We will be booking to go back again.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, I am very glad to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful time at Hornshayne Farmhouse! I'll be sure to pass your comments to the homeowners Andrew and Sally as I know that they will be thrilled and will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing