We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Spences Bridge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Totem Motel(Lytton)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandman Inn Cache Creek(Cache Creek)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Hotel(Cache Creek)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundowner(Cache Creek)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Sunset Motel(Cache Creek)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cache Creek Inn(Cache Creek)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bear's Claw Lodge(Cache Creek)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sage Hills Motel(Cache Creek)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
27
17
5
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
17
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew ownersthompson riversmall townold buildinghidden gemlog cabinrooms are cleangreat viewmemorable experiencetrain trafficget awaypatio overlookingen routemovie setbritish columbiaexcellent hostsgreat stop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 54 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed at the Spences Bridge Inn and were very impressed. We got in late after a long day of traveliing and were greeted by a sea of friendly faces. The owner...Ray....was very friendly and quite the character. We stayed in the Isa room, the only one on the bottom of floor, and it was very clean and cheery. The previous reviews all say the train were very loud....but we were on the bottom floor right by the trains and they hardly bothered us. We loved sitting in the cozy guest lounge, sipping tea, playing board games and chatting with other folks staying at the hotel. The cat was adorable...there was also a nice selection of books to read. You smelled the homemade soap when you walked in....the hotel was just filled with this amazing charm. You could help yourself to tea and bread all day. The view at the back was the best part at night, with the mountains behind the water....we watched in awe. The breakfast was very good, especially the bread. I totally recommend this hotel-we stayed for less then 12 hours and are still talking about the amazing place.... I could've stayed there forever...thanks Ray:)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caribby96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Great little Inn. Owner is on site, very friendly and great for a conversation. Library of books and reading material to enjoy after a long day of fishing. Rooms were large and common area was great to relax. The breakfast that is included each morning has a great variety and is very convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Broke journey here from Kelowna to Whistler. Great stop. Proper teapots and tea! and cakes made by folk in the community.
Looks a bit derelict from the front but lovely rear terrace overlooking the river ( and Osprey nests).
Owner and staff interesting.
The train is a dramatic interlude for a lunch stop...but get the point about overnight.
Also we felt the tiny church on the way out had something about it...

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shilohWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Stayed here with my husband for two nights recently, on a touring holiday of BC. Lovely location right next to the river, but as others have said, the trains are very close by. We chose the Sunflower room because it had air con, and that was effective in cooling, but also made a lot of noise, so we didn't hear the trains anyway!

The owner is 'a character', and quite chatty, but very welcoming. We were a bit surprised to be told that he doesn't get up until 10.30am, so breakfast is DIY, but actually it worked out fine as we were the only people there and it was nice to have the place to ourselves to sit out and watch the birds over a fab muffin. I'd agree with the review that suggests the place could do with a bit of smartening up however.

The vegetarian dinners were tasty, but an after dinner stroll around Spences Bridge is never going to be a highlight of your trip! As others have said, this is a memorable place, and all part of the adventure.

If you're interested in a rafting trip while in the area, Kumsheen in Lytton are great.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snout37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

A very interesting hotel with a very friendly owner providing good vegetarian fare.

But, the freight trains really do make at least some rooms unusable. Simply unacceptable without really significant advance warning.

Some rooms (breakfast area, guest lounge) are also in need of a dumpster -- 3 dead coffee pots; a bread maker of undetermined value etc. etc. A commercial establishment just needs to be neater.

A neat spot ... but it needs more to make it a recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W0X0F38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews