We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Spences Bridge
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“So welcoming...”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

You can't help but like this place. It's comfy, welcoming and clean. We arrived on a boiling hot day en route to the Cariboo. Our room was clean, cool and comfortable. As others have said, if you want the Four Seasons, don't stop here (in fact, don't stop in Spences Bridge) but we were so pleased with the care, concern and kindness we experienced that we would gladly stay here again. The second floor has the hotel rooms (there is a note on the door to the stairs asking not to let the cat upstairs - 'signed' by the cat. Another hand-written note asks, "No work boots upstairs" - it's that kind of place). This is a down home, unsophisticated, all round nice place to stay. Not all rooms have ensuite bathrooms, though our 'Zen' room did. Serve-yourself breakfast was pleasant and plentiful. And at night the stars shine. You don't see many stars in the city.
We've taken various trips from the coast to the Cariboo - this was the nicest stop yet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheSchindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
20
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Do you like character and small-town charm? The Inn at Spences Bridge is clearly a labour of love. The owner/manager has taken great care to restore the historic road house. He is a friendly and welcoming host. He has always made an effort to accommodate our needs, including the times when we brought our geriatric dog along with us. The best room is the Zen with a large balcony overlooking the railway tracks. In my opinion, the railway adds to the funky,historic, almost movie-set ambience. And, the restaurant serves excellent veg-friendly food - almost unheard of for a small town like this. If you are looking for a sterile, corporate, cookie-cutter motel, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Svetlana19308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Interesting place, interesting history and interesting location. Admittedly, it is near a main line railway track but I did not find that troubling. I had a nice room overlooking the river. The room and onsuite bathroom showed that a lot of care had gone in to restoring a very old building. The owner/manager/bottle washer is an entertaining and knowledgeable guy. I will return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank RonTSmithers_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I am sorry for the people who can't appreciate this historic inn for the beauty of the setting and the eclectic nature of the building. No, it's not a chain hotel, with every room being the same, sterile accomodation. It's old, the decor is outdated, there are trains. But look past all that. Our room, Zen, was large with a balcony on the opposite side to the river. The bathroom was huge. The towels were white and fluffy. Homemade soap. Lots of hot water. A good sleep. The trains did not wake us, but you could bring earplugs if your'e a light sleeper. Everything was very clean. We poked our head into all the rooms, and each was charming. The dining area where breakfast is served looks out onto the river. Beautiful. We enjoyed a glass of wine in one othe many chairs and table offered on the patio. In the evening, Ray lit the fire and we watched tv in the living room area. Felt at home. In the morning, we had fresh brewed coffee. There were many teas, fruit, yogurt, homemade banana muffins, homemade bread. All we needed to start our day. We have driven past the Inn for years, and are so glad we stopped finally. We will return,as it's a good stop-over after driving from the Lower Mainland into the Cariboo.

Room Tip: Zen is large, on the street side of the hotel. Train runs, but does not blow whistle. Some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank darlenew1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very pleasant service, friendly staff, simple. In a place that is 150 years old like the inn at spences bridge you really cant be expecting tvs in the rooms or anything you might find at a newer hotel. Instead gear your mind to that of an old building, the basics, and the same feeling you get when staying at your grandmas house and you wont be let down! The floors creak, the decor out dated, but here we are again, it's a 150 year old building. It's not trying to spruce itself up and look 80. That being said i found everything to be very clean, from the sheets to the bathrooms. The continental breakfast was average, but what made this place shine for me was the homely feeling of this inn. If you have trouble sleeping with trains then maybe don't stay anywhere in spences bridge, they go all night long! For me it adds to the character of the place... i didn't wake up once from a train!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gorillafunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We did not stay here; we only dined here. There was so little a available on the long drive from Hope, BC to Kamloops that we were happy to find them open and serving dinner.

This is a very high character place, so set your expectations accordingly. There is some clutter and aesthetic dissonance, but nothing the health inspector would've concerned about. The setting is really great, with photo ops aplenty. But more notably, both the food and the hospitality were just wonderful.

Thanks to proprietor Ray and his staff (Zach) for adding an unexpected, ample dose of color, flavor, warmth and charm to our family adventure.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffTNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

the Inn looks ok on the outside. I think all of the renovation love has gone here first.
the inside is a different story, creaky old floors with 60s era dark brown carpet, dark funny smells and our room and furnishings were pretty old, but not in the charming antique kind of way way. I didn't trust the colored frilly bedsheets and we instead slept in our sleeping-bag.
Hope you like trains, because these things go all night long. Very hard to sleep.

80 dollars felt pretty steep for the room, but not as bad as paying 46 before tip for 2 vegetarian lasagnas, tea and basic salad. Again, the eating area felt pretty worn out, and even the tablecloth had many stains on it.

We left early and couldn't be bothered with the serve yourself basic breakfast.

I would pass on this place. especially if your traveling with your significant other.
There is far better to be had for less.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polythemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spences Bridge
16.3 mi away
Totem Motel
Totem Motel
#1 of 1 in Lytton
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baits Motel
Baits Motel
#2 of 2 in Spences Bridge
6 reviews
13.5 mi away
Kumsheen Rafting Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
No photo provided
Lytton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lytton
2 reviews
16.4 mi away
Rest Inn Lytton
Rest Inn Lytton
#2 of 2 in Lytton
4 reviews
17.3 mi away
Sundance Guest Ranch
Sundance Guest Ranch
#1 of 2 in Ashcroft
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Spences Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Spences Bridge

Property: The Inn at Spences Bridge
Address: 3649 Highway #8 | PO Box 100, Spences Bridge, British Columbia V0K 2L0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Spences Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spences Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Spences Bridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Spences Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing