We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Oak Barn
Nearby Hotels
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Manordaf B&B(St Clears)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Llety Cynin(St Clears)
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeside Leisure(St Clears)(Great Value!)
$20
Pitchup.com
View Deal
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
125
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh eggsunderfloor heatingplaces to visitfolly farmlog cabinrope swingco opheated floorstruck ridecollect eggsreliable wifirock poolsaberglasney gardensbeautiful woodlandthird visitlovely breaklarge sitting room
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 127 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Clean, comfortable, spacious accommodation within easy access of the A40 and it's numerous beaches and countryside attractions. The woodlands and stream surrounding the property occupied the children for hours, as did the wood cabin and swings. Every aspect had incredible views. Clear skies gave way to much star gazing and I missed the birdsong the minute we left! There are absolutely no negatives about this holiday home, my only grumble is that we needed 2 weeks instead of 1 to continue enjoying the tranquillity! The owners can not do enough to ensure you have everything for your stay, although they are 'next door', we felt as if we were on our own in the middle of nowhere. Thank you Jerry and Charlotte!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamThommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skomerpuffin, Owner at Old Oak Barn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you very much for your great review which I had no idea you were going to post! You had almost unbroken sunshine last week and at this time of year the birds certainly sing their hearts out! We are so glad you all enjoyed exploring the woods so much. Special thanks to the children for being so attentive to my 6 chickens. We really hope you will visit again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We booked this cottage for a short 4 day break and it was an ideal place for both us and the kids (4 & 3 years old) to explore the area. Charlotte was extremely welcoming and offered plenty of advice on what to visit during our stay. The accommodation was warm, clean and well equipped, not just for us but the kids. All in all a great place and we'd certainly consider returning

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skomerpuffin, Owner at Old Oak Barn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you very much for posting such a positive review for your short break at Old Oak Barn last week. I am glad you found the barn so well equipped and that the children enjoyed the toys and books for little ones. I thought you would love Tenby and your day out at Folly Farm too which we recommended. Thanks again for coming to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Have stayed here three times now and absolutely adore the place! The accommodation is beautiful and welcoming. The setting is stunning. Our one and five year old are so happy collecting eggs and looking at tractors. Charlotte and her husband are so very welcoming and go out of their way to b helpful, a real personal touch. Perfectly placed for seaside, Folly farm and Botanic gardens. Five year old now calls it 'the' holiday house so best not go anywhere else lol!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Ginger1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skomerpuffin, Owner at Old Oak Barn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

What a wonderful review - thank you everso much for your kind comments and general praise for the setting of Old Oak Barn and this beautiful part of Wales. We love it here too!! We hope you will come and stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had booked this property for a planned family visit to the Laugharne Weekend Festival. Due to a last minute change of plans, the kids didn't come with us - but this would have been a great place for the family to stay. It's clearly owned by people who understand kids and there was lots of stuff in the house to entertain the whole family.

In the end, it was me and a friend who came down for the weekend. The property is warm, spacious, airy and bright (despite the rain!) with comfy beds and plenty of hot water. We didn't have much call for the kitchen, but it was clearly well equipped. If we'd stayed longer (and I'd like to on another occasion) then cooking would have been no problem.

The surroundings are beautiful - lots of fresh air, trees, birds, walks and there's a good supermarket in the nearby village (beyond walking distance, unless you're really keen on carrying shopping!).

Good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skomerpuffin, Owner at Old Oak Barn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Old Oak Barn and for highly recommending it! I am glad you enjoyed the Laugharne Festival so much and that the barn met your needs. Yes - we are very child friendly so if you come down this way again we hope your children will come too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is our first stay at Old Oak Barn and it will not be the last.
The accommodation is well equipped, comfortable clean and homely.
Wonderful surroundings and lots of interesting places to visit.
All in all a great place to stay complimented by a warm welcome.
Thank you Charlotte and Jerry, we will be back

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skomerpuffin, Owner at Old Oak Barn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Hello again - this is to say thank you so much for writing a review on Trip Advisor. When you stayed in early March the sun shone 90% of the time and you even caught the sun while sitting on the patio here at Old Oak Barn listening to the birds and watching them at the feeders! You were so lucky with the weather! Jerry and I enjoyed meeting you very much and are pleased you both so enjoyed time out to recharge and rewind here in West Wales. Thank you for leaving the barn so tidy and also thank you for the bottle of vino! Am saving it for a special celebration! Hope to see you again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews