We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hometown Visit”
Review of Kapuzinerhof

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laufen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kapuzinerhof
Ranked #1 of 3 Laufen B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Kapuzinerhof Hotel has a lot of history associated with it since it was a Monastery at one time. Today it is a modern hotel that is clean and has been modernized to meet all of today’s must haves in lodging. Breakfast is included with every stay and is typical German fare, including fresh cheeses, meats, eggs and various rolls and breads. The coffee is fresh and there is juice, yogurt, cereal, etc. The Kapuzinerhof Hotel is convenient to Garmish and Salzburg, a short walk across the Salzach River and you are in Austria and the Silent Night Chapel in Obendorf.

I was born in Laufen and came to the US as a young child, my memories of the Monestary are some of my fondest, my friends and I used to go to the door that is now the main entrance to the hotel and knock on the door. A monk would come to the door and open a small door inset in the main door and give anyone that knocked a piece of fresh baked bread. That was always our first stop on our way home from school.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the rear garden
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russty108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Kapuzinerhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 28 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Kapuzinerhof is in a converted monestry just off the main through road and close to the town gate. Laufen is sort of twinned with its Austrian neighbour across the Salza river. The hotel has a new extesnion perfectly aimed at busines travellers and conferences and nicely offsett by the old stye refectory eating hall, and gardens. Staff are excellent and helpful especially in the restaurant. The food is wonderful and tasty and the chef tries to use different herbs and flavouring and unusual ingredients to great effect...the Calves liver dish is the best I've ever eaten. Rooms are functional, with no coffee/tea makiing or mini-bar...but offset by the wonderful pillows. All in all a good find...highly recommended Dave

Room Tip: 316 is the furthest from reception....guess where I was ?????
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davebedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathrin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
1  Thank Ralf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kapuzinerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapuzinerhof

Address: Schlossplatz 4, 83410 Laufen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Laufen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Laufen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing