We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous meal”

Au Relais du Chateau Chalais
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Chalais
Price range: $19 - $36
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Horsham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by the boulanger in Chalais but had been warned that without a reservation we might not get in. We hotfooted there just before 12pm and were met by the maitre d'hotel. When we told him that we had no reservation, were only passing in Chalais but were very keen to eat in his restaurant, he very kindly let us in! And what a treat it was! From the welcome to the service and from the menu price at only €18 to the food it was all absolutely fantastic!! The restaurant was full but the food came quickly, it was so beautifully presented and so tasty. We had a great time and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone in the south Charente region.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oleron17Horsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    35
    13
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS THIS”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

As much as I hate to say it ( because then the restaurant will become even more popular and more difficult to book a table!) anyone who is passing through the area - or even beyond- must visit this place. Food is excellent, Jean Louis is charming and the setting beatiful. parking can be a bit of a pain though so get there early. We have a holiday home nearby and everytime we visit we go there at least once - my wife also goes on her 'ladies lunches' as everyone in the area loves the place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jean-Louis is back...”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Have eaten at the Chateau many times and hope to eat there many times more It did have a dark period for a while with new owners and the departure of Jean Louis, BUT, the good news being that Jean Louis is returned and the restaurant, atmosphere and food is back to its excellent standard as it always was. Highly recommended...will be back when Im in the area next!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Antcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Neots
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best value for money”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We try to fit in a visit to the Chateau whenever we come down to the area. At 27.50 euros for a four course meal it was the best value meal we had all fortnight. So good to see Jean Louis again - always remembers us, always welcoming, always humourous. The food can not be faulted and a visit is always an "occasion". Over the drawbridge, aperitifs in the garden with a few hors d'oevres and then the meal, amuse bouchees and the wine. Don't miss it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisStNeots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wonderful evening”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were recommended to this restaurant, in particular, because of the Maitre D' Jean-Louis Breneau. He was so welcoming and helpful, with a complete command of English, and 110% desire to please.
We had a wonderful meal. The wine list has so many excellent half bottle of wine, we started with Graves and enjoyed Pomerol with the main course and cheese.
My langoustine tartlet entree was probably the finest dish I have ever enjoyed in a restaurant anywhere. The entire meal was sumptuous and a real delight. The service was equal to the best but not intrusive.
If I had written this review in the U.K. Most people would have expected that we were given a big bill by a two star establishment. To date they have no star, so please Michelin don't spoil it.
Including our Kir Royals on the terrace the bill was just 105 Euros for two and we really pushed the boat out. It cost £20 more than an ordinary Chinese meal at home. Memorable.

P.S. My desert was sensational crepe suzette. In most restaurants they will only serve this to two people. No problem. It was good enough to tempt me to move to Chalais.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DacBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Relais du Chateau Chalais also viewed

 
Chalais, Charente
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
 
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
 

Been to Au Relais du Chateau Chalais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing