We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!”
Review of La Tannerie

La Tannerie
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chalais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Tannerie
Ranked #1 of 4 Chalais B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just finished our second stay at La Tannerie and again it was a great place to stay! The owners, Liz and Jeremy, welcomed us with a short visit over coffee and tea then took us to our gite where they had provided a nice bottle of wine, cookies and all of the essentials for a breakfast the next morning! They were so friendly and welcoming - even invited us to a party while we were here! We stayed for three weeks and hope that we will be able to visit again. Chalais and La Tannerie are great places to use as a "home" base while visiting all the sites in this beautiful area of France. La Tannerie is definitely a "10" in every aspect and we will recommend it to anyone that we know who is coming this way! We also enjoyed using the bikes that were provided and toured the nearby countryside and villages while riding them. Lexington, KY U.S.A.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zanne1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 35 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in the main house in August 2012.
So often when you arrive in a house in France, there isn't even any salt or pepper. Liz and Jeremy's house is very different, ther were good knives, all sorts of herbs and spices and a welcome bundle of essential foods, including wine!
Liz and Jeremy organised a fantastic evening bbq for all of the guests, where we met her brother. They also suiggested places for us to go and ensured we had a booking for dinner at the chateau. The heated pool was well appreciated by all.
We loved being in a semi-rural position on the edge of town, rather than out in the country, so we were all able to have a drink in the restaurants in the evening and wander round the surprisingly large market.
Highly recommended hosts and property

Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windsor_lad1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

La Tannerie was a completely unexpected delight. We turned into the driveway not knowing what to expect, then came through a curtain of weeping willow to find the sort of French house everyone wishes they could own. Liz, Jeremy and Peter went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome, encouraging drinks on the terrace and inviting all we bed and breakfast guests out for dinner to the local restaurant, where we were treated like royalty because they knew the owners so well. I don't think I've ever felt so depressed leaving a bed and breakfast before. Coming home to a "we miss you already ..." email with a picture of a glass of wine sitting on the terrace was a lovely, lovely reminder of a fabulous time. We can't wait to go back. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I find myself looking at some of the other reviews and echoing mostly the positive and just a coupleof slightly negative comments. The Gite we stayed in is probably looking just a little tired downstairs and maybe could have been slightly cleaner. But the double bed was comfortable and it looked like it had been spruced up recently, and the teenagers were happy with their room. The facilities are good with access to English TV in terms of BBC1-5 + ITV2-4 and wi-fi both of which are essential to keep 2 teenagers happy in what is a very quiet town. We visited early April so it was still a little cool to try the pool but it looked like it would be fun in the summer. However what makes this property is the friendliness of the owners Jeremy and Liz. From the welcoming tea and cake on arrival, to the lighting the wood stove for us every night to warm the gite for our return, to the extra mile of letting me watch the Chelsea game with him on his TV, they could not have been more helpful. The location is perfect to explore with 2 hrs to La Rochelle, an hour to Cognac, 35 mins to Angouleme, 30 mins to the Dortogne and Riberac. The one thing I would say is the town of Chalais is very quiet so if you have teenagers rather than young kids this might cause a few 'I'm bored comments'. In summary you pay for what you get and I thought this was good value and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickygees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We rented the main house last year with our three year old twins and our 15 year old. Liz and Jeremy were great hosts and were very helpful - even picking a friend up from Angouleme airport at short notice. The house was clean and comfortable and well furnished with a good sized kitchen, comfortable en-suite bedrooms and an enviable selection of books/games and DVDs. Liz and Jeremy had thought of everything and were a valuable source of information about the local are and beyond. Chalais is a busy market town (the Monday market is a must) which is very well situated for exploring some of the most stunning scenery that France has to offer. La Tannerie is very conveniently situated on the edge of the town and provides the opportunity for a peaceful relaxing break (as far as is possible with the twins) with the convenience of good shops in walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bushbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Firstly I must say. Many, Many Thanks. To Liz and Jeremy for their great hospitality and lovely place they have here. We had been travelling back home from the south of France and stopped in Chalais tired with nowhere to stay. Luckily we came across La Tannerie, after driving most of the day(late afternoon now) we pulled up outside where we were greeted by the owners(Liz/Jeremy). Explained our situation, they said earlier that day a couple had cancelled a Gite(Lucky for us). We sat down with them chatting had a drink(hot)it seemed as if we had known them for a long time. Jeremy mentioned that they still in the progess of revamping the Gites. When after an hour(flew by) we were shown to our Gite, it was clean, fresh, and the beds were soft and comfortable. A few minutes later Liz appeared with some milk, fresh bread which was a very nice touch. Coffee and tea and sugar was already in the Gite. After spending a very comfortable night, we went next door for a lovely breakfast and the conversation flowed again. What a lovely couple they are, we really couldn't have found a nicer couple. We are planning to go back next year and visit them. Once again Many thanks Liz and Jeremy.

Room Tip: Front Gite along side the main house, large and extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isrgoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Having both contributed and benefited from the views of other 'Trip Advisers', off the back of the seemingly rave reviews we booked a room for one night by telephone. We know Chalais well, and on arrival at La Tannerie there was nobody at home. We had a look around the exterior, and it seemed sufficiently shabby that we decided to leave at once, however as we were about to, Liz & Jeremy returned and showed us to the gite adjacent to the house. They were pleasant enough, however immedialtely on entering the downstairs our hearts sank. It was dingy, dirty, dated and shabby. Upstairs was even worse. The bathroom was filthy and had 'hairy soap'. In conversation we were given an unexpected opening whereby we made our excuses and left. Thank heavens we never paid by card up front.

Room Tip: Inspect the room before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Louise_Gary56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elspsmith, Owner at La Tannerie, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and I am sorry that you left La Tannerie with such a bad impression.
I apologise for our absence on that day. We would, of course, always endeavour to be at home to receive our guests, but would not normally expect a B&B arrival at lunchtime. We will be sure to ask for an estimated time of arrival from all of our guests in future.
You can rest assured that your gite had been thoroughly cleaned, and I am pleased to be able to report that the bathroom of that particular property is currently undergoing a major refurbishment which should be completed by Christmas.
We firmly believe that 50 Euros for a two-bedroomed gite for three people continues to represent very good value.
Once again, I am sorry that your visit was cut short, and hope that your final day's househunting was successful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Tannerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tannerie

Address: 26 rue d Angouleme, 16210 Chalais, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Chalais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chalais
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Tannerie France/Chalais, Charente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing