We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, great location and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Saint Georges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Saint Georges
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vivonne
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location and food”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a great place to break your journey from Calais to Bordeaux. This is a small logis with very nice rooms at reasonable price. The food and wine are excellent. It is worth booking a table in the restaurant. Really nice owners. They speak English. Lovely little village. Worth visiting the market on Saturday am if you are going on to a self catering holiday. There is a lovely park if you have children with you. Free car parking. Have been several times and have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the courtyard where you can park. Larger rooms overlooking the village h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    23
    13
    5
See reviews for
19
46
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GLD
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We have visited this hotel now for may be 20 times when we are going up/down to Portugal. It is on a convenient spot. The owners are very friendly and are continuously upgrading the place. The rooms are fine (with AC), in the old building not very spacious but good enough, in the new building spacious. The rooms are clean, excellent beds and towels.
The double glazing guarantees silence in the rooms.
Parking is conveniently situated behind the hotel.
The restaurant is OK. There is a choice between the cheap brasserie (not too good) and the formal restaurant. The offer in the restaurant is quite OK. The menus are not prepared on the spot but is warmed and must arrive from the outside. The quality of the food is good but not great. The cheese board is fantastic!! The vin de maison is also great, not exactly from the region but one or two pots de vin will make you very satisfied!
Breakfast (buffet style) is charged separately € 7 and nowadays is really good (fresh bread, cheese, ham, yoghurt, fruits, tea, coffee etc), but: no boiled/fried eggs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchGld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. The meal we enjoyed at their restaurant was excellent. All in all very good value for money. Rooms are small but comfortable and clean. No need to bring an alarm clock. The bells from the adjacent church go off early enough!

Room Tip: Book ahead. Number of rooms limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMacIntyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Located in the centre of Vivonne, this hotel provided an ideal over night stopping place enroute back to the UK. The owners/staff could not have been more friendly, the rooms appeared to be almost brand new and menu provided a wide range of regional food which was excellently prepared and presented. An appetising breakfast the following morning topped off the experience and persuaded us that we must return to this hotel for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mart146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rougnac SW France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We have just spent a great evening and night at this hotel. The people that run it were very friendly and spoke English. The food in the restaurant was fabulous.
I will go back when I have a chance and higly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Vella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

We stayed for 1 night on our way South thru' France - the hotel is in the Logis chain.
We were given a spacious room , and we ate dinner in the hotel , which was very good.
They have car parking behind the hotel ( enter by a back road )
The French proprietor , and his Swedish wife are good hosts.
We would stop over here again

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosneath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2007

We were driving back from our holiday in Portugal and had to stop over in central France. I found this hotel on the Logis De France website which offers good value hotels across France. This one was fantastic. Based in the village of Vivonne, just south of Poitiers, it is a picturesque traditional hotel that was welcoming and charming. It offered excellent value at 64 euros for a room for three and it had an excellent restaurant where we had a fantastic meal.

If you are driving north from Spain and need a stopover in France, I cannot recommend it highly enough

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank janethejock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vivonne
10.8 mi away
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
431 reviews
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Bois de La Marche
BEST WESTERN Le Bois de La March...
#1 of 1 in Fontaine-le-Comte
199 reviews
5.5 mi away
Auberge du Centre-Poitou
Auberge du Centre-Poitou
#12 of 36 in Poitiers
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#1 of 1 in Chaunay
58 reviews
12.4 mi away
La Roseraie
La Roseraie
#1 of 1 in Romagne
48 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Poitiers Sud
Ibis Budget Poitiers Sud
#18 of 36 in Poitiers
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint Georges

Property: Le Saint Georges
Address: 12 Grand rue, 86370 Vivonne, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Vivonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vivonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Saint Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A resplendent dwelling set in the heart of the historic centre of a handsome village in the Poitou region. The stunning atmosphere and refined comfort are enchantingly irresistible. 31 rooms (some air-conditioned, others for families), 3 meeting rooms, bar, fireside lounge, terraces. Two restaurants, one featuring traditional cuisine, the other bistro-style fare, are an open invitation to the pleasures of family or business dining, banquets and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Le Saint Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing