We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Australia Zoo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Glass House Mountains Ecolodge on a recent trip to Australia Zoo.The Zoo is about 10 minutes from the ecolodge so it was very convenient for us to get up early and beat the morning rush.

The hotel is a little off Steve Irwin Way and nestled in the foot of the mountains so it feels like it's very much in the country which means lot's of local bugs and insects. Check-in in was simple and included a guided tour around the facility. We were offered pre-purchase tickets to the Zoo which were $59 each. We later found out that the tickets were loaded with a $5 pre-order fee which went to the owners of the ecolodge. I didn't mind this but it would have been nice to been told upfront about the extra cost.

The room was very basic - a bed, bathroom and not much else. This is an authentic rural "eco" experience so don't expect TV, phone, internet, constant hot water or even a clock in the room. The bed was comfortable enough but definitely not the best I've slept on.

We paid an extra $10 each for the breakfast which was terrible. It was a self-service affair with Vegemite on toast, stale weet-bix and yogurt well past it's expiration date. To top off the experience we were required to wash-up our own dishes. Which was a little worrying after we watched a dirty toothless woman washing up her dishes with no soap and not much water. I feel for the person that used them after that.

The scenery was wonderful and very much typical of the rural Australian experience but it was was a pseudo-backpackers hostel experience so don't expect much. Overall the price matched the accommodation so set your expectations accordingly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benny_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tibroclimber, Manager at Glass House Mountains Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We thank our reviewer for the comments and are happy to clarify a number of points.
Guests wishing to visit Australia Zoo can Que at the Zoo in the morning and pay $ 59 for an adult ticket. Alternatively, you can pre-purchase the same ticket ($ 59- which the guest admits he paid) and get a priority access. There is and never has been an additional $5 fee.
We are glad he enjoyed his eco-experience. Over 90% of guests when reviewed told us they were glad there were no T.V's preferring to listen to the sounds of our bush orchestra (80 types of birds) than listen to the TV noise in the adjoining room. Mobile & free wi-fi is available but can be patchy due to our location behind a 26 million year old mountain.
Our solar water may take a minute or two to arrive to your room- most guests understand this when seeking an eco-experience.
Our breakfasts consist of a choice of 5 cereals, fruit juice, tea/coffee, toast & condiments, fresh yogurt,and a platter of fresh local fruit. Incredible value at $ 10.00.
Guests are simply asked to return their used plates to the kitchen to allow other guests to sit and enjoy the bush views from the deck.
What our guest saw was another guest (who was self-catering) wash up her own dishes.
We have a variety of accommodation types to meet all budgets. We are not a 5 star resort with 5 star pricing but provide clean, comfortable rooms, bungalows & train carriages to meet all accommodation needs.
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 302 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

Best Place to stay if you want to explore the Glass House Mountains and its surroundings and at the same time live comfortably together with nature and conciousnes of enviromental surroundings. Host Keith is a great person who really has to be admired for converting his visions of treatment of our environment into this place. Furthermore, he has created a really unique and very special little paradise, the pictures speak for themselves. If you're looking for a quite central located place providing nature, quietness but at the same time comfortable, clean and through Keith with just excellent empathetic advise on how to get the most out of your personal stay at Glass House Mountains, well, this is it!! Keith, once again thank you and we'll be back!! Manya & Markus, Killwangen, Switzerland

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManyaMarkus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel and was very pleased with my stay. Very close to lots of great parks and outdoor areas. The room was spacious, clean and quite comfortable. The owner was quite helpful in providing tourist advice and making the guests feel at home. Be sure to stay here if you want a great base to explore the Glass House Montains and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oaktree1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the end of our time in Australia, and just loved it. On arriving just after a thunderstorm, or actually at its tail end, we were greeted warmly by real Aussies ( and a Canadian). One of the Ozzies was a Carpet Snake, a sort of python. 5 foot long, traversing the driveway, unfazed and unafraid of the dumb American chasing after it. Breakfast was lovely, and the other guests were so interesting. Comfy, no tv or radio, but who wants it? It is close to the Irwin Australia Zoo, a must for tourists. The town has a fun pub/restaurant. (Don't they all in Australia?) Scenery was great, and the hostess gave us some good advice for local doings, and we got our first sighting of kangaroos in the wild (our only sighting) nearby. Would def go back.

Room Tip: All Good. Probably want to be upstairs. I think we woke up the family with 3 or 4 little ones unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBe_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Can't recommend this place enough!
10min drive to Australia Zoo, we hired a car very easily.
Beautiful place, modern bathroom, clean room with high ceiling.
Very nice staff who helped us plan a road trip and gave advice on where to go to eat.
We found a nice Botanical Gardens nearby and a golf club which served the best Pecan Pie I've ever had! There's also a great restaurant 5 mins down the road.
I loved the fact it was full of recycled objects and the breakfast was very healthy.
It was a bargain too!
I will be going back when I can afford to go to Australia again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I just stayed for one night, arrived late, needed late checkout. Friendly and personal service from the time we made the booking till we walked out the door. Our unit was spacious and very well appointed, quiet and private. We look forward to coming back there and spend some more time to explore the area!

Room Tip: Our room had full cooking facilities but not all the rooms have that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We just wanted a reasonably priced place to stay for a night as a base to have a look at this beautiful area and go to Australia. We live on the Gold Coast, 2.5 hours drive away, and found this a perfect place. Beautiful quiet surrounds, no TV's etc, very charming use of old railway carriages to make the excellent fully equipped little kitchen/diner which spreads nicely into outdoor tables. The solid wood tables outside each of the Orchard rooms with glimpses of Tibrogargan were well patronised by many sipping wine in the beautiful evening - a perfect way to relax before the evening meal. The room is neat, comfortable, without being elaborate. The bed is good, although we suggest asking for an extra blanket if a cool night is expected. Keith was very friendly, his love of the area and it's preservation being very evident, as was the thought and care with which he has fashioned this little haven. His patience was not even tested when I asked to take up his offer in the guest book to plant a birds-wing butterfly vine before we left, even though he had a railway carriage on the back of a semi-trailer about half an hour away! (see photo)
The immediate proximity to the beautiful 3.5km forest walk around Mt Tibrogargan just 1km away (a "must do" which we did in good time to get back and relax with our glass of wine on the deck before dinner), was a fantastic aspect of the place.
As

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glass House Mountains
15.1 mi away
Clouds of Montville Eco Resort and Spa
16.8 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
17.8 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Glass on Glasshouse
Glass on Glasshouse
#2 of 3 in Glass House Mountains
213 reviews
2.1 mi away
CrookNeck Retreat
CrookNeck Retreat
#1 of 2 in Glass House Mountains
76 reviews
6.8 mi away
Beerwah Motor Lodge
Beerwah Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Landsborough
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glass House Mountains Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass House Mountains Ecolodge

Address: 198 Barrs Rd, Glass House Mountains, Queensland 4518, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Glass House Mountains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glass House Mountains
Price Range: $96 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glass House Mountains Ecolodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of a National Heritage treasure, the Glasshouse Mountains Ecolodge offers a unique ecological experience of this fascinating area of the Sunshine Coast Hinterland in South East Queensland. It makes a fantastic base from which to explore the 26 million year old volcanic plugs that make up this incredible landscape, as well as the coastal beaches and hinterland villages. During your stay at the Ecolodge (set on 5 acres of orchard and forest beside a small creek) you can discover bush tucker, enjoy nocturnal frog spotting and bird watching (over 60 different types of birds have been seen). A great place to relax and unwind in this peaceful and quiet nature haven with its birds, butterflies, dragonflies, and even kangaroos. National park walks start 400 metres from the front entrance. Steve Irwin's Australia Zoo is just 10 minutes away and the Ecolodge is only an hour north of Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glass House Mountains Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing