We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Peaceful and Beautiful Sanctuary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glass on Glasshouse
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Peaceful and Beautiful Sanctuary”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My fiance and myself just returned from our second stay at Glass on Glasshouse, this time for 5 nights. We had previously stayed 2 nights and that was more than enough for us to want to return, so we were back within 6 months.

The cottages are beautiful, from the polished floors to the floor to ceiling glass walls over looking the Glasshouse Mountains. They're also well appointed providing practically everything you need for a stay where you cook for yourself for a few nights.

The service we received from the owners on both occasions was courteous, helpful and friendly. Ready for a chat but also more than happy to keep their distance and let us enjoy our get away. If you're after a place where you check in, spend some quality time with your partner without being disturbed for a few days before returning to the hecticness of day to day life in the city, then this is a fantastic place to stay. The owners will provide as much contact as you like, always just a simple phone call away.

On top of all of this, both times we have stayed there have been plenty of kangaroos bounding around the place at dawn and dusk. If you're lucky you may even get to see some of the smaller ones running around.

Glass on Glasshouse gets two thumbs up from us and definitely cannot be more highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glass_SunshineCoast, Owner at Glass on Glasshouse, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words. We get many guests who come for 1 or 2 days initially, and then return for 5 or more days later, which makes us very proud that we've created a place that guests love coming back to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    30
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
148
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aarau, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We really loved the stylish designed cottage, embedded nicely into the landscape with a beautiful view on two of the glass mountains. When we arrived, kangaroos welcomed us in the garden.
We liked the privacy and the silence (or better: all the sound from nature). We only booked for one night, but at the end we stayed two nights, because It was too beautiful to leave. We will definitively come back and recommend it to our friends and family.

Juliette & Benno from Switzerland

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliettemichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glass_SunshineCoast, Owner at Glass on Glasshouse, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
It's great that you, who come from such a beautiful country as Switzerland, found our cottages "too beautiful to leave" and that you added another day onto your stay. We are honoured that you chose to start your Australian Adventure at the Glass House Mountains, and look forward to seeing you again in a year or so (once you've paid off this holiday).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The owner turned up dirty work shorts and was very strang. The property was messy with old buckets tools and rubbish all over the place. The room was nice however we stayed 4 days and had no service at all, breakfast after the second day was looking very average you would have thought for the 5 star price he could have dropped a new basket of each day.
He asked on checking in for $500 deposit we had not been told about that and it took weeks to get that back after checking out.
We had to remove our shoes before going in as this was the rule!!
These people do not have any customer service experience and it shows.
It could have been a nice place to stay just needs someone that knows about hospitality not a farmer with a room on his property, we would not stay again.

Room Tip: Stay some other place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glass_SunshineCoast, Owner at Glass on Glasshouse, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We only have 3 cottages so we do everything ourselves, the marketing, greeting, cleaning and maintenance, -and the latter is a big job when it's summer and there's 20 acres of grass to mow (you can actually see it growing!). So if I'm a bit scruffy and dusty it'sbecause I'm working hard to keep the place looking good, and to keep the grass from turning into a knee-high jungle. Sorry if that offends city types, but it's because we take pride in our property. We have some tools stacked in a corner next to the carport, but nothing messy. Again, this shows that we are frequently doing gardening or maintenance so it looks nice for our guests.

Our guests come here for many reasons, but one of their reasons for choosing self-contained cottages rather than a hotel room is that they want space and privacy. This is why we don't service our cottages daily. For a 4-night stay we ask the guest if they'd like a service half-way through, so the only reason why this wouldn't have happened was because the guest said they didn't want it (as many do).

For a 3 (or more) night stay we give a very large $50/night discount, so no one is paying a "5 star price". We offer a quality designer cottage at a very reasonable rate, and if we did offer a daily service (which very few people have ever requested) we wouldn't be able to offer such a generous discount.

The minor issue with out beautiful hardwood timber floors has been covered adequately in previousposts, and appears in our FAQ just so that people who aren't familiar with how to treat these floors are informed before they arrive. Ditto for the security deposit, which is mentioned in the FAQ and also in the confirmation email that everyone is automatically sent when they book.

So if you're a sensitive type who doesn't like looking at someone who's been working hard to make the place look good for you, or who doesn't like to see a spade or fork leaning up against a wall, or who wants a daily service with their bed tucked-down nicely every night for them, then we're probably not the best place for you. However if you enjoy beautifully designed cottages with wonderful mountain views, that are private and luxurious surrounded by wild kangaroos, and located in a beautiful part of the Sunshine Coast Hinterland, then I think we have the perfect place for you. We have just been awarded "The best B&B in Australia" for the second year running by the readers of Australian Traveller magazine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Not your standard b&b.
Feels like a luxury retreat. Watching the sunset from the free standing spa bath, cooking and staying in for the evening made our trip away. Great facilities. Friendly management.

Very romantic. Definitely recommended. Will be telling our friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjaminandkylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I wanted to take my partner somewhere romantic here in Queensland and as she is from Perth I really wanted to impress her and show off the real beauty of our country and what better place than glass house mountains. I wanted Fantastic views, luxurious style and impeccable service.
Glass on Glasshouse just made sense!

We will definitely stay longer next time Bill.

Cheers,

Riley & Diana

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RileyMcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elbasan, Albania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from the beautiful place,it was a special treat before going back to work for 3weeks ,the place is in a wonderful setting with nice views of the mountains,and you are overwhelmed with the sounds and sights of wild life,the best part was the dawn chorus followed by watching a family of kangaroos feeding not 20feet from the pod,truly great experience.
All in all a beautiful and serene place for a weekend break or more

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willking46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Super relaxing location, the pods were fully stocked with breakfast for each day, heaps of tea and coffee, DVDs, and CDs. The owner was friendly enough but a little quirky. The view was great. Only gripe would be the workers in the nearby strawberry farm start up their machinery around 6.30am and you can hear them chatting from the pod, so couldn't really sleep in when they were working.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrushDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glass_SunshineCoast, Owner at Glass on Glasshouse, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your good review, especially on the 'quirkiness' comment. We try not to be the stuffy formal faceless characterless Armani-clad staff that you may have experienced at normal hotels! We want you to relax and enjoy our far from normal cottages, with their futuristic modern design, floor-to-ceiling glass walls on 2 sides and their innovative features such as the cascading water for the spa bath (which is set up on a podium, like a Royal throne, in the middle of the bathroom), the quality whole-of-house sound system and the eco-smart fire set into a wall. Sorry about the strawberry pickers, but our neighbours are a Thai family that work hard on their organic farm producing gorgeous fruit for sale to the Sydney & Melbourne markets from June-October. The nearest patch is about 30m away, however most of the time they'd be 50-80m away. It's probably a repetetive task, so they may well blabber away as they pick, but. I'll have a word with them to see if they can be a bit quieter in the early hours if working close-in. If anyone making a booking wants to request to be in a different cottage we're happy to try and arrange this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glass House Mountains
16.7 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
17.8 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
372 reviews
15.3 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
#1 of 3 in Glass House Mountains
263 reviews
13.3 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
15.7 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glass on Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass on Glasshouse

Property: Glass on Glasshouse
Address: 182 Glass House-Woodford Rd, Glass House Mountains, Queensland 4518, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Glass House Mountains
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glass House Mountains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glass on Glasshouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer three luxurious cottages that combine the style of a modern apartment with the comfort of a cottage. These are very stylish cottages with spectacular views of the Glass House Mountains through floor-to-ceiling walls of glass. The cottages have beautiful timber floors, King-size bed, spa bath, whole-of-house sound system and an open fire in winter. They are unique, very different from the usual "country-comfort" style, -you really have to see them to experience their unique exterior and interior design. Winner of the Australian Traveller Readers Award for "Best B&B in Australia" two years running. A great getaway, or a first/last stop between Brisbane and Fraser Island or Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glass on Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glass On Glasshouse Hotel Glass House Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing