We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glass on Glasshouse
Certificate of Excellence
Elbasan, Albania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from the beautiful place,it was a special treat before going back to work for 3weeks ,the place is in a wonderful setting with nice views of the mountains,and you are overwhelmed with the sounds and sights of wild life,the best part was the dawn chorus followed by watching a family of kangaroos feeding not 20feet from the pod,truly great experience.
All in all a beautiful and serene place for a weekend break or more

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willking46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    33
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
161
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Super relaxing location, the pods were fully stocked with breakfast for each day, heaps of tea and coffee, DVDs, and CDs. The owner was friendly enough but a little quirky. The view was great. Only gripe would be the workers in the nearby strawberry farm start up their machinery around 6.30am and you can hear them chatting from the pod, so couldn't really sleep in when they were working.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrushDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glass_SunshineCoast, Owner at Glass on Glasshouse, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your good review, especially on the 'quirkiness' comment. We try not to be the stuffy formal faceless characterless Armani-clad staff that you may have experienced at normal hotels! We want you to relax and enjoy our far from normal cottages, with their futuristic modern design, floor-to-ceiling glass walls on 2 sides and their innovative features such as the cascading water for the spa bath (which is set up on a podium, like a Royal throne, in the middle of the bathroom), the quality whole-of-house sound system and the eco-smart fire set into a wall. Sorry about the strawberry pickers, but our neighbours are a Thai family that work hard on their organic farm producing gorgeous fruit for sale to the Sydney & Melbourne markets from June-October. The nearest patch is about 30m away, however most of the time they'd be 50-80m away. It's probably a repetetive task, so they may well blabber away as they pick, but. I'll have a word with them to see if they can be a bit quieter in the early hours if working close-in. If anyone making a booking wants to request to be in a different cottage we're happy to try and arrange this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Super location, great accommodation .... upon arrival we were instructed to take off our shoes and use slippers because of the timber floor. The kettle, tray and cereal jar were sticky/dirty, the small dishwasher moldy (I disinfected with my own product) and the BBQ not clean enough to be used. The supply of 2 tea lights for the many candle stands and 5 sugars for several days tea/coffee was disappointing. Also, accommodation with a luxury room rate should provide mono-packs cereals and milk (more hygienic than the bulk cereals/jug of milk etc provided). For a 3 day-stay no clean towels or sheets were provided/offered ... and a fresh muffin or croissant iso the sliced bread for 3 days in the fridge would have made a difference.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madeleine1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glass_SunshineCoast, Owner at Glass on Glasshouse, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We don't tell anyone to remove shoes, but instead ask them very politely, and we have a lot of people staying who appreciate the beauty of polished timber floors and don't even need to be asked. Thank you for picking up on a few items that should have been cleaned properly but weren't. No excuses, but no one's perfect and occaisionaly things are missed. We take the cleaning of the cottages very seriously as we want everything to be perfect (that's why we do it ourselves), so will double-check these things. Some of these are very minor issues that could have been rectified on the spot with a quick call.

We like our breakfast to be as homely as possible, and not look like the supplies you get in a motel, so we take pride in mixing together the cereal (and not using those tacky little packets), supplying home made jam and marmelade (not those annoying little packets), and putting the milk in a jug rather just putting a carton there. My wife also usually puts some home-baked cakes in the fridge as well. We don't advertise it as a gourmet breakfast because it's not one, but it's a very nice one including fresh local fruits as well. If we were to offer a gourmet breakfast we wouldn't be able to offer the full $50/night discount we offer for a 3-night stay! We don't waste money on top-notch designer toiletries and expensive gourmet foods, but what we do offer is very nice and is Luxury for Less!

We use very ambient lighting to create a relaxed mood in the cottages. We have uplights, downlights and dimmers, so the tea lights aren't really necessary, and very few people use them. They're actually there in case of a power outage! But if guests want to use them for a little extra mood effect that's fine, and if you're a power user of these then one call would have sorted this out..

As for linen, there are spare towels in the wardrobe, and sheets are changed every 3 days for guests staying 4 or more nights. We don't offer a daily service because there is no demand for it. Most of the people staying in cottages rather than hotel rooms are there because they want their privacy, and we respect that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a venue which you must experience given the opportunity. Just to sit and watch the wildlife and listen to the bird calls is amazing. The facilities are fantastic and I would not have have missed this for the world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I live in Brisbane and we were after a relatively close, relaxing place to stay for a mini-honeymoon. We couldn't have picked a better spot. Glass on Glasshouse is a slick operation. The cabins incorporate magnificent modernist architecture and design yet are far from sterile, instilling privacy and a relaxed, peaceful vibe. The outlook is beautiful and we loved the cheeky birds visiting us on the deck. We were a bit sad not to see any kangaroos but then some appeared in the orchard just as we were leaving, a definite highlight. Bill was excellent to deal with, polite and efficient. Kim the masseuse was lovely, definitely recommend this option. The breakfast provisions were tasty and generous and the Lookout cafe is a handy option if you don't want to travel far for a meal. The Pineapple Patch Chinese restaurant was also great -- loved the "stuck in the 60s" decor. Overall we loved our stay and highly recommend Glass on Glasshouse.

Room Tip: We stayed in the middle cabin. They are all identical but I wonder if the cabin to the left would of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purplescraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinfeld, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This accommodation is perfect in every facet. An unbelievable house, furniture, view, terrace, animals, service, friendliness, etc., etc. We had a bottle Moet Chandon and a very delicious BBQ...
Indeed the most spectacular accommodation we ever had. Too bad we were there only for one night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Glass on Glasshouse earlier this month and had the most wonderful time. The weather was cloudy and rained a fair bit but we managed to get out for a 10km walk around Mt Tibrogargan and the Trachyte Circuit on one of our days and on the other we just lazed around in the pod watching the kangaroos and wallabies whilst having a barbecue from the balcony. The breakfast of a variety of fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, bread, jams, yoghurt and muesli combined with the great espresso machine were fabulous. A wander up to the Lookout Cafe for tea and cake is also definitely worthwhile! An amazing stay in a beautiful place, couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midnightnoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glass House Mountains
16.7 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
15.3 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
175 reviews
17.8 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
#1 of 3 in Glass House Mountains
279 reviews
11.6 mi away
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
15.7 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glass on Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass on Glasshouse

Property: Glass on Glasshouse
Address: 182 Glass House-Woodford Rd, Glass House Mountains, Queensland 4518, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Glass House Mountains
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glass House Mountains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glass on Glasshouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer three luxurious cottages that combine the style of a modern apartment with the comfort of a cottage. These are very stylish cottages with spectacular views of the Glass House Mountains through floor-to-ceiling walls of glass. The cottages have beautiful timber floors, King-size bed, spa bath, whole-of-house sound system and an open fire in winter. They are unique, very different from the usual "country-comfort" style, -you really have to see them to experience their unique exterior and interior design. Winner of the Australian Traveller Readers Award for "Best B&B in Australia" two years running. A great getaway, or a first/last stop between Brisbane and Fraser Island or Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glass on Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glass On Glasshouse Hotel Glass House Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing