We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pod-tastic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glass on Glasshouse
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pod-tastic!!”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We chose this place based on previous Trip Advisor reviews, with a slight hint of trepidation as to whether we would be met by a grumpy, pedantic and over zealous Bill (as per the reviews on some of these posts). We need not have worried: the tour of the house was brief and informative; the request to remove our shoes was just that, a request and not an order; the instruction on how to use the impressive entertainment system was not overly complicated (I am a bit of a tech head though and was impressed by his system); the breakfast was generous but I felt the separation of the bread into individual cling film wrapped allocation was unnecessary. The only hint of anxiety from Bill was seeing the skateboard style wheels on our North Face luggage and the thought of what they might do to his beautifully polished wooden floor but this was overcome by his offer to carry our bags in to the room for us where he carefully placed them on the floor.
As to the pod itself...what a breathtaking vista this offers! Kangaroos in the grounds with a mother suckling her young was a real treat. The setting is truly serene but, this is the bush, and you should be prepared for bumps and screeches through the night. The furniture and decor is very modern, the spa bathroom is a feature in itself, the kitchen is well equipped and the bed is very comfortable. I've already touched on the technology...this is more than you would expect in a rental property so it's inclusion just lifts the pod to the next level. There is plenty of storage all hidden behind push to open doors, which marry in with the clean lines and uncluttered feel of the pod. My only bug bear, and a slight one at that, is that everything is perfectly stored away out of sight except in the toilet where perhaps a small cupboard to conceal the spare toilet rolls, air freshener etc would help to continue the minimalist feel.
There is an outside deck with an electric barbecue and a table and four chairs. This is an amazing space that really captured the morning sun...I would perhaps have liked a sun lounger to lie on..and, on the morning we left, the kangaroos came right up to the deck and just watched us.
This truly was a relaxing stay in very special accommodation in a fantastic area and I would have no hesitation in staying here again or recommending it to anyone coming to this area. Don't come here expecting the surly, sullen Bill you'll only be disappointed...he is very pleasant and he CAN smile ;-))

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey9march
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    32
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
156
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
edmonton, canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I wasn't overly confident booking this place after reading some of the reviews online.

I arrived with my partner around 3:00pm and was met by Bill who gave us a quick friends and thorough introduction to the unit and its features.

The units are modern, spacious and quiet with plenty of privacy. I was desperately needing a night away from the city to unwind, relax and spend some time with my partner.

Within a few hours I was settled and fully relaxed, the spa is comfortable with amazing views and the bed extremely comfortable.

I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking for some time away to unwind and relax. It's amazing that a place like this exists so close to Brisbane City.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oztraveller028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Absolutely stunning venue. Peaceful sleep, plentiful food in the fridge for breakfast, and the scones at the Lookout Cafe are fantastic. We saw wildlife right from our windows and enjoyed breakfast out in the sun on a daily basis. We stayed for three nights and felt that to be the minimum amount of time you would want here - any shorted is just too short! The rooms are very modern and spotless, and the bathroom is just breathtaking whilst the sun sets and you light the candles provided for you.

The owner is absolutely lovely, and I completely would dismiss what the random previous post said about being abrupt. The floors are stunning and it's very understandable to take your shoes off inside to preserve this feature.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tatiana_ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed in September 2011 for 3 nights and would rank this property as an extremely unique and memorable place to stay. The quality of the fittings and the careful thought put into the design are truly superb - for the first few hours after check in, we tended to walk around our "pod" thinking wow, wow, wow..... The hosts were very professional and took the time to explain the operation of the facilities - including the iPod dock and sound system which enabled us to play our favourite music through a very high quality sound system built into the ceiling. The bath also deserves special mention, both for its incredible view at sunset and size to fit somebody who is 6 ft 3 in... As others have mentioned, the Glasshouse Mountains are not a significant tourist destination in itself, but you are within an easy 30 minute drive of the Hinterland and Sunshine Coast. In the end though, after we were out exploring each day, we just wanted to come back to the pod, and enjoy this very special place and celebrate the peace and tranquility that it had to offer. We have recommended this property to many of our family and friends who live in Brisbane for a wonderful few nights away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezzakawasaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Glass on Glasshouse for our first wedding anniversary for a weekend in October. The accommodation is secluded and private with your own fully self contained completely separate house.
As son as you arrive at the property you go "wow". There is a spectacular view of the mountains, luxury accommodation and lots of wildlife to see. Absolutely perfect for a romantic getaway!
The property is not too far from everything either. Only a short drive to Melany. We even managed a day trip to Noosa.

Room Tip: The last cabin is the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bally85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peregian Springs, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Classy cottage - one of only three - with excellent and modern facilities. Great location for exploring Glasshouse Mountains and Sunshine Coast or for a romantic stay in private location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

After some stressful months my hubby and I decided we needed to get away from everything and have a romantic weekend.
I picked Glass on Glasshouse out even though it was a bit out of our budget but we were so glad I did as it gave more than it promised.
Everything was perfect and we just didn't want to leave.
I recomend taking some extra food with you so you don't have to go anywhere to eat and just laze around the cabin/pod (not sure what to call them)
and plenty of champers!
Pick some strawberries on the way up there and just sit back and enjoy the tranquility.
We will stay here again when we need time away from cell phones and life in general.
there was no swimming pool so can't comment on that and no room service as you are left to your own devises.

Room Tip: there is no best room they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purpleone31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glass House Mountains
15.3 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
175 reviews
16.7 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
17.8 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
#1 of 3 in Glass House Mountains
276 reviews
11.6 mi away
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
2.4 mi away
CrookNeck Retreat
CrookNeck Retreat
#1 of 2 in Glass House Mountains
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glass on Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass on Glasshouse

Property: Glass on Glasshouse
Address: 182 Glass House-Woodford Rd, Glass House Mountains, Queensland 4518, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Glass House Mountains
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glass House Mountains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glass on Glasshouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer three luxurious cottages that combine the style of a modern apartment with the comfort of a cottage. These are very stylish cottages with spectacular views of the Glass House Mountains through floor-to-ceiling walls of glass. The cottages have beautiful timber floors, King-size bed, spa bath, whole-of-house sound system and an open fire in winter. They are unique, very different from the usual "country-comfort" style, -you really have to see them to experience their unique exterior and interior design. Winner of the Australian Traveller Readers Award for "Best B&B in Australia" two years running. A great getaway, or a first/last stop between Brisbane and Fraser Island or Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glass on Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glass On Glasshouse Hotel Glass House Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing